We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Fort Lauderdale hotels

Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3808
Hotel amenities
Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
10%
Ranked #126 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    10
    15
    27
See reviews for
14
12
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Kissimmee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It not might be a 5 star hotel, but it is a place to stay while traveling , it's affordable if you don't have much money. Hope they can make some upgrades in the new future. I will visit it again just for the economical prices

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Stephens Church, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I would think that Red Rood would remove this Hotel from their chain. Very seedy and dumpy. I could have sworn that I saw rat droppings in the hall way! They have a lot of weekly rentals and monthly rentals. Very smelly and dirty. You are better off staying in your car!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that we do not have rats or mice and that he have monthly pest control that sprays our rooms and around our building. We do have... More

Kingsland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The building must be very old as it needs lots of repairs. They told me the last time - they were going to fix all the problems soon. (I have stayed there a number of times because of the location.) They workers there are very nice and help with everything. I do miss not having something for breakfast - however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Merton, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear my outstanding staff made you feel comfortable. Yes we are in the middle of updating our property by putting in new TVs, new carpet, new beds, new tubs, new furniture, and much more. Thank you again and we hope... More

Ansonia, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night so I can go on a cruise. It smelled like mold and the A/C didn't work. The same people that was hanging out in the lobby and pool on the first day was there when we got off the cruise. Come to find out a lot of the people staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy either of your stays with us. We do have several out of state construction crews staying with us at this time but they are our only long term guests at the moment. We hope you will... More

Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Upon arrival, the old looking lobby looks unaccommodating, maybe even a little trashy. However, don't let that fool you. The hotel has outside hallways, and we encountered some interesting smells on the way to our room. Once inside, we were pleasantly surprised. The room had recently been redesigned, was modern and very clean. The floors were tile and spotless. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our rooms. We do have plans on rolling out a free onsite breakfast in the near future and hope you will come back to see all of the updated we have done. More

Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had reservations for one night only July 9 - 10, 2014. Upon checking in, I was given a key for the 2nd floor and upon entering the room, the bed appeared as if someone had slept in it and there was a Soda can on the side table. I went downstairs to the reception and was given another room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us as your son did a few days ago (see below). As I told him in my last response we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are a pet friendly hotel so unfortunately we are going to have pets in... More

Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked this hotel for a one night trip July9-10 2014. Based on the internet photos and a previous stay at another, very well kept Red Roof Inn, I chose this hotel. Before I get in to the absolutely horrendous experience, let me say that the Front desk clerk was extremely nice and made every effort to accommodate us. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent time with us. I am extremely sorry to hear that we did not live up to your or our standards. We are in the process of repainting the entire hotel from room walls to doors to hallways as well as replacing the carpet, bedding, and... More

Oakland Park, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've worked a lot of hotel/motel chains before, but this is the worst place I've ever been in!! The ppl who make this place their "home", HAVE NO RESPECT for the common traveler! There were adults yelling and kids screaming up and down the hallway till one in the morning! These ppl also violated a health ordinance by letting their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to first inform you that any guest caught allowing their pet in our pool is immediately kicked out. We would also like to inform you that we have changed our policy of check in where a guest needs a valid credit... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were there for a long week-end the first week of January; 1/2/14 - 1/7/14- for a wedding in the area. Very centrally located for getting around via rental car. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. While hotel is a "non-smoking" establishment; it would be hard to believe based on the smoke in the room and the halls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I would like to update you on the changes that have occurred to our property since your stay in January. To start, I am the new General Manager and have been here since March 1st. Since I have arrived we have replaced... More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The customer service was awful. The lady at the front desk started a fight with me when I asked to speak to a manger because of her attitude. I found dirty panties in my room along with bugs. And there are hoodlums that hang out in the lobby all day and night that we're harassing me as I was checking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I am extremely sorry to hear your experience did not live up to your expectations or ours. I am going to address my FD staff about this immediately. Our property is about to undergo a major renovation starting in June, we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale

Address: 4800 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3808
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale 1.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay