We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clearwater Cottages

644 Mandalay Ave, 28 Glendale St, Clearwater, FL 33767
Clearwater Cottages
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
9
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Vero Beach, Florida
4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Captain Al who is one of the owners of the property called us on the phone as we were making a right on to shore drive, which is approximately 400ft from the hotel check in. There was no 45 minutes on the phone trying to find us anything, There were 2 guests, 2 dogs which we paid for and my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Sir: The positive points about Tripadvisor is that anybody can write anything they want about a hotel or it''s employees even if if they never checked in or stayed there. They can write about overall, value, service, cleanliness, or location. That can bring down the reputation of a quality property by an unhappy potential guest due to errors of... More 

6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish I could give a better review but, we made a reservation and upon arriving at check in time Captain Al informed us the room was double booked and the party that had gotten there just before us was given our room reservation. There were no more rooms available and no vacancies at any other properties. The property manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Disappointed: I did apologize that there was a clerical error by the central booking office and in fact your rental was double booked, something that happens with all hotels, but rarely at this closely managed Mom and Pop rental. I did call you earlier that day and did let you know it was not available. When you chose to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised & very content with our stay at the New Orleans unit. The unit was clean, comfortable & steps away from the beach. It's not fancy. It's not modern. It's not a resort. We are not hard to please or picky. We went to Clearwater to take in the warm weather & gulf coast beaches, great food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mike: We are glad your family had a great beach vacation and that you found the New Orleans Beach Apartment to be spacious and comfy. Being from New Jersey , it was my absolute please to spend time with your family and boys out on the boat. I raised a few boys myself, so after 25 years of child... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Perfect for us. We stayed in the Grandview had the tiki hut out front. Definitely not the Hilton, we are not fancy hotel people. Laid back. Had almost everything we needed. If we needed something we texted or called Capt Al and would have what we needed within minutes. A couple nights there were people hanging out in the hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guests We are glad you had a relaxing fun vacation at Clearwater Cottages. Appreciate your kind comments that you found the Cottage clean and comfortable and that you may consider returning next year, perhaps with your pets. Glad the few negative reviews did not sway you from staying at our family friendly beach cottages, where most happy guests have... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The Clearwater Cottages was fun to stay at! Like most say they are decorated very beachy, and all the tiki huts and bar area in the middle of the community area was nice. Walk right to the beach for the best sunset around!! Just like the website says, if you want a Hilton or Sandpearl, its not for you....... Capt.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Donnas We are glad you had a great time at a great time at Clearwater Cottages and felt that it had an Awsome Beach Atmosphere. Glad you had great memories of your day out Boating with Capt. Al and Karen. We love taking our friendly guests out on our boat and showing them all the beautiful island... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

I called in and tried to reserve a few rooms for the weekend with a few friends. The first time I called the man, "Captain Al" was very friendly. He answered all of the questions I asked. He told me to text him the dates needed and he would get back with me in the next hour, because he wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
alan f, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

It 's unfortunate that you were not able to rent 3 cottages for Prom Night Weekend ,April 17-19 with your friends , and felt that I was disrespectful when I ended the call. I answer my phone 9:00 to 9:00 every single day of the year to take reservations and am availble 24 hours per day as a property manager.... More 

Somers pt nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I couldn't understand why the pictures on the website of these properties were mostly watercolors? When we checked in, we realized why. We stayed in the Corner cottage, even though we were told we were to be staying in the Grandview cottage. We were quoted one price then told that was an outdated internet price and the price was more.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you did not have a great time at the Corner Cottage, as another Tripadvisor Review from prior guest said it was the nicest, and another mentioned you could see the Gulf of Mexico from the Cottage. Your negative review is as a result have some of your expectations not met. First you had an issue that... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed at one of the Clearwater Cottages properties. Do not use this rental; it is run by dishonest and unreliable property managers (ours was named Captain Al). The website is grossly misleading. Our other reservation down the street was cancelled due to a last minute remodeling issue and Clearwater Cottages leveraged that information to highly overcharge us at extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

You were very happy when you found a rental just down the block (Clearwater Cottages ) after your reservation would not be honored by the hotel you booked online. I gave you the Holiday rate for last week December and you had no complaints. You then went looking around for a cheaper rental, which you did find and upon check... More 

West Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I just want to quickly make a comment on this rental. I have not actually stayed there. However, I found them on a couple different sites that offer you a quote online for the dates that you need. first, did not hear from them when i sent an inquiry so i called. They had to call me back and maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Unhappy Person: The rates are quoted on the site. They were last years rates and not updated. I also explained the webmaster could not be reached and the website is very old. I would not take your reservation at the old rates and you went round and round. I am sorry you felt you needed to post a bad... More 

Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Arrived a day early and Capn Al made sure we had a cottage ready,actually ours,early.Exactly as described.Clean,cozy,cool air conditioning,good water pressure.Tommy Bahamas cottage had a lot of character.No,not perfect,but a lot more fun than staying in a high rise.Capn Al makes sure you have what you need and are happy with everything.We switched to Gulf side cottage halfway through only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NurseGayle, Manager at Clearwater Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Family: We are glad you had a great family vacation and felt that the cottages were Cool, and you had a great time. Thanks for letting future guests know that the cottages have great air conditions and were clean. We are happy you enjoyed the free passes to Clearwater Aquatic Center, and that you will return and recommend us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,637 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#42 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities