We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Destin accommodations

Sterling Sands Condominiums

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1080 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sterling Sands Condominiums to your Saves list
Sterling Sands Condominiums
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
73%
A recent review
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (518)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (16)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
39
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Condo nice. Clean. Condo was as promised. However, the pool and spa were not in working condition. Pool closed two days in a row. Hot tub broken since we arrived. No attempt was made by staff to fix problems or offer solutions. So many other choices available- I will not stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took a girls bachelorette trip for our friend getting married next month. Based on the pictures we saw, we expected a nice clean, modern looking room. The room was the exact opposite. Outdated, not clean when we checked in. The carpet was so dirty and hair in the tub. Light bulbs not working, ripped couch cushions, not to mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're sorry that you didn't find the unit to your satisfaction. There was no mention of the unit being outdated to our staff when you were in this condo. Maintenance and housekeeping were right up there to take care of the removal on 1 hair in the tub, 1 wash cloth left in a closet behind the bathroom door and... More

TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The facility is very nice; The location is EXCELLENT; Right on the beach; Nice pool/Hot tub; Many restaurants and nice places nearby; Stayed in 504; Nicely furnished with full silverware/plates etc including blenders; The biggest problem is the front desk; Called many times and left messages in advance to confirm booking and check in procedures but never got a call... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Our office hours are seasonal and the sign on our front door does say that we close at 4pm. We apologize if you didn't see it. Additionally, the number you dialed to reach us was either before or after our business hours and goes to an after hours service. There were not messages left at our front desk and we... More

Eudora, Arkansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sterling Sands condominium- no problems- we stayed in 406- and it was very nice and comfy- loved being on the beach- the price was good- no problems- more quiet here than some of the other bigger condos- only 8 stories- beach was not crowded- had a walk in shower- plus a huge jacuzi in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Destin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Sterling Sands and had a very good time. The building is only 8-stories, so there are no long waits for elevators. They provided plenty of luggage and food carts, so stocking the condo was also relatively easy. The master bedroom in our condo held a queen bed and had plenty of room to move; however, the... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit Sterling Sands/Sterling Resorts again soon. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we booked our room we asked to NOT be on the 8th floor because we have a baby; they said they would put it in the notes. Well, we ended up on he 8th floor. Room was very outdated, the tub faucets were leaking, comforters ripped and the staff was extremely rude!!! What happened to southern hospitality? We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are very sorry your request were not met. We do try our best but keep in mind that these are privately owned condos, bedding and room assignment requests are merely that-a request. We cannot guarantee a specific unit or specific bedding as all condos are different and there are many variables that my alter where a reservation gets booked.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the week in #708 and was very impressed. The view was gorgeous and the beds very comfortable. Saved a ton of money by cooking instead of eating out. Brought my crockpot and let it do the work for me. Only downfall, we arrived late and our condo still wasn't ready. Didn't get in our unit until 5:00 pm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Destin. We were very pleased with the fabulous beach and friendly families on the property. The Sterling beach is so much nicer that other properties to the west. Go to the beach shack the day you get there to reserve your umbrella and chairs. We got lucky and there was one set left on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stay at Sterling Sands for 4 yrs in a row. This last one, the condo unit (113) 2 bedroom deluxe is nothing to brag about. The kitchen is really out dated. This unit is up for sale thru remax for 425K. The owner really needs to do modernize it or getting that price is a joke. You can go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay. When we arrived, light bulbs were out, AC was frozen over, refrigerator was leaking water all over the kitchen floor... They fixed bulbs the next day, AC got fixed due to a friend that was with us being a heat and air guy, refrigerator still leaks. Beach was AWSOME!!! Short walk from condo to chairs and umbrellas.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SterlingSands, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have also resolved the AC issue and appreciate you bringing it to our attention so quickly. Please come back to see us when you can. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sterling Sands Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sterling Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Sterling Sands
Address: 1080 Hwy 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TRIPSHOCK.COM, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

518 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (474)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (111)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Condo (139)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Beach (45)
Viewed
Amenities (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TripShock.com Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.