We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Pike Inn

Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Hotel amenities
Lantern Pike Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Andy C Rochester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    15
    15
    7
See reviews for
19
79
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a fantastic two-night stay at the Pike. The food was excellent and plentiful, the Timothy Taylor Landlord awesome and an ideal base for walking and cycling, in fact any outdoor pursuits. My father-in-law has been coming here for twenty years and I now know why. A traditional inn with a traditional authentic feel to it. Will be returning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an absolutely super meal here when my partner and I stopped with our little boy. My son is quite a fussy eater but cleared his plate and devoured a delicious looking chocolate cake and ice cream. I had the best broccoli and Stilton soup I've ever had which is saying something given that my partner is a chef! My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have Sunday lunch regularly at this delightful country pub with roaring open fires and wonderful atmosphere. Both the service and the food are consistently excellent. The roast lunches are hearty, well cooked and generous with meat freshly carved, fresh vegetables and an additional piping hot jug of gravy. With traditional home cooked deserts of apple pie , bread and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lantern Pike Inn and had a wonderful stay. We arrived on a grey and dreary Good Friday but Stella greeted us with a smile and showed us to our room. We stayed in Bleaklow, which was quite small but perfectly formed. It suited our needs, being a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a short break to celebrate our 42 wedding anniversary walking in the peak district. On arrival we were made very welcome by Tom and Stella and it felt like returning to a 'local' which we had frequented for years. The best comment we can make is Ít does what it says on the tin!' It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This inn has lots of character and is in a beautiful setting in the High Peak. You are made to feel very welcome by Tom & Stella. . Room very comfortable. Food excellent with plenty of choice. Lovely open fire Lots of walks from inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Booked in here after seeing the pictures on the website,unfortunately we had to leave without staying due to a personal problem, however, we quoted the deal price of £59 as per the website, but the room we would have stayed in, wasn't very nice, it smelled damp, was desperately in need of updating, the bed and mattress were very old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

so sorry you were disappointed with the room. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Lantern Pike Inn: The location is perfect, the food is wonderful and the accommodation is exactly what you need after a lovely day out. All staff members are very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely recommend Lantern Pike Inn to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Your typical Derbyshire Country pub, that also has 'letting bedrooms' I wasn't expecting a lot from the rooms and we got ours at a reasonable price. The welcome is warm and friendly and the pub staff are attentive, both fires were lit and the husband enjoyed the Timothy Taylor ! Coronation Street memorabilia is on the walls , Tony Warren... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My partner and I wanted a much-needed break and decided we wanted to stay in a good old fashioned pub with an open fire and a friendly environment. Upon arriving at the Lantern Pike we were not disappointed. The staff and customers were extremely welcoming and there was a roaring fire with a vacant seat next to it with my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

so sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit, we so wish you had taken your issues up with us at the time. Just for the record spiders don't lay their eggs in February. You say you had to sleep in your fleece pyjamas, you were obviously expecting to so why complain about it, we are in the countryside and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question