We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Special Offer
Save 10% + 500 bonus pts!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
See the most recent reviews
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Enjoyed our recent stay at the BW. Recent renovations/upgrades have enhanced the appearance of the hotel. Everything very clean and sparkly, spacious rooms, nice lobby and bkfast area. Will stay here again when pleasure brings us to the Keys and we will recommend this place to traveling friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Thank you so much fro enjoying your stay. We are only at the beginning of our renovation. We had the bathrooms upgraded, exterior corridor, and we have a whole new breakfast area planned for the near future. Hopefully when we see you again next year you will love our new improvements. More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Had just got off a cruise in Miami.Stayed for one night to sample the Everglades.Great room and complimentary breakfast.Sat by the pool in the evening to drink a beer and there were people in the pool and hot tub.All in all great value,would recommend to friends.

Helpful?
Thank cheryl19550
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

I greatly appreciate a 5 star review. Its even better when I read that you will recommend us. Hopefully next year we can see you again with some friends and family and we all enjoy a pint by the pool. More 

Ormond Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Hot tub doesn't work and no sign that heater was inoperable. Air conditioner thermostat is either fully on or fully off and was told extra blanket was in the room. We could not find it. Would have been nice for the staff just to go and get us another blanket so we could survive the air condition.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allen D
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Hello, I am not happy that you did not have a great experience during your stay. Concerning the hot tub, I show that the daily log reports the hot tub was at 102 degrees at 5p.m.. The weather website shows that it did not rain that evening, so I do not know why it would have not been hot after... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The price was great, the location was perfect. We went to the Keys, the Everglades and little trips around the area. The staff and site showed pride in ownership. We stayed there on the advice of our daughter and would recommend it to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 599lauraw
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Terrific!!!!! I love when guests recommend our hotel, and even better is when the recommendations continue. I am so happy that you took your daughter's recommendation. We do what we can to make everyone's stay an enjoyable one. Hope to see you and your daughter together here at the hotel next year. More 

Ossian, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

My husband and I got to the hotels around 8 o'clock. We had been on the road for a little over 20 hours, all we wanted was a hot shower and a cozy bed. What we got was a jerk! We get to the front desk and this guy named Shitall was working the desk. This guy had zero personality.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Motel style hotel with breakfast. Everglades park entrance is nearby. 9mile pond is superb for canoe! Across the pond starts a maze of mangrove routed/mapped with numbers on wooden poles. Go to the flamingo center at the end of the road to book!

Helpful?
Thank Edwin P
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and great insight to canoeing. Many guest drive through the Everglades not knowing the hundreds of miles of canoe trails there is. I love that we are located so close to the Glades, Miami, and the Keys. It makes it so easy to do all three from one central location. Hope to see you... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We choose the hotel for the convenience of being in route to the Keys. After arriving late one evening, I was pleasantly surprised by the staff at the front desk. He was very helpful and quite courteous, as well as the staff the next day. The rooms are large and accommodating. I was very pleased with the breakfast bar, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chulgan6191
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Terrific review. I'm so happy reading great reviews like yours. 5 STARS is awesome, and reading that you have so much positive things to say makes any manager's day. Thank you so much for mentioning our breakfast and large rooms. We have some of the largest rooms in the area. Hope to see you again next year. :) More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

My family just came back from the trip. I traveled to the keys with my wife and 2 children. It was a nice enough size and had everything you would need. It came with 2 big beds, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. Most likely if you are staying here you are going to the Keys. Very easy to get around.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

WONDERFUL!!!!!!! As always thank you for a great review, its so great to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and the large room. I'll work on a greater selection for the tv channels. Again thank you for the wonderful review. More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I stay at this hotel about 3 to 4 times a year. I love the location. On Wednesday the 8th and Thursday the 9th of October, I decided to enjoy your complimentary breakfast. The employee working in the breakfast area was very rude. I felt as if I was getting breakfast at a cafeteria jail. It's embarrassing to me to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Funlifeforme
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Hello, It was nice to see you at the hotel again, but I'm sad to have read the you had a bad time during breakfast. Normally we get great reviews on that hostess. On a daily basis guests come to the desk to express their satisfaction with her. I have spoken to ownership and we are having a meeting today... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Key West. The room was large and very comfortable--it had a couch where we could read or watch TV, rather than having to sit on the bed, plus a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was very comfortable, but the A/C unit was very noisy and was on all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
Felix C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I agree that the sofa makes such a difference when it comes to having an extra spot to relax. I do apologize for the A.C. being a little loud, I am having our maintenance department look at it while I write. Concerning the coffee; we had upgraded to a new machine two... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (203)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
2.7 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 16 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay