We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Hotel amenities
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Mhk87
Share an Experience

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    173
    39
    14
    21
See reviews for
141
219
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (524)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Our second time back & plan to return for many family vacations. Everything is perfect!! From the time you check in to check out. The staff goes above & beyond to make your stay everything you dream it will be!!! Thank you TW for making our family vacation stress free & PERFECT!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another very comfortable stay at the Winds. The staff goes above and beyond. Prices are very competitive. The management makes a constant effort to upgrade and update which is noticable each stay. The rooms are well appointed, if we find deficiencies they are corrected promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

It was so nice to see you both and thank you so much for your kind words. It is always great to hear when repeat guests notice and appreciate our continuous efforts to upgrade our facility. We hope to see you again very soon. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great view... great service... great smile.... we love the TW and the manager giving us the best room!! Came back this summer!!! Family hotel, ask beachfront rooms!! kitchenet... quiet ideal for couple, family, business and BEACH!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued patronage and for your kind words once again. It is always such a pleasure to have your family as our guests and we greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of everything we have to offer from rooms, to pools, to staff. Can't wait to see you again this summer. Thanks - Christine Lane - General... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife booked this hotel, family emergency came up and they allowed us to leave a day early through our hotels.com booking which was good. This review is about the stay however, and it was an average hotel.. A bit outdated, no continental breakfast, fridge was dirty.. They were human hairs under the bed sheets when we arrived I checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is a bit disconcerting to find your account of your stay opposite from almost all other customers. I wished you had let me know about some of these issues during your stay so I could have verified them and had them taken care off. We pride ourselves in excellent... More 

Mckellar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an awesome hotel. Location, cleanliness and very comfortable. We had an oceanfront room, which was beautiful....sitting on the balcony watching the waves and beach goers and at night listening to the waves. We had a double queen room with a small kitchenette - perfect size for two or a small family. The bed was the best bed I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words - it is so nice to hear from guests who truly appreciate what we have to offer, from our spacious oceanfront rooms to the cleanliness and amenities of our rooms and especially our comfortable new beds. We do feel that we offer a lot of value for the money to our guests.... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Winds Hotel from February 19 to the 25th, one more day than originally booked. We were content and they had the availability, so why not. We had a King room on the third floor with a balcony and a view of the ocean. It was very clean and the linens were immaculate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review you posted. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you even added on an extra night. Thank you for pointing out how impressed you were with our staff and for calling them THE BEST- they do all go out of... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival, we discovered that our refrigerator wasn't working so we called the front desk to let them know. They were very helpful and sent maintenance to fix it right away. This hotel was much cheaper than most other hotels in the area so that was a plus. It is a nice hotel, not too small or too big. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review. Glad to hear that our staff was able to take care of your refrigerator issue immediately. The fact that we are located a bit away from the center of the beach certainly is a plus when you are looking to relax and spend some quality quiet time. We... More 

Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed from 19FEB2015 - 23FEB2015 at the Tropical Winds. The hotel rooms were great. We had a very spacious king room at the end of the hall. Very comfortable bed. The staff were very nice and friendly. On the advice of the front desk (Brandy) we were directed to a nearby restaurant where we had the best meal we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Tropical Winds for your Daytona 500 stay and for posting such a positive review. It is nice to hear that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, as well as the spacious oceanview accommodations and comfortable bed. We look forward to having you as our guest again during your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for four nights with my son so we could visit the Great American Race the fantastic Daytona 500.That was an incredible experience for us both and it was for his birthday so glad he enjoyed it.We both stayed at the Tropical Winds in August 2014 for the first time for three days again to do a Nascar ride along.We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review. Glad to hear that you and our son had a great time staying at our hotel and enjoying the Daytona 500 race. It certainly is a treat to be able to step out onto your oceanfront balcony and enjoy the view. Thank for bringing the bathroom... More 

Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights during Daytona 500 weekend. Had 2 handicap individuals with us this .Gwen and her staff tried to accommodate us as best as possible. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Had oceanfront with 2 beds, kitchenette.. Beautiful view from the balcony. Glad we chose Tropical Winds. Nice cafe, folks made you feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to hear that we were able to accommodate your family including the 2 handicap individuals. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with other travelers and are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful view from your balcony. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Daytona... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

342 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question