We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shephard's Beach Resort

Hotel website
Hotel packages
619 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shephard's Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shephard's Beach Resort
Share an Experience

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Miamisburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on a Thursday and left on Sunday. The parking attendants were always quick and courteous. The desk staff answered all questions and were friendly, and the rate was as quoted. The room clean, we had 2 queen beds and the kitchenette with full refrigerator, microwave, stove top, sink, basic dishes and utensils. The pool was a little cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind review; it sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the finer points of our service and resort. It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience with the third party vendor- that is certainly not something we want to be associated with. I apologize for the lack of hospitality... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very responsive staff (thank you, Mike!)and this hotel is literally in the middle of everything. For me, as I am here on business, I need to sleep. There are parties (spring break) all over, but the rooms are peaceful, very clean, nice modern decor. Hotel decor (lobby/ grounds) is very modern, reggae music playing and has a nice chill vibe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. We do get very lively here this time of year, but if you book the right room there is always a place for peace and relaxation as well. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Management More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were kept awake until 1a.m. the first night and 3a.m. the second night by noisy guests down the hall, shouting and going in and out if their rooms. The hotel staff said there was nothing they could do, that people were coming and going, and that there were no rules, and no requirement that guests be considerate of each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are disappointed to hear about your stay; our housekeeping staff is required to service all rooms and keep a log of each that is turned in at the end of the shift. The only time they do not service a room is if there is a do not disturb sign or if the guest verbally tells them... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In June 2014, I had my wedding here along with 100 guests who flew into Tampa. When I initially looked at the hotel a year prior, it was under renovation so I had to really keep an open mind with how things will turn out. I visited in February 2014 to check out the progress and actually stayed for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is great to hear that you are returning for your anniversary! Hopefully you will get a chance to try the Ocean Flame since it was not quite finished when you were here- it is amazing! Sundays in the summer do get a younger crowd for our beach parties and in the night club all weekend, but the... More 

Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this resort July 24th-28th 2014 and just getting around to writing a review... I'd like to first off say the resort is gorgeous and enjoyed the few days I was there. I felt the rate per night to be a bit expensive but then again it was expensed so really can't complain. :) Check in was smooth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, We appreciate your comments and hope to utilize them as training tools for our entire staff. It is certainly not our policy to double charge for the in room water and I am sure this was done in error. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and hope you will change your mind about your next visit... More 

Hudson WI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with two buddies last year and had a blast! Came back with my wife hoping she would like it as much as I had. She loved it! Great beach location, good drinks, modern rooms, good service, awesome views, free parking with valet, and great live music, (or DJ). Highly recommend getting a room facing the water. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, That's the spirit! We are an ideal location for fun and you indulged ideally. We look forward to seeing you next month for more! Best regards, Management More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was great, but the customer service is terrible. The valet left a streak of tar across my car, and when I asked him if he had something for me to clean it off with, he referred me to the front desk. The manager told me I could walk across the street to the gas station to get something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rich, I apologize for the way the situation was handled; it is certainly not our policy to address a situation in this manner. We try to make it our policy to investigate every guest complaint and assist accordingly. We really hope that you return so that we can have a chance to make it up to you. Best regards,... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was nervous. I heard so many contradicting reviews of Shephard's....I was very happy with the stay. The rooms are spacious and I was surprised that they had a full kitchen (pots, pans, glasses and all included). We did not know so could not take advantage of that. Pool was nice. It did get noisy, but only on Sunday night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kelli, We are delighted to hear that even though you read some contradicting reviews; you still decided to give us a try. It is too bad that you did not enjoy our pool food- perhaps our Ocean Flame Restaurant would have been more to your liking. We look forward to your next stay and will keep the high-energy turned... More 

Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will start by saying the room was very nice, large, clean, and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and we did have a water view, if you leaned over the balcony and craned your neck. Higher floors would be better. But it was about what we expected for the price. It was very cold during our visit, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely apologize for the error made by the check-in agent; while we're sure it was not their intent, it was still terribly inconvenient for you to have to deal with. We certainly do not want you to get the impression that charges are incorrectly made with any frequency; reversals and changes can be made on our end... More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel and grounds! The room was fantastic, the shower was huge and the decor was great. The pool area was beautiful and calm. Love the palm trees around the hotel and the little beach area. This hotel had a resort feel to it, with a good buffet restaurant, a nice bar and music in the afternoon and evening. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
3:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Studio with Terrace and Gulf View (39)
Viewed
King Studio with Balcony and Gulf View (38)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question