We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shipwreck Motel

237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Shipwreck Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    47
    18
    13
    20
See reviews for
30
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only spent one night here kind of last minute but the staff at the Shipwreck were so helpful they gave us a great rate for being a walk up, usually you book online for the best rate. The room was perfect. Clean with all the amenities youd need for a longer stay...fridge, microwave, coffee maker the usual kitchen supplies.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our Motel. We certainly hope that you do have the opportunity to come back.....and SOON!! We appreciate you taking your valuable time to write this. More 

Matteson, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked into Shipwreck on Aug. 10, 2015. Noticed this was a bit dated but doable. As I looked around I noticed tears and cigarette burns on bedspreads. I informed owner and showed her so not to get charged. Got ready went to dinner. Came back was sitting talking with guests as they started to get bites on their arms. Tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all........good and bad. We are sorry that you had a problem with the linens on your bed. We have been working with our supply companies on how to improve our laundry products. And, we have even assigned a staff member a special project to improve laundry procedures, overall room cleanliness and maintainence. This... More 

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cleaning staff great Daisy and Rose were wonderful!! Jay in the motel office could not have been nicer , she is a sweetheart!. But Christine in the motel office could not have been ruder !!!!!!!! . She should be put somewhere she doesn't have to deal with public . At least with women ,her attitude is different towards men try's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our motel and staff. It was also kind of you to name names, so that those who deserve a pat on the back will know. As far as Christine goes, I can only hope that her attitude was mistaken. Christine is a very conscientious and caring person. We have never had a... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for a weekend getaway and was very impressed with the location, cleanliness, and staff. The rooms are also equipped with a stove, refrigerator, and microwave. You are within walking distance to all of the restaurants and the beach. I would absolutely recommend this motel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review! We appreciate your comments, especially about the staff. We are all working hard to make the Shipwreck a great place to stay. More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For local Floridians in summertime, this place is a great getaway. Rates are fair, the location can't be beat, and everyone working there is helpful. Yes, the place is on the older side, but the facilities are well maintained. It is also nice, sometimes, to stay somewhere that DOES seem like it's from a different era, rather than a modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Very kind remarks. We are aware of the wifi problem. We have just recently added this service. Unfortunately, the antenna is not strong enough and we have plans to add another one. Thanks again for taking your time to review our motel! More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Shipwreck on a whim not really knowing what to expect...but we were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. Great location for bars in FMB and great atmosphere. If you are looking for a cheap, fun place to stay this is it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Shipwreck Motel. We are so happy that you chose us to stay with and that you enjoyed yourselves while here. Please come back again soon! More 

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

nice comfortable room with wifi, located in the heart of ft Myers beach area. Nice ambiance, right on the bay-- clean, with decent rates. You have to go inside a store to be able to rent a room so it may be a little difficult to find. People were very nice and helpful. You'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your taking the time to say such nice things about our Motel. We sure hope you will come back again. More 

Struthers, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The Shipwreck Motel is an amazing place to stay if you are not expecting the Ritz. I fully expected an older property. It is. But for my three nights at the Beach, it proved to be clean and well cared for. Equipped with a full size refridgerator and microwave, with plates and pots & pans if you want to cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Shipwreck Motel. It's Guests like yourself that make us feel great about what we do. Thank-you from the entire staff!! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I absolutely loved this place. It has a island laid back feel about it and is close to everything you would want to be near . Cristine checked us in and was super, our room was clean and our bed comfortable, both of the pools were nice . I will be staying here again for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We love to see our guests enjoy themselves! Come back soon :) More 

North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

clean beachy motel, 1 block from Times Square & the beach, plenty of parking, arrived early and they went out of their way to get our room ready, allowed us to park while we waited for room and told us to use the pool if we like

Was this review helpful? Yes
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments! We strive to accommodate early arrivals to the best of our ability. We are lucky to have such a great housekeeping staff to work with. Looking forward to seeing you again soon :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#17 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
3.7 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#29 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#12 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#19 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
#27 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holiday Court
The Holiday Court
#18 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay