We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach

Hotel website
648 Poinsettia Ave North, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Monaco Resort)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    6
    6
    20
See reviews for
20
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This MOTEL was taken over by new owners and changed the name to ISLAND CAY. We arrived on May 17th, 2015.. booked a room for myself, my husband, and two children. They booked the wrong room and stuck us in a tiny studio like room with one bed. We agreed to stay there and move to a different room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Wow, I am very disappointed with this review! Upset of course, because you did not enjoy your stay and it is unfortunate that your reservation, which was booked by you online was for only one adult and two children so the reservation system assigned the type of room to the number of guest quoted by you online so that is... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The overall place was great only downfall was the front door's knob looked like it was ready to come off in your hand. After propping the chair against the door all was well for a little nighttime security.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just as the lady below me commented, we too got in late Thursday night and they made sure our key was ready and that our room was ready for us. I couldn't believe how great our room was for the price! It was so quiet out and everyone kept to themselves. My boyfriend and I even got to go out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I made this reservation I have to admit that I didn't know what to expect. A two bedroom condo for under $200.00 a night. After reading the reviews from people that had stayed there, and even more having a general manager respond to all the comments whether they were good or bad definitely made me feel the owners/managers cared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The new owners are awful. Made reservations 2 months ago. They will not honor our rooms after paying for them. They were very rude. Would never attempt to go there. The only thing they will do to accommodate us is a refund. 2 weeks before Memorial weekend. We had three rooms. They ruin 3 families vacations. Along with their children.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

I understand how aggravating the situation is and I do apologize but as I explained to you, since we have renovated, we no longer offer the room type you requested and when I offered to change your room, you refused so the only choice I had was to refund so again, I apologize and hope in the future you will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing worse than to start your stay. We were in our way to Clearwater beach with our family, six adults and six little children (all under the age of 6) when out of he blue 2 hours before arriving we receive a call from the management (or owners) of this property to let us know they had AC problems and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

I apologize we could not accommodate you and your family but we are very limited on rooms/suites due to renovations, I explained that to you and if memory serves me correctly, your reservation was not guaranteed; unfortunately, things happens from time to time beyond our control and this happened to be the time! We are in the process of renovating... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I normally don't leave reviews, but felt I had to for this place. This quaint little motel is going through renovations but it is an awesome little family spot. It is just north of clearwater beach within walking distance to the pier and shops. We stayed for two nights and the first night was a hump in the road as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! Appreciated more than words can say! We really do try to go above and beyond for our guests! Thank you for being so understanding and apologize again for the issues in the beginning, very happy it was solved and even happier that you will be back! Thank you again! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Daughter and I decided to drive to Florida for spring break. We didn't have a hotel room just got in the car and ended up in Clearwater Beach, which was awesome. We started on our hunt to find a room and came across this place. The owners were so nice and at this point I never thought we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

You are so welcome and we are happy that we could provide you with a great stay! We try our best to be attentive and positive to everyone, guests like you makes it easy so thank you! We hope you will return soon and thank you again! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two buddies and I spent the night here. It was exactly what we needed to hang out on the beach and go out at night. 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa were perfect. Management was awesome and friendly. Nice kitchen too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and choosing us as your vaca spot, very appreciated! We strive to provide our guests with the best service possible and want to make sure everyone returns! Again, thank you and we look forward to your return! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

I visited for the weekend and the staff was very helpful & accommodating, I was surprised what I got for the little money I paid. I luuuuved the newly renovated rooms. Way better then the Sheridan, I will definitely visit them again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review and you do not know how much you are appreciated! We enjoy making sure our guests are happy and want to return! We try to make everyone feel welcome and help in them in anyway possible! Thanks again and we hope to see you again SOON! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities