We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Positive-Good location close to bars, several restaurants. Piesano's Stone Fired Pizza downstairs is great. Close to UF Bad- Room smelled BAD!! Bathroom had wallpaper falling off, chipped peeling tiles. Ac unit looked to be 20 years old and made a ton of noise. Would not stay here again

Helpful?
Thank wvujaguar
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I came here for a one week course at university of florida. I chose this holiday Inn because it was basically right on campus and had a shuttle which was a plus because I could either walk or take the shuttle and avoid renting a car. The hotel shuttle was hard to use because they usually used it for airport... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chriskjfk
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Chriskjfk," Good morning. Thank you for your patronage and feedback. It is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations however, your commentary will be shared with my entire team, both operations and ownership. We wish you the very best in your future travels. Respectfully yours, Odyssey Leach General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

That hotel stay was a disaster it was like prisoin but i had to get out of town for a while the bathroom was very dirty and the showers did not look so good i am glad i showerd at home befrore we left we did this to go to uf on a tour for my brother.

Helpful?
Thank Alex D
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Alex D," Thank you for your recent patronage and feedback. We're truly disappointed that you felt this was the "whorst hotel on earth." Had you expressed your discomfort during your visit, we would gladly have refunded your stay as well as assisted in relocating to different accommodations. I assure you that your feedback will be shared with my entire... More 

new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this because it was near the university, and I looked forward to swimming while I was there. I just assumed it would be a heated pool -- foolish me. And I just assumed the fridge in the room would work -- but no. After 2 days of requesting help with it, it was replaced on my last morning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bridgeandtunnel
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "bridgeandtunnel," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserved during your visit. Our goal is to provide an unparalleled service delivery, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have... More 

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When arriving I was in shock, I thought about turning around immediately and finding someplace else for the 4 nights in Gainesville. But in I went. To say this hotel is dated is misleading , it is also dingy, smelly, noisy and lacks a proper welcoming lobby. I couldn't wait until may visit to Gainesville was over to head home.... More 

Helpful?
Thank WMStevensonIII
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "WMStevensonIII," Thank you so very much for your feedback, particularly the comment regarding our team. Indeed, the quality of any "joint is the staff," as service is what makes the difference in a lodging experience. As you're a seasoned traveler, you recognize that the elements of pricing are the functions of supply, demand, and quality. If your visit was... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reviews are accurate. Good service and location across from UF, but terrible, smelly, low ceiling rooms. There were ants in the bathroom sink in both rooms. The restaurant attached is actually quite good. I won't return until a massive redo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Katie R," Thank you so very much for your recent patronage as well as sharing constructive feedback. Your comments regarding service and Piesanos restaurant are particularly appreciated and will be shared with my entire team. Although your overall perception is somewhat disappointing, I assure you that each of your concerns is being addressed. The property is in the midst... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

If proximity to the University is high on your list this place is for you. It is an older facility but has an upgraded TV and the rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges. Overall it needs a major overhaul because there are more modern facilities in the area. Close to all types of restaurants.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry J
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Jerry J." Happy New Year! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, if your desire is to be near the University of Florida or one of the other well respected venues in Gainesville, then absolutely the Holiday inn Gainesville University Center Hotel is ideal for you. We have recently upgraded all guest rooms, public areas, and... More 

Lilburn, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a sports camp our daughter was attending. Upon arrival, staff was nice and helpful. We got off the elevator (5th floor) and instantly smelled a damp yucky smell. A bit better in our room, but still yucky. The bathroom REALLY smelled bad. Our daughter fell asleep quickly so we didn't say anything. As soon as... More 

Helpful?
Thank volgirlinga
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

More 

Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one week on business. It felt outdated and grungy. The whole hotel needs a major update. The fridge and microwave are poorly placed. The closet is right in your face as soon as you open the door. The ceiling in my room was poorly repaired as seen in my pictures. The ceiling in the bathroom is... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAB111111
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "PAB111111," Thank you for your feedback and patronage. Our sincerest apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations in terms of décor, infrastructure, and age of the property. I assure you that your service concerns are being addressed, particularly the breakfast offering. In the relatively near future, we'll present a wonderful new breakfast café which will offer a... More 

Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are super awesome and very friendly! Always enjoy staying here! There are two gentlemen that work at the front desk names Ron and Tim! Both are some of the best people I've met! Go talk to them! The rest of the staff and security guards were also the best. I don't have a single negative... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DoofyBoyWonder
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "DoofyBoyWonder," Good day! We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback and recent patronage. Your comments will be shared with my entire team, particularly Ron and Tim. The team is loaded with superstars, just like these two, very committed to providing service excellence! Thank you again for your feedback. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the relatively... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#14 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay