We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Pelican
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pelican to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 19 Key Largo B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DABL28 North Beach, Maryland
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    105
    46
    19
    19
See reviews for
38
115
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
North Beach, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The size of this 8x10 room was not a problem for our overnight stay. My shower was warm for the first two minutes - then cold. The full size bed had a gully in the center and was hard. It was hard to get comfortable and sleep. The bed, box spring and frame should all be replaced. The 7:30 breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the Pineapple, had one twin bed and one double bed, so as a couple, we slept separate. The bathroom is very small, no sink space to speak of. The worst thing was the water pressure in the shower, it was a little more than a trickle. Washing your hair was very time consuming. One of the neighboring cottages... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1950s era construction with some modernization, these units run from small cottages to large, flowing cabins. Our small 20X15 room had an attached shower and bathroom that was clean, fully functional, and served us well. Our friends had a large waterfront cabin with a functioning kitchen, attached porch, patio, and a smal gazebo leading to a pier. We shared their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is perfect for exploring the Upper Keys. It is a charming small motel on the bayside. Somewhat expensive, but for me it was worth it. Guest can use the kayaks free of charge. It is great to sit on the deck and watch the sun set.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hove
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this resort and were obliged to spend two nights in one room, and then another two nights in another room. The first room (Pisces) was hardly big enough to swing a cat in. Its the smallest room I have ever shared with another person. The small double bed was pushed into the corner so my partner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in "The Palm" at the Pelican Cottages on our honeymoon. The gentleman at reception was very friendly and gave us some information on things to do in the area. We hired the kayaks and went for a quick paddle to get some nice photos looking back on the shoreline. We also had a relax in the hammocks while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been a big fan of the Hungry Pelican since 1998. I recently stayed at the motel. It was the worst experience ever. The motel puts moisture pads on their new very cheap mattresses. So, I experienced sweating cause I slept on plastic (body can't breath on plastic) and then froze cause I was wet and the AC was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A S, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not have a great stay. The mattress you slept on was unfortunately not new. Just a few days ago we replaced all of the mattresses and box springs in the entire property. These new plush mattresses are very comfortable and do not have any plastic moisture barriers. We hope that you return and give the... More 

Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, my bi-annual trips to this lovely little paradise and my review after has become widely read. And by being widely read it's encouraged people to go and stay there. I guess I blew it and should've kept this little gem a secret all to ourselves! ;) Please look back for the review titled "Our Own Little Paradise" and understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great sunsets. Great location We walked to dinner at two different locations that both had great food and live music. The room was very basic, but comfortable and strong A/C. We kayaked out front along side 3 manatees. . . What a treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A S, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We hate to brag but we do have a great location. The Pelican is located bayside, within walking distance to some great places to eat and listen to live music. Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, Bayside Grill, and Snooks are just some of the places that we recommend to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Part of the reason we booked here was to access the "free" kayaks. While they insisted they had kayaks, the kayaks did not have seats and there was only one single and one double. When I questioned the innkeeper regarding this, he insisted they had kayaks, we just had a "difference of opinion." The "free" bikes were unusable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A S, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We apologize that you were not satisfied with the Kayaks provided, it appeared that you and your husband had a great time using the Kayak's during your stay. We currently have a one single person kayak and two double person kayak's. At the time of your stay one of the double person kayak's was out... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (197)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay