We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Wilmington hotels

Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on Food & Drinks
Save Saved
You added Doubletree Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
67%
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Elaine M Tower City, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (329)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    128
    67
    32
    11
See reviews for
63
63
32
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tower City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everyone was great from check in to check out. The room was beautuful and sparkling clean. The shuttle took us where we wanted to go. The bar was fun and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. And we loved the cookies!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Came in for a business meeting. Great hotel. Awesome staff. Took the free shuttle to/from the waterfront for dinner. Had drinks in the bar. Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. No complaints whatsoever. Clean. Good part of town.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The first and most obvious thing that you notice on arrival is the quality, friendly and happy staff that great you. The team at the hotel ensured a superb stay. Breakfast is a buffet, with on demand as you like them eggs, so omelette ruled the start of the day. A broad range of meals available for the evening meal,... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The staff does take great pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of. The pool should hopefully be re-open within the next few weeks. The new... More

Wilmington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had 120 guests who attended our daughter's wedding stay at the Double Tree with a brunch at the Double Tree on the day after the wedding. Shuttle drivers and hotel staff were excellent. The rooms were excellent and staff was extremely accommodating. Would hight recommend the Double Tree - Market Street, Wilmington, DE.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Joan, Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We are so happy to hear that this very special weekend was enjoyable for you and your guests. It was definitely our pleasure. Please pass on our congratulations to Katie & Ryan. We do hope to see you and your family again in the future. Sincerely, Alan Filer... More

Bowling Green, KY, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Customer service was excellent, rooms very nicely furnished and clean. Hotel equipment was not in good working order. Pool was closed, air conditioner undependable, floor ice machine not operating. Restaurant was expensive, but probably average for the area and the type of hotel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dolores, Thank you for writing a review and we are glad to here the service provided was excellent, I will be sure to share with our teams. I do apologize for the challenges you encountered. We are currently working to rectify those issues. The ice machines are back operational after receiving the necessary parts from the manufacture. The pool unfortunately... More

Wilmington, DE, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booking the stay was difficult. one receptionist said more than 4 in a room was against fire code. The next reception said I could pay a "mere" $10/night extra to "bypass" the fire code. What??!! Rooms were decent and staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Julie, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor, our guests feedback is very important to us. I was ahppy to hear you were able to encounter some of our freindly staff. I do sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered when you were booking the room. The first person you spoke with is correct, we do limit to four... More

Ocean City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Entrance is difficult if you have the smaller travel wheelchair for the elderly. Very small driveway and no bell captain to direct dropoffs/pickups of guests. Pool was closed and Guest Hallways were not air conditioned. I expected more than a hot cookie for this caliber of a hotel.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Jill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I sincerely apologize for any challanges you encountered particuarly with the entrance to the hotel. As with many urban locations the entrance area to our hotel is not quite as big as most typical suburban locations. Our hotel does meet all... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is friendly and go out of their way to make your visit a great one. The shuttle service to restaurants and train station is an added bonus. Convenient location to train station. Rooms are clean and the cookie at check in was yummy!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed it and do hope to see you again the next time travel brings you to Wilmington. I am glad to hear your comments regarding the staff as I know they take great pride in making sure our guests are well taken care of. Sincerely,... More

Wilmington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed the stay & the friendly atmosphere of all working at this facility, The food was excellent & the location was nice because it allowed us to walk across to the Grand theatre to see a great show. The cookies they gave us were delicious & made a nice surprise.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Alvin, We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share you comments with our team. You taking the time to write a review is much appreciated. We do hope you enjoyed the show at the Grand as well. Sincerely, Alan Filer General Manager More

Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good location to visit nearby attractions (longwood gardens, Nemours, Winterthur) nice dining options at river walk. Not much to do in the legal district on weekend. complimentary shuttle bus from hotel makes it easy to get to and from River walk area. At the hotel the area is not inviting to walk around but river walk area is fine.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Teri, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service. The city of Wilmington has done a nice job in trying to rejuvinate the river front area as there is now plenty of options for dining... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Doubletree Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Address: 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Wilmington Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wilmington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington #3 Business Hotel in Wilmington #5 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
219

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Doubletree Wilmington Downtown and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Wilmington Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer