We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Pike Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Lantern Pike Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
MarkV808 Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    40
    16
    16
    7
See reviews for
19
79
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want cheap and cheer full this is ok, rooms out dated and in need of a lick of paint. Food average was not very warm. Was made to feel welcome and the beer was top notch. Stella is a great host and did not mind when we got a bit noisy even offered to run some friends back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this place for six of us whilst we walked the area. Tom and Stella are typical mancunian hosts, they have a quirky sometimes abrupt humour but they will do almost anything to help. the pub is ideally located for all local walks, does a great pint and some decent food

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value and Stella is a wonderful host. Four friends made to feel very welcome by Stella and locals on a quiet Friday night after a long day's walking. Dinner and breakfast were first-class, as was the beer. I really don't know why the place wasn't busier, I think it probably usually is!

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is what a pub is meant to be like in the Peak District with great beer, friendly people, honest food and slightly quirky. I have visited this pub for eight years and the beer is top draw, if you like real ale you won't find better. I am loving the Moonshine! But the largers are equally good. It doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Over the past month I have spent close to two weeks residing and eating meals at Lantern Pike. The hospitality is beyond compare. The food, both breakfast and dinner has always been great in terms of quality and quantity. Thanks again to all the staff at Lantern Peak.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Friendly welcome. Clean pub, but the food is over priced considering its frozen chips and smash potato.. I dont mind eating frozen foods if I'm aware it's frozen but when your paying restraurant prices I expect a higher quality food. Disappointing

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

My dearest chelibobs, what a pity you didn’t speak to us before posting your vitriolic condemnation of our food on this website. If you had spoken to us we would have told you that we do NOT use smash or any other brand of instant mash, we have NEVER used smash or any other brand of instant mash and NEVER... More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We had a fantastic two-night stay at the Pike. The food was excellent and plentiful, the Timothy Taylor Landlord awesome and an ideal base for walking and cycling, in fact any outdoor pursuits. My father-in-law has been coming here for twenty years and I now know why. A traditional inn with a traditional authentic feel to it. Will be returning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Had an absolutely super meal here when my partner and I stopped with our little boy. My son is quite a fussy eater but cleared his plate and devoured a delicious looking chocolate cake and ice cream. I had the best broccoli and Stilton soup I've ever had which is saying something given that my partner is a chef! My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We have Sunday lunch regularly at this delightful country pub with roaring open fires and wonderful atmosphere. Both the service and the food are consistently excellent. The roast lunches are hearty, well cooked and generous with meat freshly carved, fresh vegetables and an additional piping hot jug of gravy. With traditional home cooked deserts of apple pie , bread and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My partner and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lantern Pike Inn and had a wonderful stay. We arrived on a grey and dreary Good Friday but Stella greeted us with a smile and showed us to our room. We stayed in Bleaklow, which was quite small but perfectly formed. It suited our needs, being a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review

Thank yo so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay