We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    155
    83
    39
    15
See reviews for
81
75
41
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Juncos, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was cleaned and my room was organized and clean. I do eat at the restaurant and everyone were very helpful and make me feel very well. Even that the hotel is in downtowm near a lot of places it was quiet and I really rest. If I return to Wilmington I definitely stay there.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Myriam M, Your message was very nice to see posted on our Trip Advisor site. I appreciate knowing that you felt right at home with us at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. We do hope to see you again soon! Take care - Joanne C More 

ambler, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very clean. The front desk people were very pleasant. You do have to pay for parking which is now $11 a day. My only issue was there was a group of students who were roaming my floor from 11:30pm to 1am screaming and slamming doors. It was unreal. It stopped after I opened the door and yelled... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth C, I certainly do apologize for the interruption you had in your stay and more importantly that we did not follow up with you as promised. I have discussed this with the team. Thank you for sharing a comment about the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff at guest reception. The team is always thrilled when they... More 

Irvington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is always a pleasure to stay at Doubletree as it is my first choice of places to stay. Came to DE for a wedding and was very pleased. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Had a lack of communication at a point but it was resolved.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Nena B, Thank you again for letting us know about your recent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. We appreciate the feedback and especially the comment regarding our remarkable staff! Enjoy your day. Joanne C More 

Ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many DoubleTree hotels and this one so far is the best. If there is an option for a 10-STAR, I would give it to Cheree at the front desk. She is so friendly and she made our trip a memorable experience. We checked in late the night before and they ran out of our favorite cookies.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear L S: I very much appreciate the opportunity you have provided me to recognize one of our superstars at the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Wilmington. Cheree is so delightful and the hospitality she extends is very sincere. We will certainly recognize and celebrate her at the hotel! We do hope that you are able to travel back to Wilmington... More 

Bridgeport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have traveled many places, but the genuine care & concern received from the staff at this hotel is second to none! Namely, Eric at the Front Desk is extremely professional and knowledgable. He even has super powers- He saved the day from what could have been a disaster due to a mistake I made when originally booking the reservation!... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Michael D, We are thrilled that you had some time to post a review about one of our superstars at the DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. Eric is a diamond among many gems on our team and I am appreciative for the opportunity to recognize him for his outstanding customer care. Thank you and we hope to see you... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As noted by many others, the friendliness of the staff is what holds this place together. The neighborhood is a bit rough, but the hotel was clean, safe, well appointed and close to Market Street and the Legal District. Some of the bothersome details: a broken leg on the ironing board, one of the two phones in the room did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Brian L, Thank you for sharing some details of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington DE. We will be sure to pay closer attention to the details in the guest room as we strive for 100% satisfaction. I also thank you for the recognition of the team members here and the genuine hospitality that they provide.... More 

Hyattsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall I would say it was very pleasant outing. The Staff was very Professional in there accommodating me as a Guess. I am very on point with thing (former Military) and Cleanliness and Neatness do count. Food is another item not to be trifled with and attitude is a must. I would no doubt stay at the Double Tree again... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, It is certainly a pleasure to have hosted you during a recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton downtown Wilmington. We are pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel and the attitude of our great team members. I will be sure to share this posting with them. Please join us again soon. Warm Regards, Joanne C More 

Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

bad customer service, and poor management. Dirty lobby . I was checked into the hotel and when i was ready to pay for the hotel with cash the hotel then decided to tell me that I could not pay for the room after they already checked me in. This was late at night when I had to find another accommodations;... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Khalifah W, I appreciate your feedback during the check in procedure at our guest service area. I am very sorry that we were not able to accommodate you due to our internal policies and procedures. Thank you. Joanne More 

Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With what seems to be a standard for Wilmington Hotels, they don't seem to get the love of the parent company to upgrade their spaces. The room was nice, the elevator scary, but the hotel overall was just average. Not a place that I would run away from, and since I have lots of Hilton points, will be one that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear sasmith72, I appreciate your recent posting about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Wilmington. We are working on a current lift of our facility and I guarantee you will see changes soon. Remember, our complimentary shuttle is a convenient way to get anywhere in downtown Wilmington within minutes. We are very much looking forward to your return visit... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice Hotel just really can't go outside at night. Thats not the hotels fault just a bad area. You don't have to go out of the Hotel at night as they have great food and things to do in the Hotel. Good for overnight stays or Business Meetings.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne C, General Manager at Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 80gild, Thank you for your posting about the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Wilmington. I appreciate the recognition of our staff and restuarant. Remember we have a shuttle to the Wilmington Riverfront where a dozen or so restaurants are located and the Riverwalk is just beautiful at any time of the year. We hope you return soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question