We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

3.5 of 5 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Deal
Save $25 on Food & Drinks
#6 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
332 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
  • Overview
  • Reviews (332)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Doubletree Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    129
    69
    32
    11
See reviews for
65
63
32
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pool closed with a severely bad smell filling the whole floor. The bellhop lost my very expensive bag (which was eventually returned to me) after very bad unneeded stress. The hotel is a bit outdated but not awful. The room was nice. The parking is not owned by Doubletree and you have to go to the front desk to validate... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for your feedback as it is very important to us. I certainly apologize for the challenges you encountered. I completely understand the undo stress and am very glad to hear the bag was found. The pool unfortunately has a tear in the liner. The new liner is being manufactured and then work will commense to repair the... More

Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is ideal if you are traveling to and from Wilmington by train. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and totally adequate. The only problem is the air-conditioning. It is very slow to cool the room and I spent half a night hot and uncomfortable. This hotel has the usual lumpy square... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback via TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear the staff was friendly and the hotel clean but do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I completely understand about the pillows and we are researching now as to whether or not there is a different option under HIlton standards. The... More

Gwynn Oak, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel and location. Indoor swimming pool is awesome when in working order. They could offer complimentary breakfast to at least the HHHonors Members. But overall very cozy and well kept hotel. The rooms are very elegant.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Aretha, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback via TripAdvisor. It is very unfortunate our pool is closed and we hope to have it back up by the beginning of October at the latest. The pool has a tear in the liner and we have a new one being manufactured at this time. Regarding breakfast, the hotel does... More

Tower City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone was great from check in to check out. The room was beautuful and sparkling clean. The shuttle took us where we wanted to go. The bar was fun and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. And we loved the cookies!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Elaine, Thank you for comments on TripAdvisor. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The staff does take pride in providing excellent guest service. We look forward to seeing again, hopefully soon! Sincerely, Alan FIler General Manager More

San Diego, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came in for a business meeting. Great hotel. Awesome staff. Took the free shuttle to/from the waterfront for dinner. Had drinks in the bar. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. No complaints whatsoever. Clean. Good part of town.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Derek, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to utlize the complimentary shuttle. I will definitely share your comments with the staff as they too, like to hear from our guests. We do hope to see you again soon... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first and most obvious thing that you notice on arrival is the quality, friendly and happy staff that great you. The team at the hotel ensured a superb stay. Breakfast is a buffet, with on demand as you like them eggs, so omelette ruled the start of the day. A broad range of meals available for the evening meal,... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The staff does take great pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of. The pool should hopefully be re-open within the next few weeks. The new... More

Wilmington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had 120 guests who attended our daughter's wedding stay at the Double Tree with a brunch at the Double Tree on the day after the wedding. Shuttle drivers and hotel staff were excellent. The rooms were excellent and staff was extremely accommodating. Would hight recommend the Double Tree - Market Street, Wilmington, DE.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Joan, Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We are so happy to hear that this very special weekend was enjoyable for you and your guests. It was definitely our pleasure. Please pass on our congratulations to Katie & Ryan. We do hope to see you and your family again in the future. Sincerely, Alan Filer... More

Bowling Green, KY, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Customer service was excellent, rooms very nicely furnished and clean. Hotel equipment was not in good working order. Pool was closed, air conditioner undependable, floor ice machine not operating. Restaurant was expensive, but probably average for the area and the type of hotel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dolores, Thank you for writing a review and we are glad to here the service provided was excellent, I will be sure to share with our teams. I do apologize for the challenges you encountered. We are currently working to rectify those issues. The ice machines are back operational after receiving the necessary parts from the manufacture. The pool unfortunately... More

Wilmington, DE, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booking the stay was difficult. one receptionist said more than 4 in a room was against fire code. The next reception said I could pay a "mere" $10/night extra to "bypass" the fire code. What??!! Rooms were decent and staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Julie, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor, our guests feedback is very important to us. I was ahppy to hear you were able to encounter some of our freindly staff. I do sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered when you were booking the room. The first person you spoke with is correct, we do limit to four... More

Ocean City, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Entrance is difficult if you have the smaller travel wheelchair for the elderly. Very small driveway and no bell captain to direct dropoffs/pickups of guests. Pool was closed and Guest Hallways were not air conditioned. I expected more than a hot cookie for this caliber of a hotel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Jill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I sincerely apologize for any challanges you encountered particuarly with the entrance to the hotel. As with many urban locations the entrance area to our hotel is not quite as big as most typical suburban locations. Our hotel does meet all... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Doubletree Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Address: 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Wilmington Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wilmington with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in #5 Romantic Hotel in
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
219

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Doubletree Wilmington Downtown and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Wilmington Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer