We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Certificate of Excellence
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    255
    64
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
106
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been staying at the Sea Captain since 2008, it is sad to see how it has gone down. Gone are Donna and Esther from housekeeping, not as clean as it was. Gone is the groundskeeper that took pride in his work he would wipe off the outside tables and chairs every day, never saw this once in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been to the Sea Captain about eight times in the last fifteen years and it used to be our most favourite place in Florida. We knew that it was under new management since our last visit in 2013 but we were shocked at the general state of the place now. It used to be in pristine condition and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dolton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been going here for 51 years. I have NEVER had such a terrible experience as I had just a week ago. The place is no longer cared for. The pool was dirty. It was so bad that they had to close it for a day. The chairs are dirty and so is the tile around the pool. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you maemagie9 for writing your review for the Sea Captain Resort. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the time you were hoping to have. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain we have been receiving in the area it off set our chlorine levels for our pool. After talking with our pool company, they informed us... More 

Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

This little hotel is great! Its in a great place by the Bay and across the street from the beach, yet still tucked away somewhat secluded. A short walk to shops, restaurants, and lots of boating/beach activities. The rooms and hotel are very clean and the bed was comfortable. A small kitchenette for cooking was there if we needed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wakefield West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

The sea captain has it all, it is the friendliest place I have ever had the good fortune to visit. My self and my family will be returning for the third year in a row this September. The staff are exceptional and cannot be any more welcoming than they are. You truly feel like part of a family. Along with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Monee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The location is perfect. Very family friendly. Great place to have a family gathering. Very peaceful on the bay over looking the marina. My friend and I have gone here 3 times now and love this place. It has a warm friendly feeling, you would never get this in one of those high rise hotels. You get to chat with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Great location, we parked the car and didn't need it until the day we left. Rooms were clean. We had the basic room but it had a mini fridge and a microwave. It was fun watching the boats come and go. As many have stated the rooms are dated but for the price and location you can't beat it. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Tim and I loved this little gem of a place,right in the middle of everything,our room upstairs was over looking the coastal waters,watching the Pirates ship come in,it was very clean and the owners were very helpful,the pool was great and the pier was walking distance we had a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Very difficult to find in the dark especially when you are tired. The bed large and comfortable (we stayed in Bay side efficiency King) but deco very dated. Very clean accommodation with very friendly staff. Breakfast provided but we did not use this facility. We had a room with a good view over the bay. This hotel has a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We stayed in two different rooms while at the Sea Captain because we decided to come down a day earlier then planned for our wedding over memorial day weekend. First impression was a little off it seems out of place with all the giant hotels surrounding it. The outside is dated and it seems as though they are in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (101)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Standard Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay