We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    122
    159
    86
    42
    17
See reviews for
82
77
43
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Hammonton NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The front desk staff was very welcoming upon our arrival and were very helpful with knowledge of the local area. The free shuttle is a plus to get around the city. The rooms were clean and fresh. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of food.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here overnight for a work event, and while I found my room to be great, some of my colleagues were not as fortunate. The AC worked well, the room was clean and comfortable, and the free cookies in the morning were a nice touch (although we could have done without the dirty looks by the front desk staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jackie V, Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at Doubletree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. Wilmington is promoting many festivals and weekend activities now more than ever and I am confident that this buzz will continue. We are famous for our DoubleTree Chocolate Chip cookies and you are always welcome to enjoy them during your stay. We... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is decorated nicely, it makes you feel calm and relaxed after a long day traveling for business or pleasure. It is not situated in the best area of downtown wilmington but for the price and its amenities i believe the location works! It has a nice quiet lounge on the 9th floor for hilton honors diamond members which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ng4uk, Hello and thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable, clean and convenient. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Joanne C More 

United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good Morning Joanne Let me first say I like saying at the Double Tree in Wilmington. Joanne it was not just the room not getting clean. When I checked in on Monday my two key cards did not work ( Room 828) so you know for a 58 year old guy that a long walk back down to the front... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ron T, I am glad that we were able to connect and I appreciate knowing more details about your stay. I sincerely apologize for your experience and we hope that you will join us again and allow us the opportunity to re-earn your patronage. Regards, Joanne C More 

Cerritos, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you have business in this part of the city you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel at this price. Employees are great! Very helpful and sincere. I would recommend this place to my friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mark F, We are delighted with your posting and rating on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at doubletree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. Thank you very much. We certainly hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Joanne C More 

Douglassville, PA
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am working on a project in Wilmington April 2015-March 2017. I have my choices of hotels (Westin, Sheraton, Doubletree) but choose the Doubletree since I have had good experience with other Hilton properties. I just completed my 5th stay. My first week with the hotel, I provided a list of the dates I needed reservations for. They kindly made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear gnestlerode Thank you for your past patronage of the DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. While we do have a policy for early departures as many hotels do, we certainly can make exceptions especially for our HHonors and frequent guests. Please contact me directly so we can make this right! Thank you. Regards, Joanne C More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I’ve used this hotel as a last minute booking and was nothing but disappointed. The facility is old and tattered, the staff was icy cold and although the house was only about 40% booked that night, they still choose to put me in a room next to the elevator shaft. For this stay it was not a big deal, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear LeppFrog, Thank you for your posting regarding the DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. I apologize that we fell short in our service and room delivery. Since your stay in October, we have made a great deal of improvements and I welcome a return visit to our hotel so we may re-earn your loyalty. Thank you. Sincerely, Joanne C More 

Huntley, IL.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Doubletree in May of 2014 and I'm back in May 2015. Since I was last year, I'm told the hotel has go through a 5 million dollar renovation, which is pretty apparent from the lobby up into the rooms. The rooms were very clean, the beds are comfy, shower has great water pressure, and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dion L, Wow! What great recognition of our team here at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. these ARE some of the city's finest hospitality professionals and they are absolutely thrilled that you mentioned them by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for their effort. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon Check-in, I had a slight issue with the air-conditioning unit in my room. It was quite noisy for my comfort, so I called the Front desk and immediately, REGGIE came up and took care of the issue. He was extremely courteous and for that I am truly grateful. I had a minor hiccup with the restroom, but that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dion L Wow! Thank you for the recognition of our team here at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. The team is thrilled that you recognized them by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for their genuine hospitality and professionalism. We very much look forward to hosting another visit soon. Enjoy your day! Joanne C More 

Millersville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the hotel close to everything that we were looking for and our entertainment was just one block away. One of the reasons I don't normally do surveys is because they are too rigid. Why do I have to do a minimum of 200 characters to comment. The hotel was nice, the staff was nice. The city left a... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jo G, Thank you for the delightful posting about the Doubletree by Hilton downtown Wilmington! We are pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and convenient. Most of all thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize our team here for their sincere hospitality. We hope to see you again soon! Joanne C More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay