We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Key West B&Bs / inns

La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
96%
Ranked #15 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
riadior
  • Overview
  • Reviews (419)
  • Photos (286)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    45
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
330
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an ocenfront suite, and stayed here for 3 nights. The bb is a part of two other hotels, southernmost hotels on key west, and the three hotels together, which you as a guest has full access to, offer great value regarding outdoor activities such as sunbeds, hammocks, three pool areas, yoga, gym etc. The breakfast could have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our properties. I’m happy to read that you had a fantastic time with us. When staying at our resort guests have the ability to use all of the amenities we have throughout our property and I’m glad you took advantage of them. I would also like to thank you... More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at eh La mer house on the southernmost property -the most charming and comfortable bed and breakfast on the beach in key west!The service was impeccable and attention to detail was obvious. Worth every penny. If you are looking for a serene, peaceful and romantic stay, look no further. Be sure to stay in either... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We strive to provide exceptional customer service every day for every guest and I am so happy to know we did this for you. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back... More

South Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Southernmost chain of hotels operates 3 properties next to each other, Dewey House is one of them. You have access to the amenities at all the properties. Located on the south end of Duval St, they are away from the loud, drunken commercialism and nuttiness of the busier end of Duval but close enough for easy access. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m so pleased to read that you look forward to returning to us when you visit Key West again! That is some of the best praise we could hope to receive and knowing that you had such a wonderful time makes us all very proud.... More

boca raton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

House keeping - came late ( after 3:45pm until I complained . then cleaning of the room was bad. Housekeeping not vacuum or dust and left papers and food on the floor.. this would be my only complaint - which is bad - because when housekeeping does bad job, you wonder how well they cleaned before you got there ....... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I would like to apologize for any lack of service you experienced with our housekeeping staff during your stay. I understand your disappointment as what you describe falls far below our standards of exceptional customer service. Please be assured your thoughtful comments will be shared... More

Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location, service and decor are all fantastic here. Samantha was nothing less than wonderful. The breakfast had a lot of variety and a quiche that was to die for. At afternoon tea, we usually had the large veranda to ourselves. After the first day, when we hung out and drank the champagne they left for our anniversary (Bonus!), we started... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I would like to apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. Your thoughtful critique has been shared with the appropriate management departments for further discussion to finding a solution. I do truly appreciate your compliment for Samantha (the Inn Manager); she works very... More

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying at the la mar house and found it to be an amazing experience. The room was spacious and well appointed. All the staff we met were nice and accommodating. The pools are great, so were the pool bars (though they could use a better beer selection). They have a beach, tanning pier, 3 pools,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m very happy to read that you found a little heaven on earth here at our guest houses. It’s true that while staying at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, guests also have the advantage of utilizing all of the amenities our entire Southernmost... More

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the La Mer Hotel. The beachfront location was perfect. My wife especially enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon tea times. And there are not enough kind words to describe our experiences with the staff; from Larry and Randal who greeted us, to Sam and Steve who served breakfast and tea, to Fletcher... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Bed and Breakfast. I’m happy to read that you and your wife had a fantastic time and so pleased we were able to make your visit to Key West top notch. I would like to thank you for your very kind words for Larry, Randall, Sam, Steven, Fletcher and Magic; they... More

Auburn, AL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Key West, and we had a fabulous stay at the Dewey House. We had a garden view room, don't recall if it was 404 or 414, but sitting on the side porch we could easily see the sea. The room was clean and large and cool in the 97 degree heat with a comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am so pleased to read that we could be a part of your “great first trip to Key West”! Our guest houses are so unique and I’m really happy you enjoyed your room, breakfast and afternoon tea and the ocean view from your porch.... More

Nottingham, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We concluded our honeymoon in the La Mer and Dewy House staying for 5 nights. It did not disappoint! Our room was amazing with a partial seaview, the bathroom was amazing with a big claw tub and shower. The beauty of this place is it combine a charming b&b with the benefits of a large resort. There are lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Bed and Breakfast. We are honored you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon (congratulations again!) and enjoyed all that our extensive property has to offer. I feel we are very fortunate to be located at the quieter end of Duval Street because our guests... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West and we were not disappointed. We are so happy we chose to stay at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House. After initially choosing a garden view room in the Dewey House we then upgraded to an ocean front room (404) in La Mer. The view was terrific! The room is right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Bed and Breakfast. I’m happy to read that you had a fantastic time and so pleased we were able to make your first visit to Key West that much more enjoyable. I would like to thank you for your very kind words for Sam and Randall; they are truly an asset... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Afternoon tea(14)
  • Duval street(10)
  • Fresh fruit(4)
  • Happy Hour(3)

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (258)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Key West with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Mer Hotel and Dewey House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer