We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ellenton hotels

GuestHouse Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4915 17th Street East, Ellenton, FL 34222-2686 (Formerly Shoneys Inn Ellenton)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added GuestHouse Inn to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
30%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Ellenton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    9
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It's not a bad hotel, but it's by no means the best of the 4 Ellenton hotels. It's deserves the rating it has, 4th. When I walked into the lobby, the clerk ask if I was looking for a room. I said yes. She said the standard rate is $80 a night. I said senior rate, she said $79.10. Since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Walt_wbargranch, I apologize for the issues encountered at our property and the misinterpretation of the rate quoted. I want you to know that we have corrected the housekeeping and maintenance issues. We are currently upgrading our televisions with 39" flat screens. The rate quoted was the total price plus a $10 pet fee and taxes. Our employees are never instructed... More

Isle Of man
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

we were looking for somewhere to stay within easy striking distance of the beautiful beaches around Sanibel & Sarasota without paying the sky is the limit high season tariffs for the beachside properties. We couldn't have picked better. Clean, comfortable and convenient at value for money rates. Front of house could not have been better, helpful,polite and very inforrmative, Two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Isle of Man, We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to see you got to enjoy our spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location. We are centrally located within 30 minutes to 3 of western Florida's premier beaches. We offer a great product with multiple restaurants within walking distance for a... More

Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

You may indeed get what you pay for but in this case they should have paid us. We were caught in one of those torrential Florida Rain storms. This place was close by.....We thought the rooms musty smell was because the air was off. No!!! The doors were peeling as if the place had been flooded. And yes the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Jean H, I want to apologize for the issues you experienced with your A/C and your room issues. Our bedding was updated 3 years ago and is up to industry standards. We routinely clean our A/C units and are replacing all of the old doors. Once again, I'm sorry for your issues and if you would like to speak to... More

Travelers are raving about these Ellenton hotels

Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This motel is badly in need of renovations. Our room was dirty and disgusting, and roaches were observed around the sink. The carpet was torn, and the tub looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The entry door looked like someone had splashed a beverage on it but it hadn't been wiped down. Another guest said they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Barb T, I apologize for the issues encountered at our property. I want you to know that we have corrected the housekeeping and maintenance issues you experienced in your room. Once again I apologize for the issues you encountered and would like for you to give us another chance if you are ever in the Ellenton area. Sincerely, Nick More

Flushing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Checked into hotel but didn't go to room until after we visited with our friends. We went to our room round eight pm, opened the door and were in shock. Had we not already paid for the room we would have run like heck. The rooms stink and are filthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Ritacart, I apologize for the issues encountered at our property. I want you to know that this is not the standard practices of our property. Did you ever speak to any of our friendly staff members? We are empowered here at our property to make situations correct with a guest if something happens. Once again I apologize for the issues... More

Clermont, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tucked in it's own little corner of a lake, sets this hotel. With a heated pool and patio area, VERY clean, really good rates and a friendly staff. Restaurants and a convience store close by plus Ellenton Prime outlets. Right off oh I-75...... If you do decide to book a room here, consider going to Woody's bar and grill for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased. It makes us more happy than anything else when we know that our guests are satisfied with their stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we'll hope to see you soon. More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was a nice stay for the price we paid. We were lucky enough to get a really good deal. The staff were very nice, however the cleanliness didn't seem to be a priority. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay, this place gets the job done. Breakfast was free and nice, nothing extravagant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
guesthouseinnfl, Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear your concern about the cleaniness of the propety and we will makesure to follow up with our housekeeping staff to improve the cleaniness of the hotel. We are also looking into adding few things on our cont. beakfast.... More

Ellenton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Half the lights were burned out, the bathroom sink never drained, the toilet seat was dirty upon arrival, the blanket had cigarette burns and blood stains, a strange vent next to the bed produced a very stronge smell of cigarettes.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. First, I liked to apologize for the kind of experience you had at our hotel. We will make sure to follow up with our housekeeping staff about reporting issues we with our rooms and get them taken care before guests notice them. Thank you again for your feedback. More

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here last week and it was very nice. We were worried to check in at this hotel because of all the reviews. The front desk staff was very helpful by getting us check in and made sure everything was fine with our stay. The room smelled fresh and very clean. Lakeside view was the best thing we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

First, I like to thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are please to hear about your happy stay and the things you like about us. We will continue to improve our self in positive way to ensure our guests are happy with their stay at our place. More

Palmetto, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had family coming into town and told them to check this motel because it was convenient and always looked pretty good. NOT! I am so sad to say that the room is covered in dog or cat hair, even on the sheets when covers pulled back. Family staying the one night and then moving to another motel. They had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review

First, I like to apologize for the kind of experience your family had at our hotel. The pervious guest who stayed in that room didn't declare their pets to us due to the pet fee policy we have at our hotel, but we will make to follow up with housekeeping staff for error like this. Unfortunately, we only few rooms... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Ellenton with
any amenities

Been to GuestHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn

Address: 4915 17th Street East, Ellenton, FL 34222-2686 (Formerly Shoneys Inn Ellenton)
Location: United States > Florida > Ellenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your GuestHouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer