We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Patio Motel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
800 Washington Street, Key West, FL 33040
El Patio Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #73 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Anna T
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    160
    105
    47
    50
See reviews for
77
194
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (452)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was the cheapest motel in Key West. It is as it is advertised, budget. The rooms were outdated, need redacorating, updating big time. The gardens and pool were nice. The plants were amazing looked very tropical. It is walking distance to everything you need. Higgs beach is very close. Duval St. is within walking distance. Round the corner is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Monica, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed here every year since 1999 we noticed that the last couple of years the place has taken a few steps back and now has become in dire need of some changes location is unbeatable being just a few blocks from the party scene avoid if possible

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

If you're looking for a place to make reservations two months in advance and then be stranded with no place to stay when you get to the hotel then the El Patio is the place for you. I would rather not deal with that aggravation. That is why next time I vacation in Key West I'll make reservations elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
northernholly
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were exceptional in booking, and in person. Customer service exceeded expectations. Location is EXCELLENT! Free parking EXCELLENT!!! Absolutely loved the decor, the pool, the PATIO, and the plants - night-time flowering cactus very cool for this Northern MN chic.. The whole ambiance was like stepping back in time to the 1950's+... Only suggestion for improvement would be to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the cheapest motel in Key West. It is as it is advertised, budget. The rooms were outdated, but clean. The gardens and pool were nice. It is walking distance to everything. Higgs beach is very close. Duval St. is within walking distance. We never spend much time in the room, so it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for our one night in Key West and we were pleasantly surprised as we didn't expect too much going by the price we paid. The room was comfortable and clean, the AC was a bit noisy but that seems to be the norm in a budget motel! The position of this place is most definitely the selling point,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lewes, DE
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for amenities and luxurious lodging--this is not the place for you nor do they advertise as such. This is simple, basic, and CLEAN lodging in a well maintained vintage property. The lush tropical landscaping is breath-taking. We have stayed on two occasions and rented a one bedroom apt both times....so I can not speak about standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We searched for economical places to stay in Key West and this was our lucky find. It is a bit older but well maintained and we liked that about the place. History is one of the attractions at Key west isn't it?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would never consider staying at this place. It was dirty, old, and the staff was very rude as soon as we got there. It wasn't a great location either. We left and stayed at another Hotel and was happy that we did. I'm not a picky person by any means but this was horrible. There's a reason it's the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

When people are evicted prior to check in, they tend to have unfavorable reviews of a place... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the most unconfortable bed I ve ever slept in..you can maybe sleep 3 hours in row..you will wake up every three hours because of pain...I can't move my shoulder at this moment..and the pretty noise of machines will wake you up at 8:00 because of constructions..its like they are building the house next to your ear..I m sorry..but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

This guest notified us that the mattress was uncomfortable. Unfortunately, we were sold out and unable to move them to another room to see if another bed would be more suitable to their needs. Mattress comfort is a tough one, as that is subjective each person's individual needs and preferences. I agree with the guest on the construction situation that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question