We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Little Hayfield B&Bs / inns

Lantern Pike Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lantern Pike Inn to your Saves list
Lantern Pike Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sally C New Mills, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (112)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in at around 2.45pm on Sunday the 29th of June for lunch, the bar area had one table left which we made a beeline for. We both opted for the Sunday lunch, 1 beef and 1 lamb. Both of which where beautiful. At under £10.00 per person it's great value for money, I really like the way the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came from London and were pretty stressed out when we arrived at the Inn. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and a re-assuring smile from Tom, who put us at ease straight away. We needed somewhere to go to get away from things for a while and this is the place to do that. We had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. You woul db every welcome to make a return visit. Stella More

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived later than planned on a Sunday evening, but were still made to feel really welcome. Had a great home cooked style meal, real pub food & great puddings. Excellent draught beer too. The room was just as expected of pub accommodation ; reasonably priced & clean. Breakfast deserves a mention, a real full English which would give some more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. I see from your previous posts you are an experienced traveller and reviewer, its so refreshing to see customers reviewing an establishment for what it is rather than what somebody else thinks it should be - thank you. Stella More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We called in on our way home driving over the high peak. What a lovely surprise, a traditional country pub, very pleasant welcoming staff. We sat in the little restaurant but there was the choice of sitting in the bar. There was plenty of choice in food including fish dishes, we decided to have the Sunday roast dinner. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation, you would b every welcome to return for another Sunday Lunch. Stella More

Hull
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This pub is located in a lovely area and is well worth paying a visit. Unfortunately it was bad weather for our visit so didn't get to sit in the beer garden but it would of been a lovely place to sit in better weather. The pub itself is very traditional looking inside and has a nice open fire. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. we look forward to you returning again when the weather is fine. Stella More

Wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Ideal place for walkers evening meal and breakfast very good beds a bit firm .Could not leave windows open due to noise of traffic early morning.Hosts and staff very nice people.The room a bit tired but clean If you like olde world charm nice countryside places to walk then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. once again, may i remind you that we are a three star country pub not the Waldorf Astoria. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights shortly after our wedding, the lantern Pike Inn is a lovely country pub with plenty of character and with great views of the peaks. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the breakfast and main meals were of good quality and nice portions, the bar has plenty of choice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed in the most expensive room, very poor decor, needs decorating and decent furniture. At least it was clean. Food was poor in the evening but breakfast was fine. The main bar lacks atmosphere. I would not recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Mr A, what a pity you felt you couldn't talk to us about your disappointment. Yes, you are quite correct about the cost of the room, it was Bank Holiday weekend and all B&Bs charge a premium at this time of year. Perhaps you wouldn't have been so vitriolic had you stayed a different time. As for the pub lacking... More

northeast england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

An old fashioned inn, with open fires, and lots of quirky nic nacs, the mine hosts both friendly and the real ale well kept, and very good. Breakfasts were realy very good...room small but clean. The inn has some lovely views, music nights Monday nights quite lively.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More

Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you intend to spend the day hill walking you will be happy to return here and devour their 'pub grub' and fine ales and fall into bed exhausted. If you are planning a little luxury treat it's probably not the place for you. Stellar breakfast from Stella.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Horses for Courses? Isn't that true of everything in life. lets not forget we are a three star inn assessed by Visit England and your assertion that it is not the place for a luxury treat is unnecessary and somewhat disingenuous. We provide exactly what it says on the tin. Nevertheless, thank you for your kind words of appreciation. Tom More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lantern Pike Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lantern Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Pike Inn

Address: Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield > Little Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Pike Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lantern Pike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Pike Hotel Little Hayfield

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn dates back to the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners extend a warm welcome to all who visit their country hostelry, good food, a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms. Ideally situated for great walking or touring. We are Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide 2009. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer