We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Clearwater

2.0 of 5 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    24
    6
    17
See reviews for
24
43
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm IHG Platinum and stay at Holiday Inn properties a lot. But the room I checked into smelled like gym socks and was badly in need of a thorough deodorizing/cleaning. Unfortunately, they said they had nothing else on the 3rd floor. I borrowed a housekeeper's deodorizer and sprayed the room again-to no avail. There was also dried rice on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

avlhome, Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a good nights rest in our suite. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our team here at the Candlewood Suites that we fell short on some of your expectations. It is with the feed back from you our valued guest... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived after a long drive we were disappointed there was not much close by to walk out to, also hadn't realized no breakfast so price was a bit high considering that. Plus was it was very clean and had free washers and driers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Karl C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Hunda, Thanks so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate that you chose our hotel as your destination while visiting Clearwater-St. Pete. I am pleased to hear that you found your accommodations clean and were able to take advantage of our complimentary guest laundry. We do offer breakfast options for a nominal cost, and are closely located by several... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I haven't been in a bad CW yet, but this one was very nice. It had the usual for the CW brand: a nice suite with desk, TV, kitchen and bath. Everything was clean and the front desk staff was helpful as we checked in. The only thing that I didn't like was that it was driving distance to everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I don't think this is a terrible place to stay but I think they can do better. When I called, the lady put me on hold while I was in the middle of a sentence, which I thought was disrespectful. When I get there, the check-in went well until I was told there would be a $25 extra fee charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Edwin V, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations.... More 

Bridgend south Wales U.K
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We had a nice suite, had every thing we needed. washing machine & dryer were free to use, You needed a car to get around the area. The price was good for the hotel & were it was. Staff were friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I'm staying for business, but I will suggest that if you are doing mattress run for IHG promotion, this place is good enough for it. But Beware of the following things. I book it for my 2 day business stays. The hotel is located at the end corner of a intersection street. Outside property is good maintenance. Check in clerk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Travelbabyboy, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I wanted a place close to work and I wanted an apartment type property to help me stay on track with healthy eating while in Clearwater for a week; the Candlewood Suites fit that bill. In your suite, there is a full size refrigerator with ice maker, and a cook top in addition to a microwave. They provide pots/pans, dishes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I just want to give a BIG Kudos to the Manager Doug Soule at the Clearwater Candlewood Suites as he seems to be a very true and sincere person and goes out of his way to accommodate guests as a manager. The property is aging a bit but they do a great job of keeping it up and clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

How hard is it to smile anyway??? This annoyance (with every single person I saw working at the front desk here) unfortunately trumped everything I liked about this place. I stayed here for 3 weeks and had multiple rooms. I never felt welcome, I also never thought that would be a critique of any place I stayed at. As I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gulf Coast Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed for just over a month and found it to be very clean and comfortable. If they had some kind of breakfast included it would have been nice, but overall a great stay. I was relocated to the Saint Petersburg area and stayed while looking for and buying a house. I will try Candlewood Suites in my future travels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay