We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

4.0 of 5 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    50
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
368
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (469)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We moved here for one night and were really wowed and impressed, room was quiet convenient and comfortable, very well maintained, came with breakfast( omletes, fruit, etc) would definitely stay here if we come back to key west

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear Dealer7, Thank you for writing a review of the La Mer and Dewey. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you can stay longer on your next visit to Key West. Sincerely, More 

Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The La Mer and the Dewy House have become our favorite places to stay while in Key West. Having stayed all over the island, these two consistently rank at the top of our list. We can't recommend them strongly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keri D, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m extremely delighted to read that you had a fantastic time with us during your recent getaway. Especially when you say we are your favorite! Our goal is to consistently give exceptional customer service to every guest every time, so I am pleased to read... More 

Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These two historic and beautifully-renovated homes sit smack-dab on the one of the rare Key West stretches of sandy beach. The morning breakfast is hearty; complete with fresh fruits, sinful pastries, island-baked breads and quiches. There is always a special made-to-order choice of the day (think belgian waffel or pancakes banana foster or a 3-egg omelet.) You can spend your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keri D, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a heart felt review of our bed and breakfast. You did a great job mentioning all my favorite points about our property and why it is the jewel of Key West. I’m very pleased you had such a wonderful stay and your words of recommendation are truly appreciated and will be... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Bed and Breakfast portion of this hotel. We had a beautiful room with breakfast and tea time included. We decided to stay a third night and unfortunately had to move to an hotel room. What a let down after the bed and breakfast. The room was small and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keri D, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit at our bed and breakfast. I am so pleased to read that your experience with us was wonderful enough to extend your stay. Our main goal is to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and I’m very happy we were able to do this for... More 

Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our time here. We had a suite on the second floor that overlooked the beach. The room was very clean and the decor was current and tasteful. I ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for our arrival and it was delicious! Parking can be tricky as the lot is tiny but if you are willing to walk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear MissMatthews, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our wonderful innkeeper Randall. He is a wealth of knowledge and experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Key West. Sincerely, More 

new york
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fabulous room, so well decorated and appointed, much thought put into it. We had a good view in room 419, but I would ask for 418, next door, which has a wonderful, unobstructed view. The folks who maintain the rooms do a thorough job. We enjoyed a breautiful fresh orchid in our bathroom. There was turndown service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keri D, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed & Breakfast. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and amenities at the Dewey House, as well as the rest of our beautiful property. Thank you for your kind words for Megan and AJ, I will be sure to share your comments. We... More 

Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Garden view room overlooked the street.when I questioned the description I was told "garden view " was a euphemism. Full trash bags were left in the corridor outside our room all night. When I raised the concern over the musty smell through out the building I was told ,it is an old house in the tropics take a Benadryl! It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear BFry296, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would like to apologize if your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed immediately with our Housekeeping Department. Again thank you for your comments. Sincerely Elizabeth Isaacs More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about this weekend was amazing and wonderful. We can't wait to return. Our vacation was almost a disaster as we booked our stay at another bed and breakfast through Groupon. Groupon did not confirm with the bed and breakfast and they were overbooked. When I called to confirm our reservation we were advised that no rooms were available for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to save your vacation and you were able to enjoy your romantic getaway. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Elizabeth Isaacs More 

Jacksonville FL, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for a week April/May 2014 at La Mer Hotel, which is part of the Southern Most Hotel group. Our room was on the top left corner, looking out over the beach below and the ocean. Although the room rate is a bit pricey, it is worth the experience! The room was exceptional, with beautiful decorating, a small kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear Sheila S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our oceanfront rooms overlooking the ocean are truly spectacular. We have made some nice additions to our breakfast service in the morning since you stayed with us. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward... More 

Darnestown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a bed and breakfast surrounded by a larger hotel complex. By virtue that La Mer and Dewey House have become part of the Southermost Hotel Collection you get as much as or as little of what the Southernmost has to offer. But first we stayed at Le Mer. I found it classy, clean, quiet. The staff was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elizabeth I, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear JSG924, I am pleased to read that you experienced all that La Mer Hotel & Dewey House has to offer. The quaint atmosphere of a B&B but with access to amenities more commonly associated with a larger resort. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and further encourages our commitment to providing a wonderful vacation experience to our guests. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Afternoon tea(14)
  • Duval street(10)
  • Fresh fruit(4)
  • Happy Hour(3)

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (259)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay