We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cypress House Hotel : Key West

#16 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Special Offer
Key West 5-Nights & Fun
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Panoramas (6)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ocilla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We flew down to Key West for just a three night stay to escape the cold. That didn't work! It was unusually cool and windy while we were there...no hanging out by the pool this trip, BUT we had a ball! At check in, Dennis helped get our bags up to room 4 (which was beautiful with a great balcony).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not expect it to be a boutique or comfortable hotel.The online pictures look good but the reality is different. It is a simple bed and breakfast place.Nothing special , nothing about boutique, just a room , bath and breakfast.Old buildings that need renovation, painting, cleaning and general care. Our room was very tiny.Small and uncomfortable bed that takes all... More 

Helpful?
Thank leldeb
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't feel that the Cypress House Hotel was to your liking. You reserved a guestroom with a queen size bed which has a lower price point than the Deluxe King Rooms. If you felt that the queen size bed was too small for you, we could have easily moved you to a room with a... More 

Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights with my husband while visiting Key West for the half marathon. It's VERY centrally located, super short walk to Duval St, and the start/finish of the half marathon. Check in staff was very friendly and had no issues there. Truthfully the room just wasn't what I thought. I was expecting more of a rustic/island feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karla W
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, just off Duval, but far enough that is was fairly quiet. We had two rooms in the "main house", so we had the entire third floor to ourselves. Rooms were huge, clean and very comfortable. Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast options were fairly limited for hot foods, but great coffee. We had a great stay!

Helpful?
Thank Gregg W
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Cypress House for three nights and it was amazing. Scott was so helpful when we arrived letting us know how to get around for food, nightlife, bars etc. we had an amazing room with an even more amazing front porch. Breakfast was nice and plenty to get your day started. The afternoon Liming... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulieBobTenn
Austin, tx
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Spent three nights over the New Years holiday and would say that the hotel is in a great location but nothing special, we had an upgraded suite but the room was plain, needed color or flowers or better furniture for me to think it was upgraded. The pool was nice to relax in after a day of walking, And the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Missy_Robbins
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests at the Cypress House Hotel. I am glad that you appreciated our great location. I am not sure which room you stayed in, as we don't have one specified as an "upgraded suite", and I don't know the name the room was reserved under in order to know the type of room you stayed... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect location. It was fairly quiet for being in Key West. The rooms was large but also cost $493 for the night. With this cost there were some added bonuses. The room was large with sofa, king size bed, updated lodging, and a TV. Only downside was the cable did not work. Scott at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MattandTess
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review

We're so glad that you liked our perfect location. We're also really pleased to hear that Scott was as wonderful as he always is. Staff friendliness is a top priority! We're sorry about the challenges we had with Comcast's cable service going down during part of your stay. It's a source of frustration at times to all of us when... More 

Samborondon, Ecuador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

the room was really beautiful, brand new and very nice decoration. the bathroom was new and clean. the location was perfect because a few blocks away you could find duval street. the front desk person was really nice he offered help every time he saw us. definitively staying here again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristinaf0612
North Wildwood NJ
Level Contributor
133 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Ideal location, friendly staff, great service. Only issue, and not fault of the 'house,' would suggest stauing on first or second floor. Too many steps to third floor- especially after walking much of day. Also, third floor does not have porch access as do the first two floors. Again, recommend a stay here.

Helpful?
Thank hoholmes
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed for 3 days to celebrate my birthday. Reception was cheerful and very helpful, the happy hours and breakfast were nice and the food was good. The downside is that the rooms are tiny (we had a superior room) and don't seem to be in the condition that one would expect for nearly $300 a night. I was especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank sailboi1
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the Cypress House Hotel's great location. Each and every room at this Historic Key West Inn is unique and different to every other room. I wish we would have known that your room wasn't to your liking at the time of your stay, as we may have been able to show you other guestrooms to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

327 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
2:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (37)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Porch (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West
The Saint Hotel Key West
#8 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay