We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Clearwater

2.0 of 5 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    27
    6
    17
See reviews for
24
45
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Kodiak
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived after maintenance had left for the day. Our TV remote wouldn't work, and the desk person came to check, but no luck, so waited for the next day. We asked about an ice machine and were told they didn't have one, that the freezer would make ice. Ours didn't work, but they adjusted it the next day. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karl C, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Leslie S, thank you so much for your most recent stay with us here in Clearwater. I apologize for the short comings that you experienced while staying with us. While it is our goal to take all guest requests and get them sorted as quickly and efficiently as possible we dropped the ball in your case. With your feedback we... More 

Rochester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only one kitchen chair in suite. When asked for a 2nd told all were gotten rid of waiting for new ones to arrive! Good thing a Habitat for Humanity was next door. We bought one and re-donated upon leaving. Other than that 1 bedroom suite was good, clean and comfortable. Staff not proactive -- more than once did things like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

LJB670, thank you so much for your most recent stay with us. So sorry that we fell short on several of your expectations. It is with your feedback that we can use for training of our team members and develop a plan to better address your needs and the needs of others going forward. So glad you were able to... More 

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room I had was nice, there was a kitchenette (which I enjoyed since I prefer not to eat out every day when I'm on a trip), a nice bed, and a desk. The room was updated and clean, there's complementary wifi, and a pool as well. They only clean once a week so if you are there for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very impressed with our first stay at a Candlewood suites. It was an ideal location to visit our friends in the area and take in an NHL game downtown Tampa. We were aware that breakfast was not included, and hence, rates are lower! We didnt mind giving up housekeeping and breakfast for a bargain rate! I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Greetings RuthCooper of Barrie! So glad for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were very happy with your stay here in Clearwater. We do strive to offer a good value for our guests as well as a clean, friendly and a welcoming environment. Should your travels bring you back to the area we look... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I'm IHG Platinum and stay at Holiday Inn properties a lot. But the room I checked into smelled like gym socks and was badly in need of a thorough deodorizing/cleaning. Unfortunately, they said they had nothing else on the 3rd floor. I borrowed a housekeeper's deodorizer and sprayed the room again-to no avail. There was also dried rice on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

avlhome, Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a good nights rest in our suite. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our team here at the Candlewood Suites that we fell short on some of your expectations. It is with the feed back from you our valued guest... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
71 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived after a long drive we were disappointed there was not much close by to walk out to, also hadn't realized no breakfast so price was a bit high considering that. Plus was it was very clean and had free washers and driers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Hunda, Thanks so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate that you chose our hotel as your destination while visiting Clearwater-St. Pete. I am pleased to hear that you found your accommodations clean and were able to take advantage of our complimentary guest laundry. We do offer breakfast options for a nominal cost, and are closely located by several... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I haven't been in a bad CW yet, but this one was very nice. It had the usual for the CW brand: a nice suite with desk, TV, kitchen and bath. Everything was clean and the front desk staff was helpful as we checked in. The only thing that I didn't like was that it was driving distance to everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

lgwacbb thank you so much for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were able to find such a good value in our very unique brand. We strive to provide all of our guests with a warm and welcoming environment... kind of like your home away from home. With our unique and central location you can get... More 

Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I don't think this is a terrible place to stay but I think they can do better. When I called, the lady put me on hold while I was in the middle of a sentence, which I thought was disrespectful. When I get there, the check-in went well until I was told there would be a $25 extra fee charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Edwin V, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations.... More 

Bridgend south Wales U.K
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We had a nice suite, had every thing we needed. washing machine & dryer were free to use, You needed a car to get around the area. The price was good for the hotel & were it was. Staff were friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

worldtripper2001 thanks so much for your stay with us. So glad to hear you were able to make full use of our complimentary guest laundry facilities. This is just another added touch of the Candlewood Suites brand along with our warm welcoming staff. Should your travels bring you back to this side of the pond we look forward to serving... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I'm staying for business, but I will suggest that if you are doing mattress run for IHG promotion, this place is good enough for it. But Beware of the following things. I book it for my 2 day business stays. The hotel is located at the end corner of a intersection street. Outside property is good maintenance. Check in clerk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Travelbabyboy, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay