We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Fort Lauderdale hotels

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2.0 of 5 Resort   |   529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel amenities
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #125 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    44
    36
    182
See reviews for
77
95
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

People at the reception are rude and have no idea about customer service . The room is a disaster smells,dirty, the bathroom is disgusting I was waiting three hours after I checked for somebody bring towels to my room .The bar next to the pool the music is so loud that I was awake to 3 in the morning The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It's directly across from a beautiful blue water beach. The staff at this hotel have terrible customer service skills. We prepaid for our room for 2 nights and then we get to the hotel and are refused check in because we didn't have 100 dollars for a deposit on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Circleville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I should have taken pictures... you won't believe me without them. If you go to the website for this hotel, the pictures depict a very nice room with granite counter tops, a clean and fully equipped kitchen, and a welcoming paint job. Well... not the case at all. First, the keys they gave us didn't even fit our door. Yes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Great Location, 100 feet from the sand, bed to beach! A three story older building. If you're looking for "turn down service" and chocolates on the pillow each night ... you have the wrong place. I was there for work / vacation, perfect place. The staff is always nice and do the best they can with the and rain. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The first room they gave us wasn't made yet, the second room was down the end and the hall smelled like puke (it was in back of the bar) the third room was on the second floor and had a nice view. the ceiling was broken and plaster was all over the window sill and floor. the T V had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
taoal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Flew in on Aug 13th had reservations with the Tropic Cay, room was clean, just aged, tough to deal with sand water all the time. WI fi was poor to no use at all. Cell phone service from Verizon was poor to no service at all inside, that is not Tropic Cays fault. Nice and close to the beach was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a positive feedback. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a good value at an amazing location, please do come back again and ask for the Managers Special. More

Amherst, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have been traveling to Fort Lauderdale on and off throughout the past 50 years. This past week we stopped in the Tropic Cay outside bar for a cocktail and I was shocked. This place used to be the place that the pool and pool bar were always packed with people and this time it was filthy. The bathrooms you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bar Patron, we think this bar is still a great place to have a drink and enjoy the music and people, please do come back again. We are disappointed that you found the public bathroom/area not tidy and you shouldn't have to experience that. We sincerely apologize and we appreciate for letting us know More

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

disgusting, was not able to stay with the family. this should be closed out by the sanitation department. they charged for one night knowing we were not staying. pictures are not current. falling apart building, dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are disappointed that you did not find the public bathrooms clean, etc. We are a small independent hotel providing a cost effective stay on the beach and will ensure we correct the problem. We always encourage our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns. Thank you for providing your feedback More

Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

If I would not have seen it, I would not believe it. There are public bathrooms much more clean than any part of this hotel. Do not understand how the Florida health department has not closed this establishment down. Please do not book here! Mold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for providing your feedback and encourage any guest to speak to the manager with their concerns to ensure we correct the problem. Please accept our apologies. More

Wellington, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location of this place is amazing... Perfect, but yes there is a but. It needs a lot of work. One I wouldn't even touch the stove in the place it was so nasty. 2. Bar and pool great idea, but not great for families staying there. The noise was loud, people were out of hand. We had people knocking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, we do agree the location is perfect, and we offer a great price for the budget minded consumer. We encourage our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns, and do apologize if any of our staff was not at their 100% best. Thanks again for your honest and balanced feedback, it is greatly appreciated, and hope... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropic Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Address: 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Cay Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropic Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Cay Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Tropic Cay Beach
Tropic Cay Beach Resort Hotel

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay