We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southwinds Motel

2.0 of 5 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southwinds Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southwinds Motel
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I certainly thought I had done enough research, and considering we could have done worse, I guess it was okay. We arrived at 3:15 and the room was not ready so we left our phone number and went to eat. We went back to the motel at 4:30 and the room was ready, even though we had never received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. If you give the Southwinds Motel another chance, I would encourage you to call me directly for your next reservation. I will assure you an excellent stay. I will share your comments with the staff... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean enough. There are plenty of pools (2). If you're lucky you'll be next to one. Offers a Kitchenette. The service is mediocre-good depending on who you're speaking to. Pools do close. Maid service does a fine job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel on December 1, 2014. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel. The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect place to stay in Key West! Who needs all the extra hotel frills when you are in paradise! The price was right, rooms were clean, and the staff was frendly! We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Key West!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel on December 1, 2014. You were one of our 1st guests for 2015! Happy New Year. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely recommend this place, fabulous friendly helpful staff.. We arrived too early and they let us park up, no problem. Brilliant location, 1 block from Duvall street and beaches. Beds super comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel just as you arrived. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel. As you know, we have a great location as well... More 

Key West, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Do yourself and your pocket book a favor by staying here--you'll be so glad you did for so many reasons! I had just had a rare bad experience at a nearby hotel, and this place balanced it out in every way! The staff was so nice, comforting and incredibly understanding, they all went out of their way to help me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel just as you arrived. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel. Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! The... More 

Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We frequently would stay at the ocean breeze and were the last guest to be there before the sale. We returned this week. Some improvements of fresh paint were done. No dresser in the room and 6 hangers. I did not like the pool area as they removed numerous plants around the area it looks sterile. Our room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! Since your visit, we have completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel. Come see our newly remodeled motel. Part of the renovations included cleaning up plants around the pool areas as well as... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We had tried to stay here for two nights but they were fully booked for the first night. The extremely helpful Andrew arranged for us to say next door at the Spanish Gardens for the first night, and we were very pleased to move because Southwinds was so much better for a similar price. the room had two windows so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! Since your visit, we have completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel. Come see our newly remodeled motel. Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! The Southwinds Motel staff and I... More 

NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Undergoing somewhat of a reno or "facelift" as they called it. New name, fresh paint, landscaping, etc. Is now conjoined with the motel next to it. That gives you access to a second, larger pool as well as laundry facilities. As during the prior stay, rooms were clean and neat. AC worked like a champ. Friendly staff. Huge local bakery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Southwinds Motel Guest, Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon! Since your visit we have done a very extensive renovation which was completed December 1, 2014. Please come visit us again. The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay