We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Coral Gables hotels

Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012
Lovedtotravel New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (72)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    92
    62
    40
    23
See reviews for
103
57
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
See the most recent reviews
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

I had a wedding and this was were we were told to stay. I arrived early and I knew check in wasn't till 3pm but I figured I would give him all my information and let them hold my bags while I went to the pool. Jorge was at the front desk. I said to him "hi I'm checking in"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Lovedtotravel, I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good quality of our rooms and pool. While I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the not so good comments as this gives us the opportunity... More

Ottawa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has been undergoing renovations for a long time now-see previous reviews and mgt responses. That only buys you a bit of time guys. The hard product is not bad if you allow for the extended work schedule of replacing carpets for tile in the hallways. The rooms are ok even the non renovated however the reply from mgt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Branson, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

A little run down, but NO BED BUGS, so I didn't care! This hotel was a great value compared to the price of other hotels in the area. Nice staff, including front desk, breakfast hostesses and cleaning personell! Breakfast buffett which is usually complementary at other hotels is a $10.00 charge here! I didn't like that and with similar selections... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This Holiday Inn sits on busy US Route 1 at the south end of Coral Gables, 10 minutes' walk from the main entrance to the University of Miami. It's a reasonable choice if you have business at the University (I was attending a 3-day conference there). Also there's a MetroRail station close by which will take you to central MIami... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to write about us. We are very sorry your phone could not work. Normally however as you mentioned it yourself, we are all about service, so I do hope you were able to notify someone so we could have it fixed it in time before your departure. Otherwise I am glad that you enjoyed... More

Largo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The room and sheets are clean, but the room is very tired looking. Our phone did not work, no information on what was available in the hotel. The location is very central and easy to get to the Grove, South Beach and the Gables. If you want updated room and hotel this is not it. If you want reasonable cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Its very unfortunate that your phone was not working. I do hope we were able to fix that in time. We are currently in the process of updating our hotel directories, therefore some rooms might have been missing them. So i do apologize for that. Once again... More

NRW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were travelling during high season in Florida. Due to some events taking place during the weekend every hotel in this area was fully booked, unfortunately the Holiday Inn as well. But thanks to the desk clerk's initiative and several calls with colleagues we finally got a room in a great hotel nearby. Very good and professional service that saved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unable to get a room with us, but I am also glad we were able to take care of you. These are very busy months in South Florida, so its very important to have a reservation in advance. Next time hopefully you can stay with us. Because we'd definitely love to have you! Thank you... More

Harmony, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were so glad we found this Holiday Inn. The atmosphere and location were amazing. They had a fabulous bartender and it was an easy booking. The only downside with our room was that it was right next to the elevator. The bathroom was behind the elevator. It was a little noisy but the hotel was otherwise terriflc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed hanging out with Ryan our bartender. He's definitiely a character. I do apologize for the noise you experienced due to your proximity to the elevator. Please feel free to contact us for your next reservation, and we will make sure to put you far from any... More

Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

well, this is the floridian version of the standard... Nice and friendly staff, but not at the restaurant. Low quality at breakfast, no business center. everithing ok, but with a sad note of superficiality in the customer care. Position ok for UN, five guys suggested for a great hamburger. coffee always warm and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review, tough I was grieved when I read it as we do have business center, and its very unfortunate that we couldn't help you find it. With the help of your comments we wish to continue improving our product to better serve you in the future. Your concerns about the restaurant will be taken under... More

Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Let me just say that that staff was great. They were very courteous and friendly; check in and check out were effortless. The hotel itself appears to be an older property and the room as well as the corridors are pretty shabby. The bathroom was very small and in desperate need of a remodel. There were small bugs all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Hello, we appreciate your review as it will help us become a better property for you in the future. Since you mention it, the corridors are to be fully remodeled within the next few weeks. The bed you slept on was actually one of the new ones that have been installed. Our hotel is undergoing a complete renovation process. Theres... More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Where to start? As the review of 13 December 2001 says, the internet kept on dropping out, and there was lots of dirt. The carpets and upholstery looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. The beds had deep hollows in the middle, as if the previous occupants were manatees. The walls were thin, and noisy neighbours kept us awake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to point out some issues that need fixing. As a matter of fact most of our beds have been upgraded to brand new ones. Unfortunately its been a long process, but we should have them all changed very soon. Also within the next few months we will be bringing in new carpets, and furntiure.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
155

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer