We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Wilmington hotels

Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on Food & Drinks
Save Saved
You added Doubletree Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
sbrill5481 Margate City, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (316)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    64
    32
    11
See reviews for
59
61
32
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

My recent stay was pleasant. The pool is closed for repairs, I didn't see any construction going on but then again I didn't go look. I am used to walking around everywhere when I go to places, was told to be very careful outside because the area can get shady at night. I didn't go adventure or anything but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willingboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this hotel clean, rm was clean neat no order, internet service was spot on, great location, staff was 1derful, onsite food was good, if one must travel to this area highly recommend u stay here, the warm cookie at check was an added bonus, check out a breeze and they stored my luggage until after my mtg good thing and... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

After a long day of driving we decided to check into a hotel and this looked to fit the bill for the area. The GPS took us through perhaps some of the worst neighborhoods of Wilmington with roads closed which could really turn you around. Upon arrival the car port was nowhere near the parking so we followed a sign... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kulpmont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good for the price. Does need updating but all in all it's a good deal. Restaurant breakfast buffet was very good and had a decent variety, although the booth seating was poor and definitely needs new bench seats.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Front desk attendant, Kimberlee was extremely helpful with recommendations for dinner - quick check in and just overall delightful. Room was very clean and updated. Looking forward to visit again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to share your comments with Kimberlee as well as her peers. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Alan Filer General Manager More

Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were not very clean and could use some updating. It is not what I would expect out of Hilton brand. The pool was not working and we were not informed of this until our arrival. The wall were paper thin and could you hear everything in the hallways and the outside. Our room was over the Porte Cochere... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Traci, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize that we fell short and did not provide the service and product that was expected. We did have an unfortunate tear in the pool liner which was the reason for the closure. We did make every effort to contact our existing reservations as well... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a bad place for 1 night on the way to D.C. Cheap rates for the type of hotel. Only the pool wasn't working. I would consider staying there again, but would have to check out the other area hotels first to see if they had a working pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize that the pool was not in working order. The liner which was only 2 years old, unfortunately developed a tear and was leaking. The hotel is working towards a resolution as the entire liner does need replacement. We did immediately post on our website, let... More

Nashville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Always friendly and accomodating. Food is excellent and room service is fast and courteous. Locations is great - close to the train station and 30 minutes to the Philadephia airport. Call in advance for a taxi from the front desk. Their van shuttle will pick you up at the train station and will take you to area restaurants if you... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

James, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff, as I do know they do take pride in providing our guests with friendly service. We hope to see you again soon when travel... More

Charlotte
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I left a wake-up call with the hotel staff on my second evening of a two day stay to ensure I was up in time to catch my plane back to Charlotte the next day. I DID NOT RECEIVE THE CALL. I was fortunate to wake in time to make my plane. I was told I would receive added Hilton... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Mr. Radigan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was made aware of the unfortunate missed wake up call and I certainly apologize as I completely understand the frustration, particularly when you need to catch a flight. I have shared the situation with our front desk team and stressed the importance to them when a mistake... More

Dover, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were greeted with great warmth and courtesy. It was a wonderful time. We were blessed with a great room, wonderful hospitality and service beyond our expectations. The only complaint was the chef may have been having a bad day. Our dinner was a little overcooked. Being a chef myself, My wife and I noticed it right away. We were... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFiler, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Bishop G, Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I know the staff does genuinely care and it matters to them that our guests are well taken care of. I will be sure to share your comments with them. I was sorry to hear about your dinner and have spoken... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Doubletree Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Address: 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Wilmington Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington #5 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
219

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer