We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Pike Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Announcement
ONLINE BOOKING
Lantern Pike Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
thegrandpire
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    15
    16
    7
See reviews for
19
79
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over the past month I have spent close to two weeks residing and eating meals at Lantern Pike. The hospitality is beyond compare. The food, both breakfast and dinner has always been great in terms of quality and quantity. Thanks again to all the staff at Lantern Peak.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly welcome. Clean pub, but the food is over priced considering its frozen chips and smash potato.. I dont mind eating frozen foods if I'm aware it's frozen but when your paying restraurant prices I expect a higher quality food. Disappointing

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

My dearest chelibobs, what a pity you didn’t speak to us before posting your vitriolic condemnation of our food on this website. If you had spoken to us we would have told you that we do NOT use smash or any other brand of instant mash, we have NEVER used smash or any other brand of instant mash and NEVER... More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We had a fantastic two-night stay at the Pike. The food was excellent and plentiful, the Timothy Taylor Landlord awesome and an ideal base for walking and cycling, in fact any outdoor pursuits. My father-in-law has been coming here for twenty years and I now know why. A traditional inn with a traditional authentic feel to it. Will be returning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Had an absolutely super meal here when my partner and I stopped with our little boy. My son is quite a fussy eater but cleared his plate and devoured a delicious looking chocolate cake and ice cream. I had the best broccoli and Stilton soup I've ever had which is saying something given that my partner is a chef! My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We have Sunday lunch regularly at this delightful country pub with roaring open fires and wonderful atmosphere. Both the service and the food are consistently excellent. The roast lunches are hearty, well cooked and generous with meat freshly carved, fresh vegetables and an additional piping hot jug of gravy. With traditional home cooked deserts of apple pie , bread and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My partner and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lantern Pike Inn and had a wonderful stay. We arrived on a grey and dreary Good Friday but Stella greeted us with a smile and showed us to our room. We stayed in Bleaklow, which was quite small but perfectly formed. It suited our needs, being a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Have just returned from a short break to celebrate our 42 wedding anniversary walking in the peak district. On arrival we were made very welcome by Tom and Stella and it felt like returning to a 'local' which we had frequented for years. The best comment we can make is Ít does what it says on the tin!' It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This inn has lots of character and is in a beautiful setting in the High Peak. You are made to feel very welcome by Tom & Stella. . Room very comfortable. Food excellent with plenty of choice. Lovely open fire Lots of walks from inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Booked in here after seeing the pictures on the website,unfortunately we had to leave without staying due to a personal problem, however, we quoted the deal price of £59 as per the website, but the room we would have stayed in, wasn't very nice, it smelled damp, was desperately in need of updating, the bed and mattress were very old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

so sorry you were disappointed with the room. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Lantern Pike Inn: The location is perfect, the food is wonderful and the accommodation is exactly what you need after a lovely day out. All staff members are very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely recommend Lantern Pike Inn to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay