We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Clearwater hotels

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27988 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater to your Saves list
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
John F The Villages, FL
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
56
39
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I booked the room, I stayed a couple nights. The room required a $50 refundable deposit for having a pet and an additional $10 pet fee per night. Upon walking in, there was a big stain in front of the door with black sticky dots leading up to the bed. The rest of the floor was dirty too, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Rowan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was average, it was clean but we were put in a front room which faced onto Hwy 19 and it was noisy. The room and bathroom could do with being renovated. The public areas of the hotel were updated and quite nice. Would not necessarily recommend. MW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with our hotel. I'm sorry that the room location was too noisy. I'm glad that overall the room was adequate for your stay while in the Clearwater, FL area. We are always doing improvements and updates to our property. I hope you will give us a chance in the future, and we can find... More 

Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had to call the police about some drug users that had pulled into the parking lot to use and have a fight with each other. Not the hotels fault. Left some clothes in the drawers by mistake when checking out. Front desk investigated the next day and was able to return the items to us. Otherwise, decent hotel in an... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with our hotel. We very much appreciate your noticing of these persons in our parking lot who clearly did not belong, and called the police. I do apologize for any inconvenience to your stay because of the disturbance from these people and helping out the police when... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This is an amazing place to stay for a great price people here are wonderful. The customer service was great as well the people here are very helpful and nice I can't wait to come back and stay at this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you can't wait to come back for a future stay. We value all comments and feedback that our customers have to give. It's also nice to hear when we get it right. Thank you so much, and see... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I went with a name I knew and was very disappointed. Everything bout this hotel is old and threadbare, except the outside paint job. The free breakfast was pathetic. They served juicing oranges as fruit to be peeled and eaten. The towels were so old you could see through them, and the front desk staff were less than friendly. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
MILTON
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Bad smell in room-105. Mattress not comfortable. TB Screens too small. In need of renovation.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I see you stayed while in town for the Outback Bowl. I hope you found you had an enjoyable time! And I'm sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay at our hotel. We are doing rennovations and upgrading the TV's at this time. Thank you for... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Other guests sat outside our room on the sundeck until 5am talking and laughing which kept us awake. Staff was cordial but not warm or friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest; Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I do apologize at any incoveniences you may have experienced from another guest. We do try to accommodate everyone; especially with any noise issues at irregular times. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay