We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
27988 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #72 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
cyndolella Winter Springs, Florida
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    39
    24
    25
See reviews for
65
40
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is at a great location. Beautiful pool. The only issue that we had was we did see a few roaches. I know it can be hard to keep roaches away in Florida The only issue that we had was we did see a few roaches. I know it can be hard to keep roaches away in Florida The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

for those of us that remember the family drives up and down the East coast Howard Johnson Inns were THE place to stay. This is a classic version from those days which were decades ago. The rooms I stayed in were worn but absolutely spotlessly clean. The front desk staff were nice and welcoming. It's an OK place at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate the feedback on all that we are doing right. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Awful...just awful. I called to confirm before 2pm to advise I'll be arriving late...by 4 they canceled my reservation. They put us in a smoking room, when we walked in..it seemed someone was still in it. Uncleaned, meat in the fridge!!! We go back to front desk and the lady has the nerve to say "oh man our cleaning lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that you experienced any issues with your reservations. When booking a room, we do require a valid credit card to guarantee the reservation. March is "season" in the FL, and every weekend in the Clearwater, FL, we have major events occurring. We occasionally need to abide by our policy of holding rooms because many people... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

My husband and I arrived here after a long day of travelling and couldn't even stay in the room it was so disgusting. The mirror was broken, there was what looked like poo stains on the ceiling in the bathroom. What appeared to be bullet holes in the wall, no working smoke detectors, holes in the furniture and everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities