We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina

85500 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 85.5, Islamorada, FL 33036
Hotel amenities
Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    18
    5
    2
    16
See reviews for
7
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with a couple of friends that We were visiting. The front desk at our hotel recommended to go. We got some "decent" drinks. A bit weak but bearable . Waited about 30 mins for appetizers only to get our entrees 10 mins later. Then to top it off our server rudely put the book for our table before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

I apologize that you had a bad experience here. I hope that while you were here you contacted the manager on duty to tell him of your displeasure. I'm sure he would have done everything in his power to have turned this situation around. If you are in this area again I would ask that you give us another try.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in the middle of June. Very confusing to find where to check in for the motel, it's in an unused room of the motel and past a sign in the parking lot that says, 'registered hotel guests only past this point' or something similar. So if your looking to check-in, your not a registered hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

We are aware that the lobby is not the easiest place to find and have been working to get the correct signage up throughout the property to avoid future problems. As far as your check in goes there is only one person at the front desk. That person is responsible for not only checking in guests but also greeting boats... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is a bit under rated, we arrived by boat and found the people running it very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there are two nice bars with good food. Special callout to Amy and Brittney who treated us like family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were very clean. The outside was beautiful and the bar/restaurant was great. There's construction going on in the entrance but aside from that our visit was great. There's cable and wifi and The kids fished in the marina for fun. I would recommend it and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I like to read bogus reviews and the one from May 5TH IS JUST THAT!!! There is no way it could be true due to the fact that the restaurant closed down the last week in April. Just a heads up for customers about the reality of this place. Just stay away, there are ALOT better places to spend your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Stayed Mothersday weekend with my girlfriend, there was confusion about where to check in, once checked in we looked for the amenities as advertised Bar/resturant was closed due to financial issues? Our room was as clean. We had an issue with a sink leaking in which we were given a new room. There was no beach per say, more like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights. Very clean. Felt safe. Food was great. Service was prompt and thorough. Wifi service better in the bar areas than in the rooms, but not a deterrent. Would recommend and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The staff constantly complained about the management and I can see why.To families, there is nothing for children to do there at all.The parking sucked and you felt like your in a constant construction zone.Quaint is not even close.Old with new paint is more like it.The restaurant and bar closed so early I can see why NO ONE goes there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We traveled from Los Angeles Ca. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday. So it was not a long stay and in the middle of Spring Break. Hotel was clean, beds where very comfortable as we laid down exhausted every night. Room had kitchenette as well as full service restaurant and bars on the property. Extremely convenient foe all types... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This place is a dump! The room was filthy, the floor was cracked, I found two cockroaches, I found hair on my pillow, the cable box kept falling out from behind the tv and you couldn't change the channel unless you leaned way over to the left and pointed it at the box. On top of it being a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay