We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Key West B&Bs / inns

Old Customs House Inn

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Customs House Inn to your Saves list
Old Customs House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
64%
Ranked #86 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014
Erica B Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (99)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    9
    5
    23
See reviews for
12
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room and facility was as advertised. The accomodation was as expected. It is a 2 star accommodation - nothing more / nothing less. The issue I had with the hotel is the billing practice of the hotel. My room was reserved using the hotel web site. The confirmation provided by the hotel gave a total amount due of $570.37... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
customshouse, General Manager at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

this review is written by the traveler's father who was never at our facility. Our resv system erroneously charged guest's that were upgraded the price of the upgraded room, as explained to the parent . This error occurred on all guests for that period. We apologized and correct the error immediately along with an updated room receipt. Also explained to... More

Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Traveled July 4th-6th. I wanted to be smack in the middle of Duval Street action for the 4th of July weekend debauchery. After a long flight delay, we arrived in Key West just when the fireworks started to go off. Once we arrived to Old Customs House Inn, I knew we made the right decision by booking with them. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bronx, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in the Old Custom House Inn. We stayed in room #3. My first impression was the place was super clean. Yes, the furniture was older and the shower is small but that didn't bother me at all. The room is equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and a mini fridge. The upstairs room have a balcony... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Casselberry, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our 3 rd stay at the Old Customs House on Duval St. It has all the extras one might want. It's right between Hogs Breathe saloon and Sloppy Joe's saloon. It's right behind the smallest Bar in Key West and it has a Cuban Restaurant right in front. Your just down the street from Mallory Square and 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went with my friends after years that we r no together and had a great time... Pet friendly in the right place just in the Duval st. Close to everything walk distance... The room was very comfortable the beds too... The smallest bar welcome u to key west and the porch in the back is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I picked this place because from what I saw on their website looked tropical and the right place. I use to live in key west so I know what the island is about and how duval street is at night. The best thing about this being on duval you save on taxi's which is huge for saving money and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at the inn last week. After reading reviews on here I was skeptical at first, but our stay and experience was great at the inn. Check in is very laid back. Got our keys walked into the studio 3, and was very impressed. Checked for bed bugs, there were zero. Finally saw a cockroach the day we were leaving,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Middletown, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is a place to crash. It isn't terribly filthy, but it isn't clean. They do have roaches. I didn't see bedbugs. The shower is the size of a phone booth. Bring your own shampoo. If you're looking for a nice hotel experience, don't stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Key West, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is truly the worst hotel i have ever stayed at on my life. I didn't want to believe the reviews, and gave it a whirl but guess what?! All the bad reviews were correct! Bed bugs scouring the counters and walls, the maid comes whether you want her to or not, and doesn't even bother to flush when she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

if you were having a third world experience then it is without a doubt that you had it somewhere OTHER than this establishment . Perhaps your impression of our Guest House was for some unmentionable reason skewed horribly. It appears that the recent reviews are an attempt by either an unhappy individual or other properties to make us look bad.... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I am not a fancy traveler and have stayed in many motels in my time. This again, is THE WORST. Where do I begin.... 1- There is no front desk nor is there anyone on the property to assist you. Yes, you pick up the key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review

this is what a person writes when they expect a to stay for free and it doesn't happen. Future guests should look at the honest, candid reviews posted by travelers!!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Customs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Customs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Customs House Inn

Address: 124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Customs House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Customs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Key West with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Customs House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer