We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Key West B&Bs / inns

La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
95%
Ranked #21 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
NIls Petter P Stockholm
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    46
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
336
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent three nights in one of the suites at La Mer during our honey moon. The room was perfect with great ocean views and we really enjoyed the surroundings and staff hospitality. The only thing that could have been sligthly better is the breakfast at Dewey House. There were few options other than American dishes such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolivia, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent 5 days at the LaMer/Dewey House. The location is convenient to Restaurants, Duval St. and Mallory Square (20 min walk) but removed and quiet enough to give you a very different Key West experience. Lovely facility with one of the few beaches on KW and the staff was over the top. Could not do enough for you.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our bed and Breakfast. I am so pleased to read that you had such a nice time and were happy with our location and treatment by our staff members. I can honestly say that we have some of the finest, most dedicated staff working for our properties and I... More

Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a week at the La Mer House in July. It was enjoyable and disappointing at the same time. Had wanted to stay at the John Dewey House (adjacent) but it had no ocean front rooms available. The "junior suite" that we stayed in was more "junior" than "suite." While we were right on the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am very sorry to read that you did not have a truly amazing time while staying with us. As the only Bed and Breakfast establishment on Key West we are very proud to offer our guests the only ocean front views within such a... More

Duluth, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at the beautiful La Mer. We had chosen it partly for the prompt responses reviewers had received from the management. On the 2nd night we stayed, a large SYSCO truck was parked outside our door and the very loud generators were left running all night. We were offered a "free upgrade" that was not nearly as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Dear Terese T, I would like to apologize that I was not in contact with you sooner. Your disappointment in a timely follow up is justified and deeply regrettable. We do pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and have failed to provide it for you, a situation I am truly sorry for. I understand our staff offered you a complimentary... More

Clarksboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the La Mar bed and breakfast for 4 nights. We had originally booked at the southernmost hotel in the USA which is across the street. We are so glad we decided to change our reservation to the La Mar house. It was so clean and comfortable, not to mention charming. The entire staff was beyond helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and we could be such a nice part of your first time in Key West. We strive to provide exceptional customer service every day for every guest and I’m happy to know... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned. This place charges exclusive prices but provides below average service and amenities. The only pool that you will use is always overrun with kids, most of whom probably aren't staying there because the gate stays unlocked and random people stroll in off street. Everyday somebody had their baby swimming in the pool in diapers, gross. On our 3rd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Sandeaton - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Bed and Breakfast. I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding or mistreatment you felt you received while staying with us. I would like to assure you that at no time was any member of our staff positioned to call and have your car towed. I... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an ocenfront suite, and stayed here for 3 nights. The bb is a part of two other hotels, southernmost hotels on key west, and the three hotels together, which you as a guest has full access to, offer great value regarding outdoor activities such as sunbeds, hammocks, three pool areas, yoga, gym etc. The breakfast could have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our properties. I’m happy to read that you had a fantastic time with us. When staying at our resort guests have the ability to use all of the amenities we have throughout our property and I’m glad you took advantage of them. I would also like to thank you... More

2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at eh La mer house on the southernmost property -the most charming and comfortable bed and breakfast on the beach in key west!The service was impeccable and attention to detail was obvious. Worth every penny. If you are looking for a serene, peaceful and romantic stay, look no further. Be sure to stay in either... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We strive to provide exceptional customer service every day for every guest and I am so happy to know we did this for you. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back... More

South Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Southernmost chain of hotels operates 3 properties next to each other, Dewey House is one of them. You have access to the amenities at all the properties. Located on the south end of Duval St, they are away from the loud, drunken commercialism and nuttiness of the busier end of Duval but close enough for easy access. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m so pleased to read that you look forward to returning to us when you visit Key West again! That is some of the best praise we could hope to receive and knowing that you had such a wonderful time makes us all very proud.... More

boca raton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

House keeping - came late ( after 3:45pm until I complained . then cleaning of the room was bad. Housekeeping not vacuum or dust and left papers and food on the floor.. this would be my only complaint - which is bad - because when housekeeping does bad job, you wonder how well they cleaned before you got there ....... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
M_Babich, General Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I would like to apologize for any lack of service you experienced with our housekeeping staff during your stay. I understand your disappointment as what you describe falls far below our standards of exceptional customer service. Please be assured your thoughtful comments will be shared... More

Do you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Afternoon tea(14)
  • Duval street(10)
  • Fresh fruit(4)
  • Happy Hour(3)

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (258)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near La Mer Hotel and Dewey House