We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    142
    91
    45
    30
See reviews for
142
73
38
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (487)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
See the most recent reviews
Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel wasn't our best experience. Everything is old, needs a lot of reno. Some rooms on our floor were undergoing renos but we had to endure the noise and the mess. You're charged for wi-fi but there is not hope to get a connection either from the room or from the lobby. Beds were comfy and there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Xroust, Our deepest apologies on your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay. Its very disheartening to hear that on your 3 night stay with us that you did not receive any sleep on any night due to noise. Please be assured that we will address the issue... More 

WA state
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Large room, small bathroom. Very low bathroom counter. Room overlooked a lovely pool, patio. We liked the restaurant quality; I take my own breakfast when I travel, so not having it included with the room rate was okay. In general, we really liked the feel/finish of this place. The lobby was spacious, staff were gracious, finishes very nice (though in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear travelorWAstate, Thank you for review on your recent stay with us! We are happy that we provided you with an great experience and appreciate your kind comments on out hotel staff and our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you again, Yonne Mendez Assistant Front Office Manager More 

bermuda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this I a resort style hotel which is very well cared for. I think it might be slightly older but there is a strong feeling that the staff are interested - and will go beyond where they must to improve your experience. Yonne, the manager in particular was very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear goreymanBermuda, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! I'm so happy I was able to help you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff was able to create that great hotel experience for you as well. We look forward to helping you again in the future should you visit us once again,... More 

drwendy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is under renovation, be sure you get an updated room on the third floor. When we checked in they put us in a room on the first floor where there was a strong smell of something dead in the bathroom and an unacceptable shower head. We fussed and they moved us to a great room on the third... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear drwendy, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Although you had some problems at the beginning, I'm happy to hear that we were able to make it right with you at the end. In the future please feel free to reach us personally on how we can make your next stay with a wonderful experience.... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We made a quick stop here one night while passing through Miami. We actually made reservations here by mistake as we thought we were going to be somewhere else. However, it turned out to be a nice stay. We didn't smell anything like some of the other reviews stated so maybe this was cleared up. Pros Free parking (you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear WinstonBub, Thank you for staying with our hotel and taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay! We hope on your next trip to Miami you remember us and consider us again. Kindly, Yonne Mendez Assistant Front Office Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

To address some of the reviews: 1. I arrived very early expecting to just leave my bag and have to come back later. Even though the hotel was very busy, the staff did what they could and I had a room within ten minutes of arriving just after 12 - and had a great shower 2. They are having problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear WeeChancer, Thank you for your detailed review on our property and your previous stay with us at our hotel. I apologize on the behalf of our hotel with our recent issue with plumbing, but I am relieved that that negative encounter did not dampen your experience at our hotel. Many Thanks, Yonne Mendez Assistant Front Office Manager More 

Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

free parking.if you pay in advance you can get a good price. good location.small bathroom but clean nice shower. good bed to sleep and a lot of pillows.clean room. good size of room.very good to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear lincolnbelohorizonte, Thank you for providing our readers with helpful tips and on your comments on our property. We truly appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kindly, Yonne Mendez Assistant Front Office Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First our check in time was 3, the room wasn't ready at 5, they said they needed 30 minutes to clean, then after 530 said there was a flood and gave us a new room. While waiting in our friends room, we saw the bathroom was dirty, it had new towels but clearly was just wiped down and not sprayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear LindsTroy, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Kindly be assured that your comments about the room conditions are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually... More 

Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were in Miami for thanksgiving break, and decided to stay at Holiday Inn Coral Gables. We enjoyed staying at the hotel - we we're impressed with the hospitality. We were so impressed by housekeeping staff member Margarita Caso, she left the room spotless and was kind enough to accommodate our various requests. She also greeted with a smile each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Ahlam Y, Thank you so much for your kind comments on our staff's service and on Margarita Caso in particular. She was elated to hear that she was able to make your experience at our hotel memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future! Many Thanks, Yonne Mendez Assistant Front Office Manager More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After flying on the red-eye with Spirit Air and arriving in Miami at 5:15 am with maybe one hour of sleep the whole night, we went to several appointments at the University of Miami with our son. We tried checking in early but could not. I went back around 2 pm, and they let me check in while my wife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonne M, Brand Champion at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear frozentundraguy , First off, let me apologize on our behalf that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and thank you for your detailed review. To answer your question on why you were given rm 360 all I can imagine is that it may have been the only room available for early check in, but with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay