We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Key West B&Bs / inns

Old Customs House Inn

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel amenities
Old Customs House Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity Tingo.com
and 2 more sites!
63%
Ranked #87 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014
Erin W Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    9
    3
    23
See reviews for
11
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is truly the worst hotel i have ever stayed at on my life. I didn't want to believe the reviews, and gave it a whirl but guess what?! All the bad reviews were correct! Bed bugs scouring the counters and walls, the maid comes whether you want her to or not, and doesn't even bother to flush when she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

if you were having a third world experience then it is without a doubt that you had it somewhere OTHER than this establishment . Perhaps your impression of our Guest House was for some unmentionable reason skewed horribly. It appears that the recent reviews are an attempt by either an unhappy individual or other properties to make us look bad.... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I am not a fancy traveler and have stayed in many motels in my time. This again, is THE WORST. Where do I begin.... 1- There is no front desk nor is there anyone on the property to assist you. Yes, you pick up the key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

this is what a person writes when they expect a to stay for free and it doesn't happen. Future guests should look at the honest, candid reviews posted by travelers!!! More

Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I must say, the location was hard to beat. Cute little tropical path leading back to the rooms. I've read some other comments regarding noise; however did not find this to be an issue. Simple and clean decor, and again, location was fabulous. I have already booked my next stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

thank you very much for your stay!!! More

Miami Shores, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation here for valentines day weekend. The room was beautiful and had a full kitchen with fridge. It is located in the heart of Duval street. At a most affordable price. There is no real check in office but getting your key at "the world smallest bar" was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us More

Cool, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My bride to be booked a room at the Old Customs House Inn for a night when we would be spending a day of our honeymoon in Key West. The charges were confirmed at the time of booking, but the credit card was billed an additional $15. When we inquired as to why, we were told it is a 'room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

we do send out a room receipt and a letter that confirms the reservation. The room receipt details EVERY charge PRIOR to a guests stay. This is done because we have no hidden or last minute fees that are charged at check-out. You stated in emails to us that you were unhappy with the booking fee and we responded the... More

Verdigre, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I wish I could write a better review for this place. The room was large except for a small bathroom. The location is great, but loud. I booked a room for 2 nights and received an email receipt with Balance Due: $201.37. The next day I received another Email from "j." at the Old Customs House Inn with a receipt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

in response to your recent review .... Housekeeping alerted us about the damage and documented it. ....if any guest(s) incur room damage, then we charge for the repairs. More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The absolute worst part of key west is getting around. renting a car or a scooter or even a bicycle creates numerous problems. That being said, being so close to the action of Duval Street was fantastic. On a previous visit we stayed more north of Duval and rented a car which costs a fortune to park. Being able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

thanks Eric ! please visit soon !!! More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The property and the rooms are very nice (though the shower had very low pressure). However, the experience of staying there is not entirely comforting. There is no staff to speak to, and obtaining the keys from a rude and busy bartender who hastily showed us our room is not becoming of a place that charges so much per night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

thank you. and yes sometimes a guest would have to wait until the people in front of them are taken care of and then it is your turn. Thanks for your patience and we dont need a big staff especially when the "Smallest " is right next to us ! Were happy that you did enjoy the room. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband came down for a few days and love the location of the inn..This was our second time staying and it went as well as the first! Rooms are clean and spacious. The inn is right in the middle of everything but set back so you don't hear Duval steet noise! Hotel staff and Smallest bar staff are always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

thank you Pam and Kevin for your review, its always a pleasure to see you ! More

Seminole
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at this place annually for many years. It's not the best place, but the location is great! If it's cold out, the rooms can be quite chilly, especially with the gap under the door. The bed creaks, the tv is really small, and the rooms can be quite dark. I don't think that I've ever had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

.... sorry you were unhappy all those years, our apologies. More

Been to Old Customs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Customs House Inn

Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West
Old Customs House Hotel
Address: 124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Customs House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Old Customs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Customs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Customs House Inn to your Saves list