We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Hotel website
Hotel deals
573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    270
    229
    141
    79
    52
See reviews for
304
216
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (771)
  • Mar-May only
    (302)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
See the most recent reviews
Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Been staying here for a couple of years when I come down for work. Love the pool areas, the tiki bar, and free movie kiosk. The staff has always been very friendly and taken care of any problems that have come up. The rooms are alright but could use some routine maintenance (slow drains, shower head and curtain rods need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest; Our ultimate goal is to ensure that guests like you enjoy what our property has to offer. We are very thankful of the time which you took to tell others via the internet the great experiences that you had here. Your business and the time are very invaluable to our continued improvement. No issue is minor... More 

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the price it's a good value. The grounds & building itself could be a little more clean. If it wasn't for banking priority club points, I would have stayed at the Howard Johnson not so far off the beaten path.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest; We would like to thank you for your business and the time you took to fill in the survey for us. Your feedback is well considered. As the gounds concern, we wll pay more attendtion during the renovation timeline. We have always kept it clean; it should be that way whether we are under renovation or... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was @ HI Fort Walton Beach last week and unfortunately had a really bad noisy experience. I called on Friday to reserve a quiet room for the weekend, specifically requested a quiet room so called the hotel directly asking if they still had rooms on the higher floors not to have any noise from the street. The agent told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear valued guest; We would like to apologize for the disturbance caused by the ongoing renovation of the hotel. We have four buildings. The one in which we are doing the major project is out of service. Apparently, it is causing some inconvenience to the other buildings. Thank you for your feedback! Due to your comments, as of today, we... More 

Pownal, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. We are from Vermont so seeing all of the gorgeous plam trees was a nice treat. Walking into the lobby on the first day was good, we did have some trouble finding our room at first but once we realized that it was right next to the pool with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Katie; First, we would like to thank you for your business. Also, we want to thank you for having taken time to share your everlasting experiences with us and other prospective guests in the internet. We are excited to know that we exceeded your expectations, and you are looking forward to coming back. Your feedback and loyalty demonstrate... More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel has a couple of great things going for it. Its proximity to the beach, the fact that it’s not in Destin (avoid crowds) and two great pools. The reason it does not get much better ratings is because although the staff is friendly they don’t have a high standard of service. I’m not a germaphobe but the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Tracey; Thanks for your business, and the time which you took to share your stay experience with us. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you were subject to. Our hotel is in the green program. We put reuse linen signs on all the beds and towel racks. Nonetheless, we change them based on guest' s request during their... More 

Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would like to say first off Cameron at the Front DESK is AWESOME...... There was 4 of us that went to Florida and we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Resort and oh it was awesome.... It was the best girl weekend EVER...... The room was nice and the balcony was awesome the best part was the slide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear Ladies; We would like to thank you all for having chosen our hotel as your getaway spot from all the choices that were available to you. Addittionally, we want to thank you for taking time to share with other guests the wonderful experiences that you had here. Indeed, we feel fortunate to have the opportunity to host you. We... More 

Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel staff were great- location and beach great- tiki bar & staff awesome- water was wonderful! hotel grounds good but they - and rooms, need work. Old, not as clean as Expected, overall a bit neglected. Friends had room there too and felt the same. Overall loved the vacation at beach but may check out another hotel next time unless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our valued Guest; Thank you for taking time to share your stay expereince with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you may notice, before your review, we had a complaint regarding our renovation project and hot water. Therefore, in replying to your survey, we would like you to know we are in the process of... More 

Blue Springs
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

No hot water for 5 days. We had a first floor room. They said they would change rooms for us. Why? So we could be inconvienced more? NO. They offered only to reimburse us half price and only for 3 days. The food at the restaurant was awful.We had 2 grkids with us, one on crutches. the next to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest; First, we would like to thank you for the business and the time spent to fill out the survey for us. As we started our guest room renovations, during the process there have been some inconveviences, which we are addressing to minimize any disturbance caused by the project. Since we have four buildings, we have learned... More 

Orlando
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been staying in the Ft. Walton Beach area for 2 weeks out of every month this year since May. I've stayed at this property twice before this most recent stay. The other times, the property was average. Nothing spectacular nor abysmal. This most recent stay however was probably the worst experience I have had at a hotel either for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our loyal guest; We appreciate you took time to share these issues again wth us. We would like to express our apologies again for the inconvenience. We wish you accepted our service recovery offer. We are refreshing the property to make it more enjoyable.You are right about the renovaion timing. Nonethelesss, the best time to do this project is... More 

Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at this resort on my first trip ever to Florida in early August and loved it! We had a bit of an issue checking in - we drove 12 hours overnight and ended up arriving earlier than planned and requested an early check-in. I work at a Holiday Inn so I knew this was not guaranteed and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest; We really appreciate you took some of your precious time to share your stay experiences with us and other prospective and repeat guests. Additionally, we are honored to host you during your vacation here in Fort Walton Beach. Yet, we apologize for not having been able to check you in by 4:00 PM. On the other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

501 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (330)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
East Pool (33)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (51)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Standard King Beachfront Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)
Viewed
West Pool (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay