We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2900 South West 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Sheraton Gainesville)
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    215
    87
    57
    70
See reviews for
237
137
106
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (829)
  • Mar-May only
    (259)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (187)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been here dozens of nights, true story look it up: S Lavender Every time is the best time, will always stay here without question Allen the bartender absolutely is the best !!! Impeccable service

Was this review helpful? Yes
boca raton, fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We've stayed here twice (halfway stop between family and home). Both times, they were kind enough to give us a room on the beautiful lake for a really good price (under $75). We ordered room service (very reasonable) and watched the sunset from the little outside balcony. A breath of fresh air on our long auto journey. Food the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Paramount Plaza multiple times and always enjoy the accomodations. The rooms have always been spacious with great patios and the pool/ resturant has gorgeous views of the nearby lake. While the hotel itself looks a little old, it has always been clean and quiet. Unfortunately, we were a bit disapointed with our most recent stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad your overall stay with us was good and that you were able to experience the lake view our property offers. Our patio lights are on a timer and illuminate the balconies at night for security reasons, but the curtains in the room should block the light from shining... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My six weeks stay was in nearly every way pleasant. My only complaints involved an overflow wedding crowd that talked and sang loudly in the hall outside my room from midnight to 2 AM on the first two weekends and the dining room service. The latter problem was resolved satisfactorily but no so quickly or easily as it should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Tyson, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad your extended stay with us was pleasant and that we were able to accommodate you during your time in Gainesville. On behalf of everyone at Paramount Plaza, I thank you for your business and kind review! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing stay. Room and hotel need urgent maintenance: lock would not work, bathroom faucet water dripping, terrace door to the outside can not lock, air-condition noisy. Elevator broken, exercise room “out of order”. House cleaning poor, room was not replenished with soap and amenities. Carpet worn out and stained. Bathroom sink peeling. Restaurant: dishes dirty. Coffee mug had unwashed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed to read of the problems you experienced during your stay with us. We are always working to improve our property and your feedback will go a long way in our doing so. I would like to know which room you stayed in. If you have a chance, please contact me directly, so we can further discuss your... More 

Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed only one night on our way to Clearwater, but a nicer stay could not have been had. The price was extremely reasonable (under $50 for a two bed room) and the area was safe and quiet. The room was clean and spacious... the bar/restaurant even stayed open later to accommodate our request for food and beverage. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of one of our special rates during your stay. Being the only lakefront hotel in Gainesville, we offer great insight into the beauty of Florida's natural wonders, and I'm glad you were able to experience that with... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was convenient to UF and The Florida School of Massage which we were visiting. We were very impressed with the natural beauty surrounding the hotel loved the location on the lake! our room was very comfortable and clean, we will definitely be back next visit to the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear you had a great time with us, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. As you mentioned, we are very close to the University of Florida (just 1.5 miles south), and just north of the Florida School of Massage. We are also... More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Nice changes since last review on January 12! AC filter changed- check. Elevator working- check. 2 or more front desk staff- check. Restaurant staff increased- check! Additionally, the Saturday dinner buffet GREAT IDEA! Help yourself coffee and OJ at breakfast buffet GREAT IDEA! Would be really, really nice if the smoking areas could be relocated away from the various... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always love to hear from returning guests, and it's great to read that you've noticed the improvements we have made. We are always working to improve our property and guest feedback is the key! Thank you again for your review and for your business. We look forward... More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can really recommend Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. The rooms were excellent, the service was fantastic! I hoped to see some Gators, but unfortunately there were none. Special thanks to Matthew! You really do an excellent job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites and for taking the time to review our property! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully, you'll be able to see some alligators in Bivens Arm next time you visit. Our lake-view rooms are lovely and a great way to take in the scenic nature of the area. From... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. We were taking a trip up the east coast to look at colleges on Spring Break. We stayed in a different hotel every night for a week. I had read in a review that Paramount Plaza was old and musty but I thought, for the price, I would put up with a little musty smell. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billy K, Front Office Manager at Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of some of the amenities we offer, such as our lake-view rooms and room service from our restaurant, Lakeside Bar & Grill. We are the only lakefront hotel in Gainesville, and our restaurant offers daily happy hour specials and an all-you-can-eat... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question