We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Key West B&Bs / inns

Old Customs House Inn

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel amenities
Old Customs House Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Customs House Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 93 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jocelyn S Magliano Sabina, Italy
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    9
    6
    26
See reviews for
13
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Magliano Sabina, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights, clean, no problem checking in early, restaurant below closes around 9 pm, so not noisy and any music from the nearby bar is quite bearable and not so loud you can't sleep. Couple of blocks away there is a large parking area which the guy in the bar where we collected the keys recommended - not cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok. So. You're going to be in the heart of Key West. Bad stuff, No office, rude and sarcastic owner, really uncomfortable bed, mildew tiles in the bathroom, small shower, holes in the wall cover with scotch tape. Outside patio furniture placed in the room. There's a restaurant literally 5 feet from your door so expect lots of noise. *no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved the fact that it's on Duval Street! Bathroom could need some cleaning, doors could be repaired... But we really enjoyed our stay and sitting outside. Unfortunatelly never met any staff, got the keys in the bar, returned them in there. Recommended for 2 or 3 nights. We will come back and we might stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Key West at 2pm and received at text from the manager that they had over booked and we did not have a room. I called right away and spoke to the manager, who was rude and unapologetic.I felt the least he should do since we had already paid for our stay was find us a new place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
customshouse, Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

its rather disturbing to read that you are unappreciative that we PAID for the overage of your stay at another location. Truth be told: yes we were overbooked, yes we found you another location, TWICE!! Yes we finally found you a place that accepted pets. When we were notifyied that you planned on bringing a dog , we emailed you... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed only for one night. Location is perfect, on Duvall street and right across from Sloppy Joes. Much more cleaner than most of other big hotels that also ends with ´Inn´. Nice little Cuban restaurant just outside your room. I highly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed a few nights here for my husband's 40th birthday. It was a very fun time. The location was amazing and the staff were very friendly. Loved the bird! Very casual atmosphere, we checked in at the bar and checked out with the maid. I'm not used to such a casual process but there were no problems. We can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Located on Devale St. just opposite Sloppy Joes bar, in the very heart of Key West. Despite this, the rooms are not on the street as are just behind a Cuban restaurant which muffles the noise..the only thing that might keep you awake is the parrot on the terrace!! The room was beautiful..quaint and decor fitted the Key West vibe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

When it comes to travel and where to stay, I always prefer staying close to where all the actions are to save time and effort to get back to the hotel. It’s also a better way to experience a city. Old Customs House Inn offers exactly that, plus way, way more! It is right in the middle of Duval Street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I had the intention of staying here based on just looking over their website, however when I called to inquire about bringing my dog (as they mention they are a pet friendly place), the person who answered the phone was so rude that he almost closed the phone in my face and told me they allowed just small dogs. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This place is nothing more than a run down garage apartment with hand me down furnishings and linens. Ask to see a room before you pay. If it was cheap I would understand but it's not. We left without even taking a shower the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

amazing that Trip Advisor would consider posting your reviews to our site. Your previous damning review was deeleted for obvious reason as should this one be. We are asking that your account be deleted More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Customs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Customs House Inn

Address: 124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Customs House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Old Customs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay