We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina

85500 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 85.5, Islamorada, FL 33036
Hotel amenities
Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Aurorawolf75 Islamorada, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    21
    5
    2
    16
See reviews for
9
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for only one night. Passing thru on our way to Key West. It was an awesome place to stay. The room was excellent! Very relaxing and clean. The bar was laid back and the bartenders, Terri and Renee, were awseome! The food was great! My boyfriend loved the Ceviche and the burgers were off the chain! The lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here from 7/17 - 7/19 and was pleasantly surprised by the cuteness and cleanliness of the property. My room was super cute and super clean and quite spacious. I had a party of 4 in my room which had 2 double beds - and the beds were very clean and comfortable. (I know I keep emphasizing CLEAN, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been traveling to the keys with my friends for a while now and frequently too. We had came to Smugglers Cove resort and marina several times knowing it was not a place to expect much from other than bed and stay due to its poor service and amenities, yet with the new staff and renovations there we now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

Thanks Jonathan for recognizing our hard work. The renovations to the rooms and property, the bar and waitstaff and the hard work they have done in changing perceptions about service and quality, our kitchen staff and our chef who gladly accommodate our guests special requests and our housekeeping team who keep the rooms clean. Next visit don't forget to stay... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a night in early June. We had a perfect stay. Room was newly renovated, furniture was very nice, and bed was very comfy. Prices were also good. Restaurant had live music. We were given a free drink voucher during happy hour but we already had dinner plans and couldn't use. We will certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time here. They had some of the best food in the Keys. Live music by the water at night. Good location. I'm not sure about everyone else's bad experiences, but we definitely enjoyed our stay. Our room was just so-so, but it was clean and affordable. The bar was great, the even had a shuffleboard table.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

Came here with a couple of friends that We were visiting. The front desk at our hotel recommended to go. We got some "decent" drinks. A bit weak but bearable . Waited about 30 mins for appetizers only to get our entrees 10 mins later. Then to top it off our server rudely put the book for our table before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

I apologize that you had a bad experience here. I hope that while you were here you contacted the manager on duty to tell him of your displeasure. I'm sure he would have done everything in his power to have turned this situation around. If you are in this area again I would ask that you give us another try.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We stayed for two nights in the middle of June. Very confusing to find where to check in for the motel, it's in an unused room of the motel and past a sign in the parking lot that says, 'registered hotel guests only past this point' or something similar. So if your looking to check-in, your not a registered hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

We are aware that the lobby is not the easiest place to find and have been working to get the correct signage up throughout the property to avoid future problems. As far as your check in goes there is only one person at the front desk. That person is responsible for not only checking in guests but also greeting boats... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

This place is a bit under rated, we arrived by boat and found the people running it very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there are two nice bars with good food. Special callout to Amy and Brittney who treated us like family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

Thanks George, We always like to hear the nice things our guests have to say. We work very hard to make sure that our rooms are clean and comfortable and that the property is clean, warm and inviting. Our staff is always striving to give great service and it sounds like you got some of the best. We're glad that... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were very clean. The outside was beautiful and the bar/restaurant was great. There's construction going on in the entrance but aside from that our visit was great. There's cable and wifi and The kids fished in the marina for fun. I would recommend it and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a great time with us. We have finished with the remodeling and the property and rooms really are beautiful. We have a great housekeeping staff and groundsmen who now maintain all of that work. We keep fishing poles on site for kids and families who want to fish off of our docks. There... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I like to read bogus reviews and the one from May 5TH IS JUST THAT!!! There is no way it could be true due to the fact that the restaurant closed down the last week in April. Just a heads up for customers about the reality of this place. Just stay away, there are ALOT better places to spend your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melonie H, Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review

Hi Johnny, I want to address your review because so many things about it are incorrect. The couple you refer to clearly say that they were here in April. They did not give the specific dates. The review was on May 5th. I think it is perfectly feasible that what they wrote is completely true and you don't have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
4.9 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#7 of 13 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
1.1 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay