We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Fort Lauderdale hotels

Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3808
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
11%
Ranked #126 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
  • Overview
  • Reviews (52)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    14
    24
See reviews for
13
11
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for one night so I can go on a cruise. It smelled like mold and the A/C didn't work. The same people that was hanging out in the lobby and pool on the first day was there when we got off the cruise. Come to find out a lot of the people staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy either of your stays with us. We do have several out of state construction crews staying with us at this time but they are our only long term guests at the moment. We hope you will... More

Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival, the old looking lobby looks unaccommodating, maybe even a little trashy. However, don't let that fool you. The hotel has outside hallways, and we encountered some interesting smells on the way to our room. Once inside, we were pleasantly surprised. The room had recently been redesigned, was modern and very clean. The floors were tile and spotless. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our rooms. We do have plans on rolling out a free onsite breakfast in the near future and hope you will come back to see all of the updated we have done. More

Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had reservations for one night only July 9 - 10, 2014. Upon checking in, I was given a key for the 2nd floor and upon entering the room, the bed appeared as if someone had slept in it and there was a Soda can on the side table. I went downstairs to the reception and was given another room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us as your son did a few days ago (see below). As I told him in my last response we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are a pet friendly hotel so unfortunately we are going to have pets in... More

Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a one night trip July9-10 2014. Based on the internet photos and a previous stay at another, very well kept Red Roof Inn, I chose this hotel. Before I get in to the absolutely horrendous experience, let me say that the Front desk clerk was extremely nice and made every effort to accommodate us. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent time with us. I am extremely sorry to hear that we did not live up to your or our standards. We are in the process of repainting the entire hotel from room walls to doors to hallways as well as replacing the carpet, bedding, and... More

Oakland Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've worked a lot of hotel/motel chains before, but this is the worst place I've ever been in!! The ppl who make this place their "home", HAVE NO RESPECT for the common traveler! There were adults yelling and kids screaming up and down the hallway till one in the morning! These ppl also violated a health ordinance by letting their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to first inform you that any guest caught allowing their pet in our pool is immediately kicked out. We would also like to inform you that we have changed our policy of check in where a guest needs a valid credit... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were there for a long week-end the first week of January; 1/2/14 - 1/7/14- for a wedding in the area. Very centrally located for getting around via rental car. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. While hotel is a "non-smoking" establishment; it would be hard to believe based on the smoke in the room and the halls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I would like to update you on the changes that have occurred to our property since your stay in January. To start, I am the new General Manager and have been here since March 1st. Since I have arrived we have replaced... More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The customer service was awful. The lady at the front desk started a fight with me when I asked to speak to a manger because of her attitude. I found dirty panties in my room along with bugs. And there are hoodlums that hang out in the lobby all day and night that we're harassing me as I was checking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I am extremely sorry to hear your experience did not live up to your expectations or ours. I am going to address my FD staff about this immediately. Our property is about to undergo a major renovation starting in June, we... More

Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've had a better image of Red Roof hotel chain. Was surprised to see the quality of the facility and rooms. Upon arrival they gave us a room that smelled like urine. The electric connections were not in friendly place. TV, microwave and refrigerator did not work properly. The blanket was full of cigarette holes. This building need to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I am extremely sorry your stay did not live up to your or our expectations. While we are about to start a major renovation here in the next couple of weeks that doesn't excuse so of the issues you mentioned. I... More

Douglas, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

"Extended Stay" Guests were hanging out in the lobby. Hallway to our room smelled of urine. Changed rooms due to cable not working. Room was clean and smoke free but smelled a strong odor of "weed" from the hallway. Kids were playing on the elevator and running down the hallway with no parental supervision. We had to call for an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan H, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My name is Jonathan and I am the new General Manager of this property so your feedback is very valuable to me as we try to improve our services. We are about to undergo a major renovation in which we will be changing out... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in another Red Roof Inn before, and couldn't believe that this was the same hotel chain. Upon arrival, there were people outside arguing, blasting music on their phones, and smoking cigarettes right next to the door. My room smelled like old cigarettes and pot (although the place is supposed to be smoke free)The pool was old and filthy,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jonathan H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review us here on TripAdvisor. My name is Jonathan Humphries, the new General Manager. I have been here for a little over a month now and we have made some large strives forward as we are about to undergo a major renovation. I will be speaking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale

Address: 4800 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3808
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and enjoy fun in the sun! Just minutes from the cruise port (so convenient when you're going on a cruise), Ft. Lauderdale beaches, 1 mile from the Executive Airport, 8 miles from Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and 4 miles from Sawgrass Mills Mall, the Red Roof Fort Lauderdale is also 2 miles from Lockhart Stadium, 9 miles from Broward County Convention Center, and 10 miles from Port Everglades. The Isle Casino and racetrack only 3 miles away. Conveniently located off of I-95, this 4-story interior corridor hotel offers a sparkling outdoor swimming pool & prices that are as relaxing as your stay. Newly renovated rooms. Free parking, free internet access. Pets welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
104

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer