We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papa's Hideaway

309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papa's Hideaway
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
There are newer reviews for Papa's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I were initially disappointed that Papa's was sold and that the owners were no longer on site. It was one on the things we really liked about the B&B experience. We also missed the morning breakfast by the pool. It was a chance to meet with other guests and chat about the day's activities. On the plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a no frills property that was exactly what we were looking for. Not to close to Duval but a very quick walk to great food, nightlife and activities. The rental company is great to work with and offered transportation to the property and back to the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I unexpectedly ended up here with my girlfriend on an impromptu trip. This was a great place to relax and recharge for a few days. If you're looking for a typical hotel experience, this is not the place. If you want to feel like you're staying at a friends beautiful vacation home, this is the place! It's just a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lima, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After reading the reviews for Papa's Hideaway, and having stayed in many different bed and breakfast, we had high expectations for our three night stay. We had booked several months in advance of our stay and had early on corresponded with the owner on a couple of occasions. Sometime after we booked, the owner sold out and the property was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of spending fourteen days at the lovely, private, gated, quiet Papa's Hideaway. I never expected anything so relaxing close to everything. While renovations were going on to renew the grounds and buildings, the workers finished everything quickly, efficiently and obtrusivelessly. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and pleasing. I would like to be able to return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything at Papa's was perfect. The salt water pool (which changed from the last time I was here) was an awesome addition. Love the new patio furniture out by the pool and on the private patio. The management team was great and even gave us a ride to the airport. Can't wait to come back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Frederikssund
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ok B&B. Cozy and full of charme. No staff at the proporty and you have to Pick up the key elsewhere. Would we go there again? Year maybee but It's not cheap compared to quality. Breakfast was notning to write about. I would rather do without. Nice clean pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your insight. We consistently have staff on property from all departments including housekeeping, maintenance and property management. Our service levels provide all guests with whatever they require from full concierge services, to complementary airport transportation - and everything in between. We hope to see you again soon to show you how much our guests at Papa's mean... More 

Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is not a hotel or even a B&B; it is a (very nice) private home that was divided up into four separate units for lodging and run by a management service. As a result, there may be fees and basic information that is not disclosed or poorly disclosed in advance and services are extremely limited. We arrived for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Our guesthouse is defined by our level of service that perhaps this guest did not take advantage of. While still being a quaint historic guesthouse, our commitment to guest service is of the highest levels. We offer full concierge services, complementary airport/ferry transportation, business services complete with a guest work station in our Old Town Key West offices and much... More 

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Papa's Hideaway last weekend for Lobsterfest. We had never stayed prior to the property being sold to the property management company, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but I can only assume that having the actual owners there would have provided the ability to talk and interact with locals and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. One of the things that we are trying to ensure that we do not lose is our interaction with our guests and to ensure that they are aware of the expanded service offerings that the property can now provide to guests. Out of our Duval Street offices, we offer a full concierge service, complementary shuttle,... More 

Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location nice rooms.No hot water in the shower it was Luke warm at best. The pools edge was covered with Cat droppings.I saw the girl cleaner just hose around it. pretty disgusting..I cleaned out the breakfast fridge.It had moldy food and was out of the cream cheese and jams I complained on my way out. to deaf ears. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay