We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
648 Poinsettia Ave North, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Monaco Resort)
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #72 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Daphne S Kansas City, Missouri
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    5
    6
    17
See reviews for
16
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My Daughter and I decided to drive to Florida for spring break. We didn't have a hotel room just got in the car and ended up in Clearwater Beach, which was awesome. We started on our hunt to find a room and came across this place. The owners were so nice and at this point I never thought we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Two buddies and I spent the night here. It was exactly what we needed to hang out on the beach and go out at night. 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa were perfect. Management was awesome and friendly. Nice kitchen too

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited for the weekend and the staff was very helpful & accommodating, I was surprised what I got for the little money I paid. I luuuuved the newly renovated rooms. Way better then the Sheridan, I will definitely visit them again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review and you do not know how much you are appreciated! We enjoy making sure our guests are happy and want to return! We try to make everyone feel welcome and help in them in anyway possible! Thanks again and we hope to see you again SOON! More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They've changed the name to Island Cay but apparently nothing else. The non smoking resort has smokers sitting outside Their room smoking. We walked into our room with a half bottle of Gatorade on the bureau. The air conditioner didn't work well so we ate the $117 and went to a nice clean homewood suites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give this review. We sincerely apologize and wish you would have expressed your unpleasant visit before you left. We always try to make sure everyone is happy and we would have tried our best to turn your unpleasant stay into a pleasant one. We are in the process of remodeling all of our rooms,... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Monaco Resort, recently renamed Island Cay under new owners, in March over spring break. Our room, kitchen and bathroom were very clean when we arrived. The owners and housecleaning ladies were extremely helpful and kind. Whenever we needed something, they were always eager to accommodate our needs. The owners also provided local information, such as trolley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review and we appreciate you taking the time to write it! We are very happy to be here, love the business and strive to make sure all of our guests has a remarkable stay! We are excited about the changes being made and hope you will return soon so you can see them! Let's just... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We visit Clearwater every year and always stay at the Monaco, we love it. Just a 2 minute walk from the beach and it has everything you will need; full kitchen, dishwasher, big beds, and a nice pool. There is even grills on property to use for a BBQ. Great beach hotel and very well priced!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Although, I was not here during your visit, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your nice review and taking the time to give one, very appreciated. It is now under new ownership/management and I hope you will return so you can all the good and positive changes that is being made! Again, thank you and we... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms, bed linens and bathrooms were disgustingly filthy. The wifi did not work and the 1970's televisions cable reception was terrible also. When complain to management, the lady in the office was rude and obnoxious. Would never recommend this property to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & I am very upset that you did not have a good stay. I took over as manager last week & since arriving I have been doing several things to improve the resort so I feel you would enjoy your stay. I have managed resorts for many, many years & always have great guest satisfaction.... More 

Odessa, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Rented 2 bedroom suite, for Jazz festival Oct. 2014. While room was spacious enough, it was filthy, 3 dead roaches in kitchen/L.R.., A/c in bedroom loud but didn't cool, refrig. had spills and dirt in it; trouble with door locks, white kitchen cabinets had drips and spots all over, (took me only 10 min to clean, but not my job)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hammond, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 5 night in July 2014. We were in a one bedroom suite; when we arrived at 9pm I checked all of the \mattresses and they were new and clean. The a/c worked wonderfully. The fridge had one foot in the grave but the freezer was cold enough to keep everything at a safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liberty Township, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had a great time on our vacation at Clearwater Beach staying at the Monaco Resort due to the couple who ran the place Tom and Robin they were friendly and very helpful always willing to provide things that made our stay more enjoyable from kitchen items to things we needed for the beach. The room was very clean. and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question