We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Gainesville hotels

Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
90%
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Kelly H Washington, DC, United States
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    87
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
102
46
15
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location, very comfortable beds, great complimentary breakfast, clean rooms, modern decor, very friendly/helpful staff. I had very low expectations after receiving a surprisingly unprofessional email reminding me in all caps, bolded font, etc that if I wanted to cancel my stay it had to be by XX date; it almost sounded as if they wanted us to cancel. Glad... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Close to everything, best thing was being able to have valet park my car and not worry about it during my stay. Loved the reception, was a nice touch. Thank you! I Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience and that you enjoyed our evening managers reception! Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your next visit. More

Hoover, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always stay here. It's a walk away from The Top, Dragonfly, and many other drinking and eating establishments. If you want to take a vacation, get a little sauced, eat great food, and enjoy nightlife, this is a great place to stay for a mini weekend vacation. Often times, we visit on the weekends so right across the street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. We're glad that you love our location and that you enjoyed many of the wonderful restaurants and bars in the downtown area. Thanks again for posting a review, we really... More

Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Occasionally you stay at a place and it just feels strange and or strained in a way. In terms of tangible complaints there is no central air in the rooms and the in-room A/C units are on the loud side. We stayed on the 6th floor and it felt as if the entire building was rumbling all night. I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your recent stay with us. I'm so sorry to hear that you had noise issues with the AC units. I will have my maintenance staff check on this and make the needed repairs immediately. The parking around the hotel is extremely safe and we've never had any incidents with any of... More

Miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I travel frequently and usually have a good experience with Hilton Hotel Group. The service and amenities at this hotel were below average. The valet parking is a little annoying. There is parking on the street but, read the signs carefully Gainesville has no shortage of tow trucks! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent stay with us. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these issues with our staff. Our guests do have the option to self park in the city parking garage should they choose not to valet park or if there is no 2 hour street parking... More

Ft. Lauderdale, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While most Hilton properties are great, the customer service at this location was horrible. Be prepared for inappropriate comments, rude staff and dirty looks. Our group of over 40 people were staying for 5 nights and spending over 25000$ at this hotel (we're not college students, this was a buisness meeting). Check in at this hotel was a nightmare.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about the poor experience your group encountered this week at our hotel. Please be assured we will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing friendly service and warm Hamptonality and hope that we can show you our improvements. Please feel free to share... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here before several times and all was great. Location is perfect. However this visit wasn't impressed. First of all, parking in the garage for a flat fee as part of the hotel visit is no longer an option. You are provided valet for $12/night but I prefer parking myself since I am in and out several times a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed this time around compared to your previous visits. We switched to valet parking last year and the majority of our guests love the convenience. You can still self park in the garage and pay upon exiting each time. Unfortunately, this time... More

winder
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, you can walk to all the spots in downtown. The hotel is centrally located. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. They put out cookies everyday and that was a nice touch. The breakfast had many items to offer. I would stay here again and recommend it as well.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and afternoon cookies! Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your next visit. More

Winter Haven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is outstanding at this property. The location, downtown Gainesville, is perfect, as there are numerous restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Property has a nice work-out room, including free weights. Pool is small, but pleasant and sunny in the morning. Hotel is in very good shape. Most outstanding feature though is the staff. I'm continually impressed by... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you think we have the perfect location and that our staff is outstanding! Customer satisfaction is our top priority and we're glad to hear that we met your expectations of the Hampton... More

Davie,Florida, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Toilet doesn't work 3 of 4 days/ nights and no one can call a plumber? Tell me again about the 100% guarantee... To be handed a plunger and asked if you'd like to keep it doesn't give you a warm feeling...not offered another room? Comped one night is not 100% guarantee.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear about the issues in your restroom and I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gainesville with
any amenities