We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Key West B&Bs / inns

Papa's Hideaway

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Papa's Hideaway to your Saves list
Papa's Hideaway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
88%
Ranked #58 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013
Melissa S Fountain Hills, Arizona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (118)
  • Photos (67)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Papa's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything at Papa's was perfect. The salt water pool (which changed from the last time I was here) was an awesome addition. Love the new patio furniture out by the pool and on the private patio. The management team was great and even gave us a ride to the airport. Can't wait to come back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Frederikssund
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ok B&B. Cozy and full of charme. No staff at the proporty and you have to Pick up the key elsewhere. Would we go there again? Year maybee but It's not cheap compared to quality. Breakfast was notning to write about. I would rather do without. Nice clean pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for your insight. We consistently have staff on property from all departments including housekeeping, maintenance and property management. Our service levels provide all guests with whatever they require from full concierge services, to complementary airport transportation - and everything in between. We hope to see you again soon to show you how much our guests at Papa's mean... More

Santa Monica, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is not a hotel or even a B&B; it is a (very nice) private home that was divided up into four separate units for lodging and run by a management service. As a result, there may be fees and basic information that is not disclosed or poorly disclosed in advance and services are extremely limited. We arrived for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Our guesthouse is defined by our level of service that perhaps this guest did not take advantage of. While still being a quaint historic guesthouse, our commitment to guest service is of the highest levels. We offer full concierge services, complementary airport/ferry transportation, business services complete with a guest work station in our Old Town Key West offices and much... More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Papa's Hideaway last weekend for Lobsterfest. We had never stayed prior to the property being sold to the property management company, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but I can only assume that having the actual owners there would have provided the ability to talk and interact with locals and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. One of the things that we are trying to ensure that we do not lose is our interaction with our guests and to ensure that they are aware of the expanded service offerings that the property can now provide to guests. Out of our Duval Street offices, we offer a full concierge service, complementary shuttle,... More

Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location nice rooms.No hot water in the shower it was Luke warm at best. The pools edge was covered with Cat droppings.I saw the girl cleaner just hose around it. pretty disgusting..I cleaned out the breakfast fridge.It had moldy food and was out of the cream cheese and jams I complained on my way out. to deaf ears. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I did so much research booking a trip to Key West and I'm so happy I finally decided on Papa's Hideaway! We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It was clean, had a comfortable amenities, great bed and a lot of room. We felt like it was a small apartment! We stayed 3 nights. We parked the car and never moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for stopping by and letting us know. We can't wait to have the opportunity to serve you again here in paradise! Take good care. More

Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in suite 1, which is upstairs. It had plenty of room for 4 of us for a girls' weekend. The sofa sleeper was newer than what is shown in the pictures online right now, and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Papa' s is in a nice quiet location while still being close enough to walk to all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience with us. We are working hard to progressively offer additional services to our guests to make their stay with us as convenient and memorable as possible. We hope to see you again in the very near future! More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 before the change of ownership. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, where we found an envelope pinned to the back gate which contained instructions on entry and directions to our room. The next day we went down to the pool area for breakfast, which was cereal and toast etc. By this point we still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my second visit and my friend and I had the cottage for 4 nights. We were present for the ownership change over and I'm pleased to report that the new manager did continue to provide breakfast and even generously offered to drive us to the airport. I will miss the prior owners, Fred and Andrea who were wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This review is for everyone who has stayed at Papa's in the past and loved it so much to return. It has been recently sold to a vacation rental company and our 5 visit to this location we have noticed a few changes. The wonderful foiliage that helped make the property so private has been hacked to the point that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Papa's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Key West with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Papa's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer