We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Matador

909 Santa Rosa Blvd., Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
El Matador
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room on 12 January for 14 April since that time, there has been a change of plans. Today I called to cancel the room, it has been exactly 14 days since I booked. I was informed, the DO NOT have a cancellation policy and if they can't rebook the room I will not get a refund (200.00... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We offer travel insurance to all of our guests to protect their investment should they need to cancel. You chose to decline that insurance. We also go a step further and offer to refund $200.00 of the $250.00 for the guests that do not purchase the travel insurance if the... More 

Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my family have went here many times on and off through the years and we are always pleased with the rooms and prices. The grounds are nice and well manicured.The hotel is at the end of Santa Rosa Blvd. so you have the whole end of the beach to yourselves!

Helpful?
Thank tashatrip
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Fun was had by all- we had a group of 18, ages 5 to 65! Check in was easy. The beach was awesome, weather was great, and the water was clear with one day of a little seaweed. The umbrella and chair rental guy did take up most of the beachfront, so we ventured over to the vacant land next... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank arhutt78
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Trenton, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

My family and I had a wonderful time here, two pools on the property, beach front access, the condo we stayed in was well supplied and kept up wonderfully... If we can ever make it back to Fort Walton we will be staying here. Front desk people were wonderful and friendly, fast and easy key pickup. Also they have security... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Traveler80
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was our pleasure to provide your accommodations and we are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation!! More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

It is a very beautiful, clean place with a gorgeous view of the white sand beach and crystal clear ocean water. What makes that place really great is the outstanding management. Ms. Lori and her staff are very sweet and takes care of any issue right away. I can't appreciate them enough; they made my vacation with my family wonderful.The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank olivia L
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation and that we will have the pleasure of providing you and your family's accommodations the next time you visit our area. We look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

conway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

El Matador has an active sea turtle nest located on its beach and is still using white lights on its building. Please ask them to change to turtle safe lighting so that when these endangered sea turtle babies hatch, they go to the ocean and not to the parking lot where they will die. It's such an easy way to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank eilish p
Jacksonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

Our condo was exactly like the pictures.The beds were very comfortable.The kitchen was great had everything we needed to cook with.Just buy napkins and laundry soap.The grounds were clean and the staff was courteous.The beach had seaweed but we drove to destin and enjoyed the beach there.Definitely recommend this condominium.

Helpful?
1 Thank maurta
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Southern Vacation Rental services is very bad. The 1st night there I haven't hard time can find anyone help me. We never could get the door works. I have left at least 3 messages but no one respond my phone calls. I have to call them back at 7am to complain about it. The guy come over to fix but... More 

Helpful?
Thank van w
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to review your unit. We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with an "off-site" manager. We just wanted to let you know that we have our own rental office on-site that makes it convenient for you if any issues arise during your stay. We hope that you will give us the... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Beautifully beach decorated comfortable 2bdrm condo! All appliances, utensils, bedding provided! Our family had the best time! Mornings with coffee and walking the quiet beach! Lunchtime out of the cooler under umbrella with chairs on the sugar white sand! Enough sun by 2:00 heading to the pool to cool down! Then ready to site see the Island and hunt a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank she573
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your unit. We are so happy that you had a great time and look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in appartment 237 it was clean. It can use a new lock and door knob we had a hard time trying to get into the apartment .the sofa sleeper was REALLY BAD you can feel the iron bars in your back that's how bad the sleeper sofa was, so bad we had to go to Walmart to purchase... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
#6 of 18 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay