We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

2.0 of 5 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Price
Beach Time
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    49
    41
    25
    44
See reviews for
76
50
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Worse place I have stayed at in many a year! I would be writing this review in the hotel but that would involve having a wifi signal! Thread bear towels, rusty fridge, band/disco playing next door at a horrendous level from the moment we arrived at 2 till I drank myself to sleep at about 1.00 in the morning (not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a road trip and decided to stay in clearwater so we could enjoy the beach etc. Its very hard when your traveling and dont know the area and just want to get a place and go do things. This was our 2nd stop and the price was better than the one before so we looked at a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok, I read lots of reviews about this place before booking and judging by the bad ones, I was very leery to book here but I decided to take a leap of faith!! This place is very dated and can use some upgrading BUT, for the price and location you can't beat it!! The entire staff was very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days totaling a bill of 910$, I paid day by day, the last day I stayed I was in my room for a hour after paying and had a family emergency and had to left the guy at the front desk told me I could get a 50% refund and that I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review

A full night's payment in cash was received on Sun Aug 30 at 7:30 am by our front desk manager and posted on your account. Your stay was extended another night, to reflect a Mon departure. Our records show you having checked out at 11pm Sun night. On October 17, almost 7 weeks later, you requested a refund/discount which was... More

Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is nothing fancy--but for the price difference between other beachfront properties--it is FANTASTIC! As others have mentioned it sits between another hotel and a 'party' resort--but our opinion is that we get the free music whether relaxing poolside or right on the beach! The beach that the hotel sits on is a bit rockier than the public beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicag
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in March over spring break with my boyfriend. We had a great stay. We paid for a city room but got put in an ocean room! The hotel needs updates ASAP but for the price and location we didn't mind. Also helped that we were hardly in the room besides to go to sleep. You can basically walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reasonable rates, on Clearwater Beach. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating for location, cost, friendliness of staff and cleanliness. However, we were there on a Thursday night and right next door, right outside the sliding glass doors at the next door hotel's outside bar was a band that played at maximum decibels until midnight. Really a distraction.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decent hotel- could use some updating and dusting around the pictures in the rooms. Carpet needs replacing and balcony needs cleaning very sticky. Pool area was okay and beach access was good. Yes the hotel next door was very loud, a perk if you like music a negative if you want to hear tv or sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I feel as if the reviews before mine are a bit misleading...Don't get me wrong, I didn't expect anything special, but most of my stay here was just not worth the money. I don't mind the loud music into the late night, and even though my glass sliding door was broken (wouldn't lock properly) I just couldn't get over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Don't stay at this place unless you don't mind loud music blaring through your broken patio door till 3 am. Went down to management to complain and asked for a different room, to which he refused to accommodate at first. Before booking, I was not made aware that Shepards, the beach resort next door would be playing extremely loud and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay