We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2.0 of 5 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    45
    38
    185
See reviews for
78
95
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (321)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

was accurately reported in the other reviews but I won't, apart from saying that when so many people have a problem, the reader should pay attention. I will relay one incident that stuck with me though: One evening a big picture in a glass frame just fell off the wall out of the blue. I went down to the desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You are definitely paying for being across the street from the ocean and nothing else. The building in general is desperately in need of repairs and updating. There are three floors and no elevator (My room was on the third floor so I had to schlep my luggage up three floors). My room was an absolute shock: the paint was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Besides Ft. Lauderdale hotels charging way too much as a whole, this one wouldn't even honor their own coupon for the lower, non-holiday rate. The 'clerk' informed me that, "Christmas Eve is a holiday!" USPS running? Yes = non-holiday. Asked to check in early and had to wait until exactly 3:00 PM even though the room was already clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I dont know why they say the staff was rude i mean i've stayed at this hotel like 3 times and Angelika at the front desk was super nice to me and even remembered me the second and third time. i noticed she was having a tough day getting bombarded she was still courteous from what i saw but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This "on the Beach" motel is in sorry need of restoration! It is shabby, dirty and a staff that acts like you are an inmate checking in....def recommend that you pass this place by! They charge over $200 per night and I wouldn't give them $50...and the pool looks dirty too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

What a crap hole of a place. Pictures must be from 1980, cause this place was not to far from needing a stick of dynamite. Pay the extra $ and stay some place else. Drinks are way over price. No coffee in the room. The ac was so loud. 6 channels on the tv. Tile floors, paint chipping off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. Rooms are budget room, and we have the best prices at the Bar, nevertheless you experience was not acceptable, so for that we apologize for your inconvenience. The location is ideal and the accommodations is right for the budget but understand sometimes things don't go... More 

Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

People at the reception are rude and have no idea about customer service . The room is a disaster smells,dirty, the bathroom is disgusting I was waiting three hours after I checked for somebody bring towels to my room .The bar next to the pool the music is so loud that I was awake to 3 in the morning The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we understand sometimes things don't go right. The location is ideal and the accommodations are right for the budget but we like to hear from our guest when they stay here and speak to the manager with their concerns. Thanks again for your fair review and we are striving to make it even better.. Please accept our sincere... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It's directly across from a beautiful blue water beach. The staff at this hotel have terrible customer service skills. We prepaid for our room for 2 nights and then we get to the hotel and are refused check in because we didn't have 100 dollars for a deposit on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaterfrontInns, Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. Parking is indeed limited in this area and we apologize for your inconvenience. The location is ideal and the accommodations is right for the budget but understand sometimes things don't go right, so we encourage all of our guest to speak to the manager with... More 

Circleville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I should have taken pictures... you won't believe me without them. If you go to the website for this hotel, the pictures depict a very nice room with granite counter tops, a clean and fully equipped kitchen, and a welcoming paint job. Well... not the case at all. First, the keys they gave us didn't even fit our door. Yes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we encourage all of our guest to speak to the manager with their concerns during their stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Thank you for providing your feedback and we are disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Great Location, 100 feet from the sand, bed to beach! A three story older building. If you're looking for "turn down service" and chocolates on the pillow each night ... you have the wrong place. I was there for work / vacation, perfect place. The staff is always nice and do the best they can with the and rain. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Fantastic, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay, thank you for positive feedback. The location is ideal and the accommodations are just right for the budget. Please enjoy a drink on us next time. We are striving to make it even better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropic Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Address: 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Cay Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropic Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Cay Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Tropic Cay Beach
Tropic Cay Beach Resort Hotel
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay