We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Key West hotels

Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
65%
Ranked #35 of 41 hotels in Key West
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
elyrch Swansea, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (465)
  • Photos (153)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    162
    77
    69
    25
See reviews for
39
270
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location to Duval Street. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good wifi. But there was no closet in our room which we were told was due to size of room. The room was huge. How can a hotel room not have anywhere to put your clothes? Also the shower was tiled on an incorrect angle so standing water would make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked 2 rooms with another couple for Lobsterfest weekend. Our room barely had any view (#7) and there were problems with the AC. After they came to fix it it rattled all night. This was not the repairmans fault as it's an old AC unit and he did his best. The unit is literally above the bed, not a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This bed and breakfast was everything we were looking for. Brian was the man who helped us at the hotel desk and he have us so many great tips on places to go! He was so friendly and set a great tone for the rest of the stay. Our room was clean and comfy. We loved the location too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
South abington pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We just spent our 35th anniversary in key west. We were pleasantly surprised and stayed an extra night. The staff was wonderful. Our room was 27 and was very nice. The bathroom was a bit small but expected at a bed and breakfast. It was a bit pricey but located close to Duvall st. Do yourselves a favor and park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here before and I loved it! This place is centrally located, the breakfast is great and the staff is very courteous. I'm looking forward to my Labor Day weekend with my boyfriend and dogs!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Lisset, We're excited about your upcoming visit too! It's always such a pleasure to see repeat guests staying with us. See you soon! More

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the staff at the Chelsea House were extremely friendly and accommodating, especially Lynnea, who really was wonderful, I don't think I can wholeheartedly endorse this hotel for other like minded travelers. I thought I was going to be staying in a restored, historic inn with character and modern amenities. I was extremely disappointed when I was shown to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

We have several different types of rooms to choose from at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens. The smaller economy queen rooms have the lowest price point, so for those who prefer the least expensive price over larger accommodations with more amenities, they're perfect. For guests who prefer more space, we offer other room categories including spacious king rooms and... More

Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really can't give this place anymore than an average rating. It was fairly clean and in a decent location but you can do so much better for the same price range. Breakfast nothing special for a bed and breakfast. If we go back to Key West we will not stay here. Glad we only booked one night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Whilst some people assume we must be a "Bed and Breakfast" because of our appearance with the guestrooms situated within historic homes, we are not, in fact, a Bed & Breakfast establishment. The Chelsea House is a Historic Key West Inn that offers a nice complimentary continental breakfast for those guests who wish to... More

Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression...HOT. They leave the doors to the Inn open. But, the AC in the rooms worked really well. So, the sweltering Key West heat didn't make it into the rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The location was great and we lucked out with one of the three on location parking spaces. The big problem was that the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed our super comfy beds and the great location of the Chelsea House. We do leave the front door of the main house that leads to the lobby open, simply because when it is closed it looks like the inn itself is closed! When the door is open, it looks welcoming and guests know we are... More

Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed her for a couple nights and absolutely loved it!! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful when we were trying to find good places to eat and visit. Hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area. Very close to Duval St. Check-in and check-out was very fast and easy. We will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is outdated and in need of repair. The shower in our bath had filth between the tiles both nights of our stay. They credited us one night should have credited us both for these unsanitary conditions. Breakfast was poor also not a good value at all unless you don't care about personal hygiene or outdated sub par

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Laurie, The bathroom in the room you were in has since been re-grouted and is in tip-top shape. I wish you would have mentioned your displeasure when you were here, as we could have easily moved you to another room. When you subsequently wrote to the property manager after your departure, she did indeed refund you for one of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Continental breakfast(10)
  • Duval street(5)
  • Mallory square(4)
  • Very nice(3)

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Key West with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea House Pool & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer