We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Patio Motel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
800 Washington Street, Key West, FL 33040
Special Price
CALL US FOR BEST RATES!
El Patio Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #74 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
KENNYFUNKE NAPLES
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    161
    106
    47
    52
See reviews for
79
195
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (456)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
NAPLES
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a month in advance, 4 adults. Left Ft Myers on the Key West Express, arrived Key West 12:30 pm, cabbed it over to El Patio Motel, we were early, check in begins at 3pm, the office manager Jeffery stored our luggage until we returned later, very nice. Rented 2 scooters from A & M scooter rentals 4 blocks away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at El Patio several times during our visits to KW years ago. The location is great and price was affordable. Unfortunately, this will be our last stay. The prices are no longer affordable for the quality provided. We stayed in one of the apartments (1 bedroom w/ kitchenette) and it was absolutely disgusting. The wicker furniture was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

Please let us know while you are here if you have any issues with your accommodation! This is a total surprise to me, as you checked out with me, and didn't appear to have any issues whatsoever with your accommodation. This is one of the problems with these reviews... when you aren't willing to give an establishment the opportunity to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small, modest '40s motel with large sleeping rooms, tiny bathrooms, tile floors and no pretensions of luxury. Hosts were kind and accommodating, granting our last-minute request for a first-floor room. Location is a few blocks from Southernmost Point in a residential area. Excellent value with a few drawbacks: no special services, a bit of a hike to Mallory Square, slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As an English couple who've travelled extensively across the US, 21 states in all, and have stayed at dozens of hotels/motels, in general we have found you "get what you pay for". Not so, in the case of El Patio Motel. Having a Key West Zip Code should not mean it's a license to print money! It's all very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

Yes, you are right, sir. The tile unfortunately, has been lost in a couple of places. However, we are happy to deal with those minor character flaws to save and keep the original CUBAN TILE floors that grace our floors here at El Patio. Those tiles were made by hand back in the day and are beauteous. Our goal is... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the cheapest motel in Key West. It is as it is advertised, budget. The rooms were outdated, need redacorating, updating big time. The gardens and pool were nice. The plants were amazing looked very tropical. It is walking distance to everything you need. Higgs beach is very close. Duval St. is within walking distance. Round the corner is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Monica, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed here every year since 1999 we noticed that the last couple of years the place has taken a few steps back and now has become in dire need of some changes location is unbeatable being just a few blocks from the party scene avoid if possible

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your most recent stay with us. I invite guests always to please notify us if something is not satisfactory, and our team will do what we can to solve the issue at the time that it occurs. Thanks. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for a place to make reservations two months in advance and then be stranded with no place to stay when you get to the hotel then the El Patio is the place for you. I would rather not deal with that aggravation. That is why next time I vacation in Key West I'll make reservations elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

I can say without hesitation that if a reservation was not honored by us, it was most likely due to one of the following reasons: declined credit card, guest mistakenly booked elsewhere, belligerent behavior toward my staff or other guests, disorderly conduct, noise disturbances, or if guests thought that El Patio's rules did not apply to them. If that is... More 

northernholly
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The staff were exceptional in booking, and in person. Customer service exceeded expectations. Location is EXCELLENT! Free parking EXCELLENT!!! Absolutely loved the decor, the pool, the PATIO, and the plants - night-time flowering cactus very cool for this Northern MN chic.. The whole ambiance was like stepping back in time to the 1950's+... Only suggestion for improvement would be to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magdalenapie, Manager at El Patio Motel, responded to this review

thank you, thank you, thank you. This is a person who wants to 'see, feel and breathe' Key West the way that one is meant to! You get what we are about here, and we greatly appreciate it! It takes a lot of work to keep things original-more so than starting over with a generic building. Thanks for staying with... More 

Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This was the cheapest motel in Key West. It is as it is advertised, budget. The rooms were outdated, but clean. The gardens and pool were nice. It is walking distance to everything. Higgs beach is very close. Duval St. is within walking distance. We never spend much time in the room, so it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for our one night in Key West and we were pleasantly surprised as we didn't expect too much going by the price we paid. The room was comfortable and clean, the AC was a bit noisy but that seems to be the norm in a budget motel! The position of this place is most definitely the selling point,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (163)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities