We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Destin accommodations

Sterling Sands Condominiums

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1080 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sterling Sands Condominiums to your Saves list
Sterling Sands Condominiums
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TripShock.com Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
41
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartville, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The earlier review of Sterling Sands 412 was unnecessarily rude about Sonya and staff. We found them to be helpful and attentive. However, unit 412 is definitely in need of some updates, this could have been the cause of the poor review. Having said that, the unit was clean and all supplies (towels, etc.) were waiting for us on arrival.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do strive (owner's and management) very hard to meet/exceed or guests expectations when we can. Unit 412 has been currently listed for sale and I know the new owner will update the condo more than it has been. We do hope you'll return to Sterling Sands and I'll be happy to... More

Destin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Home away from home..just had to write a review to encourage those of you who have not stayed at Sterling Sands to do so . I have been staying there the last 5 years. I had been trying many condos in destin for the last 32 years...I finally found my home here at SS...the management is like family..Always making your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are certainly glad to you enjoy your stays at Sterling Sands and very much appreciate the positive comments so that others who may not have made a decision of where to stay yet- will chose "Sterling Sands". We are excited for your next visit and value your patronage. Regards, Sonya More

Powder Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This condo was a beautifully furnished 2 bedroom deluxe, with plenty of places to sit and watch TV! Enough for all five members of our family!!! We were so excited this condo had a key pad door!!!! No keeping track of keys, how relaxing! Condo was clean. Great appliances and well equipped kitchen! Location is beyond amazing! Manager was wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

I completely agree with you. Unit 210 is wonderful and one my of many favorites at Sterling Sands. We're were equally happy that you had the opportunity to stay in that condo and I have expressed your happiness to the unit owner who allowed this reservation to be made possible by cancelling one of her weeks to allow enough space... More

Destin, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Condo nice. Clean. Condo was as promised. However, the pool and spa were not in working condition. Pool closed two days in a row. Hot tub broken since we arrived. No attempt was made by staff to fix problems or offer solutions. So many other choices available- I will not stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

The hot tub required a part and was only closed over night and re-opened on 4/17 after the part arrived and could be installed. What is not mentioned here is that the pool was closed for everyone's safety. A child had an "accident" and laws require the pool be closed and shocked to make it safe-we cannot help the length... More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a girls bachelorette trip for our friend getting married next month. Based on the pictures we saw, we expected a nice clean, modern looking room. The room was the exact opposite. Outdated, not clean when we checked in. The carpet was so dirty and hair in the tub. Light bulbs not working, ripped couch cushions, not to mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're sorry that you didn't find the unit to your satisfaction. There was no mention of the unit being outdated to our staff when you were in this condo. Maintenance and housekeeping were right up there to take care of the removal on 1 hair in the tub, 1 wash cloth left in a closet behind the bathroom door and... More

TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facility is very nice; The location is EXCELLENT; Right on the beach; Nice pool/Hot tub; Many restaurants and nice places nearby; Stayed in 504; Nicely furnished with full silverware/plates etc including blenders; The biggest problem is the front desk; Called many times and left messages in advance to confirm booking and check in procedures but never got a call... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Our office hours are seasonal and the sign on our front door does say that we close at 4pm. We apologize if you didn't see it. Additionally, the number you dialed to reach us was either before or after our business hours and goes to an after hours service. There were not messages left at our front desk and we... More

Eudora, Arkansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sterling Sands condominium- no problems- we stayed in 406- and it was very nice and comfy- loved being on the beach- the price was good- no problems- more quiet here than some of the other bigger condos- only 8 stories- beach was not crowded- had a walk in shower- plus a huge jacuzi in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We do hope you and your family will return to Destin to visit us again soon. Sonya More

Destin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Sterling Sands and had a very good time. The building is only 8-stories, so there are no long waits for elevators. They provided plenty of luggage and food carts, so stocking the condo was also relatively easy. The master bedroom in our condo held a queen bed and had plenty of room to move; however, the... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit Sterling Sands/Sterling Resorts again soon. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we booked our room we asked to NOT be on the 8th floor because we have a baby; they said they would put it in the notes. Well, we ended up on he 8th floor. Room was very outdated, the tub faucets were leaking, comforters ripped and the staff was extremely rude!!! What happened to southern hospitality? We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are very sorry your request were not met. We do try our best but keep in mind that these are privately owned condos, bedding and room assignment requests are merely that-a request. We cannot guarantee a specific unit or specific bedding as all condos are different and there are many variables that my alter where a reservation gets booked.... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the week in #708 and was very impressed. The view was gorgeous and the beds very comfortable. Saved a ton of money by cooking instead of eating out. Brought my crockpot and let it do the work for me. Only downfall, we arrived late and our condo still wasn't ready. Didn't get in our unit until 5:00 pm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sterling Sands. We do hope to see you return to our property in 2014. Regards, Sonya More

Been to Sterling Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Sterling Sands
Address: 1080 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TRIPSHOCK.COM, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Sands Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.