We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
A recent review
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    131
    34
    22
    15
See reviews for
127
198
37
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (477)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Candlewoods Suites for the first time. Location was great for what we were planning to do. Staff was excellent and room and amenities were what we were hoping for. We are platinum members of the IHG rewards club and the value for our four days was great. Only drawback was were we given a handicap room without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

House hunting brought us to Florida and we stayed here for two weeks. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Grounds and hotel were neat and clean. Great pool and a pond with a big alligator as well! Be aware that this is a self service hotel, you need to exchange your own towels and take your garbage out. Trash receptacles are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all of our guests voices... We are excited to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our free amenities...like our Lending Locker that has beach items for loan for free. We hope that even though you have probably purchased a... More 

Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice quiet location, updated property, small pool and outdoor BBQ grills. Don't stay here if you want activity. Quiet and a little out of the way. Great price compared to other lodging on the beach. 15 minutes drive to Ft. Myers Beach or Sanibel at half the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review!! We appreciate all of our reviews. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our free amenities while you were here!! Our grills & gazebo area next to the pool are a wonderful place to relax after a long day at the beach!!... More 

Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I accompanied my wife to Fort Meyers,Florida. She was attending a hotel business conference at a nearby hotel so we checked in at the Candelwood Suites which is a IHC brand. Service was good,pick up your towels at the front desk. Good wifi t,v. I had a chance to explore Fort Meyers gateway to Sanibel Island. Visited this area in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

David Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all of our guest comments. We were pleased to hear that you and your wife were able to enjoy your stay with us during your recent visit. Hopefully next time you are in the area you decide to stay with us and are able to take advantage... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the pleasure of booking a room at this property for one night, as we were in the area to take in the sights over at Sanibel Island and Captiva. If you're considering visiting the area and want an affordable option with convenient amenities, choose this property and you won't be disappointed! The entire Fort Myers area (especially Sanibel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review!! We appreciate all the feedback. We look forward to being your favorite Hotel in Fort Myers!! Come Back and see you again!! Danielle Property Manager Candlewood Suites Sanibel Gateway More 

Tamarac, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall my wife and I had a great stay in a one bedroom suite (room #334) at this property. I'll start with two negatives we encountered. The water pressure was low in the shower and the pool onsite was not heated. Now for the positives EVERYTHING ELSE!! Great location: Just over 10 minutes away from the Toll Plaza for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

David - Thank you for your recent review! We apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I wish you would have let us know about the water pressure during your stay, we would of immediately fixed the flow valve on your shower head. They have regulators for water conservation on them and can be turned off if someone... More 

Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent eight nights at Candlewood Suites. We wanted convenient access to the beaches of Sanibel and Captiva but did not want to spend too much for our motel. This motel was reasonably priced and provided easy access to the beaches. The room was spacious with a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, sink, glasses, dishes, flatware etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Bob Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us!! We here at the Candlewood Suites strive to treat our guests like family, and it sounds like from your review we hit it on the head!! Awesome job to my staff!! We hope that next time you come to the area you get to take advantage of... More 

Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here in February. We asked for 2 rooms next to each other or close by when we booked 3 months ahead. and were assured we would be accommodated. We were surprised to find our rooms were not even on the same floor. After some discussion, we were given 2 rooms on the same floor, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every review and use them to improve our guest’s experience. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to some of your expectations. As part of IHG extended stay property that values our guest’s privacy we do not go into our guest’s rooms daily, unless the guest requests service... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wow, We had 35 rooms here for my class reunion; which was nearby. A special thank you to Shazmann the director of sales, Miguel and all the staff for taking care of my classmates. Planning a large group reunion. Perfect place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your groups stay!! It was a pleasure having your entire group stay with us!! We hope that you continue to think of us for any occasion requiring hotel accommodations or meeting space!! Danielle Property Manager Candlewood Suites Sanibel Gateway More 

new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and just returned this past Monday. It was our 3rd time traveling to Fort Myers. Our first stay was on Fort Myers Beach and the 2nd time we stayed closer to the airport. This location was in between the previous 2. Check In: Staff very friendly and efficient Room: Furnished with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TeamCandlewood, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!! We were excited to see you were able to take advantage of some of our free amenities. We look forward to wowing you on your next stay!! Danielle Property Manager Candlewood Suites Sanibel Gateway More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay