We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

3.0 of 5 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GreenLeadersBronze level
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    103
    42
    17
    17
See reviews for
109
75
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (339)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
See the most recent reviews
Wellington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is very clean, and the hotel staff is very friendly and genuinely caring and helpful. I spend a lot of time there for business and always look forward to my stays there. The only downside is that there isn't much around which can be a problem if you don't have a car or if you don't like to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful comments. It always makes us feel great to hear that someone considers us as their second home. The staff here strives to supply hospitality and it's awesome to hear it succeeds at times. Hope you have a great day. Ron More 

Atlantic Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As this property is located outside the bustle and traffic of the city of Gainesville, it provides a calm oasis away from the other activities usually found in a college town. It's surrounded by tropical trees and has a nice pool ready for refreshment, as well as a nicely equipped fitness room. A breakfast with many choices awaits in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. Hope to see you again on the outskirts of Gainesville for a relaxing stay. Have a great day. Ron More 

Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I travel quite a bit and this was my worst Hotwire experience. Nice looking exterior but shabby carpet, dirty upholstery and a dire need of fresh paint inside. Room smelled like old smoke. Noisy AC unit with just two temperature settings; and a lumpy spring coil bed. No vanity in bathroom, just a sink with exposed piping. Internet not working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valrico, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Room is very clean and updated; quite spacious- king bed with separate sofa sleeper area. Almost passed on this based on most recent review, but saw overall reviews were quite good. Excellent value - ask for available discounts as they will find one for you- Triple A, U of F visitor, etc. I'll come back here for sure!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments. Glad you chose to stay with us. Hope to see you next time your visiting UF or just on vacation. Ron More 

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended to use because we were coming to town for a wedding. Most of the wedding guests stayed at the hotel. Only 1 room was available for early check-in; however when we went to the room, it REEKED of smoke (pretty ridiculous after I had to sign a smoking penalty waiver at the front desk). I'm traveling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed overnight traveling through. Best westerns most have been remodeled, I guess they forgot about this one. Beds are very hard. Carpet needs to be cleaned. Front desk clerk was extremely polite and even gave us chips and popcorn for being a rewards card holder. Breakfast was ok waffles hard boiled eggs cereal all breads and muffins, but for extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. I would like to let you know that the hotel guest room renovations will start in August. We will be adding new beds and furniture to the guest rooms as well as hallway carpet throughout the hotel. Hope you will try us again. Thanks, Ron. More 

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed there for the weekend. The room as clean, the front desk was very friendly. We checked in very late at night, the hotel was full and we saw them answering all guests requests very quickly . We were there for a competition and even though the breakfast usually starts at 7:30 they started serving at 6:00 so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review

Thanks so much. We hope to see your team again when you're competing in Gainesville. Have a great day. Ron More 

Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here on business for two nights, I normally stay far away from the Best Western brand after several bad experiences. The company booked the rooms so I was stuck. To my surprise, this was a pretty nice Best Western! The accommodations aren't anything out of the ordinary but the hotel is clean, rooms are a good size, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have never checked in at a hotel where the flimsy bed linens were so wrinkled they looked used. When we called for the housekeeping supervisor to stop in, she said that was the way they all looked. The blanket was ratty, the carpeting was filthy, and the mattresses were old and impossible to sleep on unless you enjoyed bouncing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sewickley, PA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I was here for two nights last weekend. The guy who picked me up at the airport previously had been to the hotel a couple of times and managed to drive right by the turnoff south of I-75; there is a sign on the other side of the street but none at the turnoff from the Interstate, which is odd,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay