We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach

Hotel website
648 Poinsettia Ave North, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Monaco Resort)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    12
    6
    6
    22
See reviews for
22
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is located too far to walk to Pier 60 - the marina or anything except a few dumpy bars - Shitwreck & Beachfyre - and the beach. The prior owner of this motel is the worlds biggest cheapskate - a liar - fraudster - and spoiled silver spoon coke head. The dump reputation & clientele he built for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was an incredibly charming resort only two blocks from beautiful white sands and the gulf of mexico. The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly. Even after an uncharacteristic screw-up by hotels.com that booked us in the wrong sized room, the resort went above and beyond to make it right, putting our family in a much upgraded room without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed for Memorial day weekend and I must say I was surprised by how clean the room was, it was a standard hotel room but cozy enough for the two of us. The staff was super nice, thank you Tam & Steve for making our stay comfortable, we had a great time. We will return so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I was the one who wrote the review called rip off. I wrote the review in the beginning of May. I still do not have my refund. I told them I needed by Memorial week end to get another motel. Their comment about they couldn't accommodate us because of their renovation. That was a lie. I told Tammy I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Hands down worst place I've ever stayed in. Island Circus is more like it... Messed up our reservations, but blamed it on Expedia.. put us in a bug bombed room.. Then moved us to another room .. Wait no that rooms not finished .. Another room. Then pounded on my door at 7AM and told me to vacate the premises... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that your reservation, which was booked by you online was for only one adult and two children so the reservation system assigned the type of room to the number of guest quoted by you online so that is why you was given that room type. The room has been recently, within the past month, remodeled so it... More 

Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

This MOTEL was taken over by new owners and changed the name to ISLAND CAY. We arrived on May 17th, 2015.. booked a room for myself, my husband, and two children. They booked the wrong room and stuck us in a tiny studio like room with one bed. We agreed to stay there and move to a different room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Wow, I am very disappointed with this review! Upset of course, because you did not enjoy your stay and it is unfortunate that your reservation, which was booked by you online was for only one adult and two children so the reservation system assigned the type of room to the number of guest quoted by you online so that is... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The overall place was great only downfall was the front door's knob looked like it was ready to come off in your hand. After propping the chair against the door all was well for a little nighttime security.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Just as the lady below me commented, we too got in late Thursday night and they made sure our key was ready and that our room was ready for us. I couldn't believe how great our room was for the price! It was so quiet out and everyone kept to themselves. My boyfriend and I even got to go out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

When I made this reservation I have to admit that I didn't know what to expect. A two bedroom condo for under $200.00 a night. After reading the reviews from people that had stayed there, and even more having a general manager respond to all the comments whether they were good or bad definitely made me feel the owners/managers cared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

The new owners are awful. Made reservations 2 months ago. They will not honor our rooms after paying for them. They were very rude. Would never attempt to go there. The only thing they will do to accommodate us is a refund. 2 weeks before Memorial weekend. We had three rooms. They ruin 3 families vacations. Along with their children.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Steve M, Manager at The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

I understand how aggravating the situation is and I do apologize but as I explained to you, since we have renovated, we no longer offer the room type you requested and when I offered to change your room, you refused so the only choice I had was to refund so again, I apologize and hope in the future you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay