We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
lmbcrna Erie, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    124
    34
    22
    15
See reviews for
124
192
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I stayed here in February. We asked for 2 rooms next to each other or close by when we booked 3 months ahead. and were assured we would be accommodated. We were surprised to find our rooms were not even on the same floor. After some discussion, we were given 2 rooms on the same floor, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow, We had 35 rooms here for my class reunion; which was nearby. A special thank you to Shazmann the director of sales, Miguel and all the staff for taking care of my classmates. Planning a large group reunion. Perfect place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and just returned this past Monday. It was our 3rd time traveling to Fort Myers. Our first stay was on Fort Myers Beach and the 2nd time we stayed closer to the airport. This location was in between the previous 2. Check In: Staff very friendly and efficient Room: Furnished with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'll start by saying this is my first time at a Candlewood Suites hotel so I wasn't aware that it is geared toward extended stays. At least this one is. As such, I was advised on check in that housekeeping only services the room once a week so as we were staying 2 nights our room would not be serviced.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Horncastle Lincolnshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have just spent 5 very enjoyable days here. The staff are amazing and nothing is to much trouble. The room we had included a full kitchen with all the pots /pans utensils etc any one could require. A very peaceful hotel,ideally situated for all the local Fort Myers beaches. Sanibell island 10 miles Captiva 16 miles away. (bridge toll $6)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

From all outward appearances this hotel seems quite suitable. We were late arriving so it was well after dark when we checked in. There were numerous intoxicated individuals in the parking lot, one of whom accosted my wife. Alcohol bottles littered the grounds. Our room smelled of stale cigarettes, mildew, and animal. Upon going down to complain we found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have had the absolute best service while we have been staying at the Candlewood Suites in Ft. Myers. We seem to have had a lot of unusual problems while we have been here - car problems, special requests of one thing or another - things that usually don't happen at hotels where we require so much help from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to stay here due to an emergency. Called from the hospital. They found me a room, but when I got there I did not get what I agreed to. Very disappointed and charged $75 extra for my 5lb Maltese to stay with me. We were there for less than 12 hours!!! Room was ok. Just frustrated with the girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review. We value everyone's review, so that we can try to make each stay better for everyone. I am sorry that your room upon check in was not what you had reserved. We try to honor all of our guests reservations and requests. I am sorry to hear that you were not told ahead... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Free washer and dryers, friendly staff, free movie and toaster oven check outs, comfortable and clean rooms- couldn't ask for more, especially for the price. Also, in the morning check out the lights over the high school track and you'll likely see bald eagles perched atop one of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While this is a clean hotel...it would qualify as sufficient. I would never spend an entire vacation here. Suite is beneficial...micro and fridge . Small room. No breakfast offered. Ten min drive to the beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our property. As a Candlewood Extended Stay hotel we do not have a restaurant on site, we provide a full Kitchenette in all of our rooms, and provide each room with cooking utensils in order to make breakfast. We also have our Candlewood Cupboard located next to the Front... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question