We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

2.0 of 5 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    42
    27
    46
See reviews for
78
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Worst hotel visit I have ever had. Hotel staff was rude, hotel room dirty and smelled! We did not sleep till 3 am due to music from surroundings. No place for children ir family!!! Pool small elevator very very slow. Room keys did not work and their breakfast is a .50 cent cupcake. Terrible- terriblr I want my money back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is located between shepard's and Quality inn. Good Location but little far away from actual clearwater beach. Since i was there on a weekday they were kind enough to move me to a room with Gulfview. Good things about the room are Gulf view, Balcony with chairs and small table, stove, microwave, small fridge. Bad things...not so clean, needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are not so nice, they always are without concern for help the hosts. The elevator was dirty as the hall with the stinky carpet. Seems to have many fungi on the carpet. The room has a horrible smell and the carpet filthy. The bathroom had hair at the floor and inside the bathtub. The towels were patches of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a Workaholic I like to take mini-vacations, and usually come to the Gulf View Hotel, as there is a 10% discount for returning guests, and no parking fees like other nearby hotels! They also have good amenities, including a Jacuzzi and Continental Breakfast. The room was clean, everything seem to be in working order, and the front desk Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Good location and our stay was already charged to my account are the only reason we did not check out. Air conditioner was noisy so we turned it off, rusty, old frig, dirty silverware, cockroaches, one large and about seven babies, repairs are needed in our room. Will not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Worst place I have stayed at in many a year! I would be writing this review in the hotel but that would involve having a wifi signal! Thread bear towels, Rusty fridge (picture of "Rusty" included) Band/disco playing next door at a horrendous level from the moment we arrived at 2.00 till I drank myself to sleep at about 1.00... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We were on a road trip and decided to stay in clearwater so we could enjoy the beach etc. Its very hard when your traveling and dont know the area and just want to get a place and go do things. This was our 2nd stop and the price was better than the one before so we looked at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Ok, I read lots of reviews about this place before booking and judging by the bad ones, I was very leery to book here but I decided to take a leap of faith!! This place is very dated and can use some upgrading BUT, for the price and location you can't beat it!! The entire staff was very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days totaling a bill of 910$, I paid day by day, the last day I stayed I was in my room for a hour after paying and had a family emergency and had to left the guy at the front desk told me I could get a 50% refund and that I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review

A full night's payment in cash was received on Sun Aug 30 at 7:30 am by our front desk manager and posted on your account. Your stay was extended another night, to reflect a Mon departure. Our records show you having checked out at 11pm Sun night. On October 17, almost 7 weeks later, you requested a refund/discount which was... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy--but for the price difference between other beachfront properties--it is FANTASTIC! As others have mentioned it sits between another hotel and a 'party' resort--but our opinion is that we get the free music whether relaxing poolside or right on the beach! The beach that the hotel sits on is a bit rockier than the public beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay