We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canalside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canalside Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I have always wanted to visit the Rehoboth/Dewey area during the winter to see what is was like without all the crowds of summer. We decided to book a room at the Canalside INN for my birthday weekend in January. It is truly a great place to stay.We got a fantastic rate. The rooms are very nice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ghbeatle
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for celebrating with us -- it sounds like you had a great weekend! Summer or winter, there's always something fun, and we'd love to see you both back here again soon! Cheers, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Port Penn, Delaware
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A few blocks away from downtown and DFH. Clean rooms, at a great price. My first time will not be our last time. Kind of tucked away, and I liked that about it. Can't wait for a return trip in the fall.

Helpful?
Thank Luckyinlove2000
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you loved your stay with us! It sounds like you got to do a little bit of everything around here, and we're looking forward to having you back in the fall! Keep in touch, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Another great visit with Rick, Steven and resident kitty Lindsey. We were able to check in a little early. They never seem to disappoint. Nice and quiet at the inn and downtown was bustling a bit. Rooms were clean and warm! THANKS AGAIN SEE YOU IN APRIL!

Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

Let the countdown to April begin, Dawn! So happy to hear that you and Earl loved your stay and that the room was comfortable and clean. We're looking forward to next time! All the best, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We stayed here for the marathon in December. We were able to walk to the race start and finish which made race day easier. They have a basic continental breakfast (muffins, bagels, oatmeal packets, fruit cups, coffee and juice) which was fine. Our room was clean and did have a mini fridge. The room we were in (at the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patty D
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you had a good stay, Patty -- congrats on running the marathon! We appreciate all of your feedback, and we're looking forward to seeing you next year. Keep in touch! All our best, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed mid week this December to get away from work for a few days. Had no problems booking a room. Requesting their Winter Special ($60 per night/2 nights min) they got us right in. Always willing to come upstairs to help with anything, like asking for an extra toothbrush! We were graciously allowed to our room two hours early!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bevin H
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and Brandon stay with us, Bevin! A mid-week getaway is a perfect escape, and we're beyond delighted to hear that your whole stay was perfect. We'd love to have you back again, so keep in touch when you're in town again! All our best, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Fleetwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Came here on Black Friday, traffic by outlets was horrible, but when we finally arrived, we were greeted warmly. We had our dog with us and had plenty of room in our king studio. Walking trail right across the street for her to do her business. Awesome place to stay...a bit of a walk to the beach, but great exercise.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

That traffic is no cake walk, Cathy, and we're thrilled you and your pup made it here finally! It sounds like you got to take advantage of everything around us, and we can't wait to see you back here sometime soon! Safe travels, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Recently I went on an overnight excursion with my friend Marjorie. We decided to go to the outlets in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, to get a jump start on our holiday shopping. Marjorie had booked a room at Canalside Inn. It looked like the perfect place - in a quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of the resort community.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We do our best to accommodate late checkout requests whenever we can. But we are a small business and do not have all of the flexibility of the larger hotels which typically have higher vacancy rates. Unfortunately we were not able to offer a late checkout to this guest because we had a limited amount to time to clean the... More 

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

The Canalside Inn was a welcome, pleasant surprise. Photos online and a view of their site had me impressed, but having never seen, heard of or stayed at the Inn before, I kept my expectations in check. The Canalside Inn was indeed in a premium location, just a block away from landmark Rehoboth Avenue, and a cool three or four... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe S
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

Joe -- thanks for all the kind words here. From our location to the amenities, it means a lot to us that you took the time to drop us a line. We try very hard to keep the Inn clean and presentable. We'd love to have you back for another stay sometime this summer. Keep in touch! Safe travels, Rick... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Attentive staff, comfortable rooms, medium walk from shops. Room had coffee maker, small refrigerator, large bed. Breakfast was okay, nothing fancy. Close to Dogfish Head Brewpub - nice walk back to hotel after sampling the menu.

Helpful?
Thank wlamb123
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you got to experience a lot around here, and we're so happy to see you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the feedback on the breakfast -- we'll keep that in mind next time you're here! Best, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

We went here mid-September 2015. Our room had a nice aesthetic to it, and was clean. The hotel is prob. a 15 minute walk from the beach area, and as its name implies it is located right next to a canal. Breakfast in the morning was only OK (thought the coffee was pretty good), not offering much in selection and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry to see you were a little disappointed here, Christopher -- that's the last thing we want to see. We're always trying to give our guests the best value, and we appreciate the feedback here. Safe travels, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#21 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay