We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

3.5 of 5 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    85
    23
    17
    9
See reviews for
5
232
155
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (567)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (165)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You may notice that last time I reviewed this place I was happy. Not so much this time. I'd put most of that dissatisfaction on the snarky guy at the front desk. We had requested early check in. I get it their busy, sometimes it doesn't happen. But there was no sense that he was trying, even when he said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is my third stay at the Royal Palms. Other reviewers have bemoaned the fact that there has been a shift from "all gay / clothing optional" to "all welcoming." The transition has occurred over the past 24-30 months and appears to be something of a trend here. Despite the change the clientele is still predominantly gay with a smattering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed twice at this hotel, both times in February 2015 both times for short stays. At first I was a bit nervous after seeing the latest reviews but turns out I was more than satisfied with the place; enough to come back a week after... I stayed in two different rooms, both were clean and very comfortable. I preferred... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Less and less attention on quality and service and more on their own profits. More attention on the thin skin and less on the strong bones of understanding the hospitality industry. Stay at a gay owned and operated hotel. It literally is like waking up in Ikea. Cheap Cheap Cheap

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Harvard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looked great from the website. On arrival greeted by a very pleasant front desk worker named Lenny. Room was dreadful. Reeked of mild and mildew. We were offered to turn on the dehumidifier. Tried to go with the flow. The mattress so soft you sank into it and rolled to the middle. Sheets didn't fit so they popped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Clifton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I 've stayed at this guesthouse for the past 5 years and did not review the web page since I booked it last year before I checked out .I'll start with the good news the new GM Brian still is welcoming and helpful ,The front office agent is the best thing they have going lenny goes out of his way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Barre
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented this hotel for a pre-RSVP cruise accommodation. As we rented late we didn't expect much in the way of choices but luckily, Royal Palms was available! The ease of reserving was typical, and when we arrived we were greeted warmly and promptly, and checked in professionally. The room itself was white, spartan and clean, albeit a little well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming place, front desk personnel very nice and helpful. Bartender nice and made great drinks. Rooms clean and spacesious and modern. The art 😳 different! Few blocks from the beach, walking distance. No extra charge for Parking

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am also very disappointed in the changes that are being made. I didn't notice the most recent changes to the website stating it was an adult only hotel. It was previously an all gay male hotel, last year the site said gay friendly, and now it states "all inclusive adult hotel". The big gay flag is missing from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Jamesteroh, We were sad to read your review. We are human friendly, accepting adults of all types. While we never had a gay flag hanging outside, we appreciate your suggestion of hanging the the red Royal Palms flag again. You are correct that it may help late travelers find this boutique hotel. The ownership of Royal Palms has not changed... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel just keeps getting worse and worse. When we have stayed here in the past, it was an all-gay hotel. Not so anymore. Apparently, it's under new management and the hotel is now "Gay-Friendly" but not all gay. The beds remain uncomfortable. The rooms are disproportionally large compared to the tiny, you-can-barely-move-around-in-them bathrooms. There is ample hanging space and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale

216 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay