We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    221
    91
    59
    72
See reviews for
242
141
108
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (851)
  • Mar-May only
    (280)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (187)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (169)
All months
There are newer reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As always, we need to visit Shands Hospital, Gainesville for my son's follow up check up. We always stay at the Paramount. The staff are the best, rooms are always clean, safe area and convenient to the hospital. It's also down the street from UF. We caught a Gator baseball game against our USF guys. After the game, 5 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ray N, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Robin R, Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites for your return visits to Shand's hospital. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you made use of all of our amenities that we offer, such as the shuttle service or our hot breakfast buffet. Please remember to contact... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found ourselves referred to the Paramount Plaza in time of crisis. It is very close to Shands Medical Center at UF Florida. Not knowing the area it was close and offered shuttle services to the hospital for guests. Initial presentation is nice. Restaurant/bar I would rate well above the hotel. Night one all was nice. Day two, towels taken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I am very disappointed to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. I will be taking immediate action to correct the concerns that you raised in your survey and I am deeply sorry that it caused you discomfort while you were here. Please feel free to contact... More 

Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well we were staying for a week. We had a great room on the lake side it was beautiful. this is a very large hotel lots of people staying here and lots of groups such as basketball teams etc....the parking lot was very very full sometimes hard to fine a parking space. The front desk was awesome Marcella was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I am concerned about your comment stating that the housekeeper for your room did not do a very thorough job cleaning, as well as the Unfortunate issue with the credit card. We welcome your comments and concerns or any suggestions that you may have, so that we can use... More 

Dunedin, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because of where I thought it was (turns out I was mistaken in that) and based on favorable reviews I read. This is a former Sheraton, with ballrooms, meeting rooms, restaurant and bar, and room service if you want it. My room was spacious and clean and the bed was super comfortable. Modern flat-screen TV and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I am Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will, however, be sending my engineer over to the room that you occupied to look into the issues with the shower. I hope that you were able to use all of our amenities, such as the... More 

Coral Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times. Hotel rooms are great. Each has a balcony. Very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet for $4.50 with coupon from Hotel Saver you can get on the turnpike or at Denny's. They honored the coupon for the room also. Very professional staff. Rooms are all indoor hallways with security door. Great for solo visitors. Parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & suites. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you made use of our restaurant, and hope that you enjoyed the other amenities that the hotel has to offer. Please remember to contact us directly to book your next stay at... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Without a doubt, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Everything was perfect. I would strongly recommend to travelers that this is great hotel to stay. I plan to stay here again when I am in Gainesville, Florida in the future. I specifically liked our room with balcony overlooking the lake. Everything was clean. I like clean. I also liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. I as delighted to read the you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you made use of the amenities that we offer, such as our shuttle service or our hot breakfast buffet. Please remember to contact us directly to book your next stay at the lowest rate.... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to be sure to share about our experience at Paramount Hotel because we chose them based on good trip advisor reviews. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We stayed there on a Saturday night on our way to a cruise vacation. Problems: 1.) There were a few flying insects in the room. 2.) The towels were small, thin, and scratchy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayn1970, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & suites. I apologize for the issues you found with your room. I can assure you that they will be corrected in a timely manner by our staff. I am sorry that it led to a disappointment during your stay. When you return to Gainesville, please contact us directly and speak... More 

Rotonda West, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always choose the Paramount Plaza when in Gainesville. The rooms are always clean, the Staff is polite, informative and helpful. The rooms are always clean with toiletries provided. This Hotel has a very nice pool, Food service and breakfast available. We find the location very convenient especially for anyone going to UF Shands. Best of all the economic pricing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites! It's great to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and were able to make use of the amenities we offer, such as our swimming pool and our full-service bar and restaurant. As you mentioned, we offer rooms with view of our swimming pool, and we also... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Emily at the desk was the most enjoyable young lady we have ever had check us in to a room in all our years of travel. She was friendly and treated us with genuine respect due a person, not just a paying guest. She was knowledgeable about not only the hotel but the surrounding area and points of interest. John... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza and for taking the time to review our property! It's great to hear how friendly our staff was during your stay. Making every guest feel like family is something we strive for and pride ourselves on. Thank you again for your business and review. We look forward to seeing you next time... More 

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was a very average experience. My first impression on the hotel was a rather gruff looking front desk attendant who didn't smile. The hotel is a series of buildings that are not connected by an enclosed hallway. The building I stayed in had a very finicky front door key card. It took multiple swipes in order to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ms. McKnight, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for alerting us to that issue in your room. We take the happiness and safety of our guest very seriously and will make sure to resolve any and all issues found in your room. Thank you again for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay