We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Fort Lauderdale hotels

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2.0 of 5 Resort   |   529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tropic Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
21%
Ranked #125 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    43
    36
    177
See reviews for
75
93
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
taoal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Flew in on Aug 13th had reservations with the Tropic Cay, room was clean, just aged, tough to deal with sand water all the time. WI fi was poor to no use at all. Cell phone service from Verizon was poor to no service at all inside, that is not Tropic Cays fault. Nice and close to the beach was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a positive feedback. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a good value at an amazing location, please do come back again and ask for the Managers Special. More

Amherst, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have been traveling to Fort Lauderdale on and off throughout the past 50 years. This past week we stopped in the Tropic Cay outside bar for a cocktail and I was shocked. This place used to be the place that the pool and pool bar were always packed with people and this time it was filthy. The bathrooms you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bar Patron, we think this bar is still a great place to have a drink and enjoy the music and people, please do come back again. We are disappointed that you found the public bathroom/area not tidy and you shouldn't have to experience that. We sincerely apologize and we appreciate for letting us know More

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

disgusting, was not able to stay with the family. this should be closed out by the sanitation department. they charged for one night knowing we were not staying. pictures are not current. falling apart building, dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are disappointed that you did not find the public bathrooms clean, etc. We are a small independent hotel providing a cost effective stay on the beach and will ensure we correct the problem. We always encourage our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns. Thank you for providing your feedback More

Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

If I would not have seen it, I would not believe it. There are public bathrooms much more clean than any part of this hotel. Do not understand how the Florida health department has not closed this establishment down. Please do not book here! Mold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for providing your feedback and encourage any guest to speak to the manager with their concerns to ensure we correct the problem. Please accept our apologies. More

Wellington, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location of this place is amazing... Perfect, but yes there is a but. It needs a lot of work. One I wouldn't even touch the stove in the place it was so nasty. 2. Bar and pool great idea, but not great for families staying there. The noise was loud, people were out of hand. We had people knocking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, we do agree the location is perfect, and we offer a great price for the budget minded consumer. We encourage our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns, and do apologize if any of our staff was not at their 100% best. Thanks again for your honest and balanced feedback, it is greatly appreciated, and hope... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

There is no parking, hotel (if I can call it that) is filthy. We had to sleep in our clothes, I think a motel is better then this. Spend extra money and stay somewhere nicer. There Is one positive, it's right across from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. Parking is indeed limited in this area and we apologize for your inconvenience. We encourage our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns during their stay. Thank you for providing your feedback. More

South Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Room had black mold on ceiling, shower shot water all over the place... Had a super loud window ac unit, and it blew back into the hallway. So hallway was like 120 degrees when you stepped out, and it was hard to sleep at night because curtains did not close all of the way and light poured in. Parking was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. Parking is indeed limited in this area and we apologize for your inconvenience. The location is ideal and the accommodations is right for the budget but understand sometimes things don't go right, so we encourage all of our guest to speak to the manager with... More

Orlando
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Angelica at the front desk made arrival and departure very smooth. She was friendly and helpful. The pool bar there is fun. Nadya is a fun bartender. The ocean is in plain view from the pool bar and the beach is just across the road. The location is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Fantastic, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay, thank you for positive feedback. The location is ideal and the accommodations are just right for the budget. Please enjoy a drink on us next time. We are striving to make it even better. More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was a good hotel if you wanted to love to weak up early and love to walk on the beach long distance to walk for restaurant they have one two blocks but usually is very busy , there is not around the good part is you can go to the beach any time you want , precious , gorgeous,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Great, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay, thank you for positive feedback. The location is ideal and the accommodations are just right for the budget. Please enjoy a drink on us next time. We are striving to make it even better. The next time you’re in town, ask for our Managers Specials, and once again thank... More

Gambrills, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are no words to convey the level of filth and disrepair that has descended on this property. The ceiling in our bathroom had collapsed, none of the doors fit correctly without major brute force and everything is at least 40 moldy years old. Our room near the pool/bar was extremely loud til very late, but that was minor compared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to fill out a review regarding our hotel. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and please note that we are in the process of updating the hotel. Best regards, Deanne Babwah General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tropic Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropic Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Address: 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Cay Beach Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Tropic Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Cay Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Tropic Cay Beach
Tropic Cay Beach Resort Hotel

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Fort Lauderdale with
any amenities