We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canalside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
34 Sixth Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Special Offer
Call for Lowest Rate!
Canalside Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AATEDD Washington DC
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    38
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
96
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very small rooms, and the tub very small, and narrow, not if you are tall. Closet with fridge, so on the top of fridge hang your cloths. The towels were rough, and the "robes" they advertise, I do not recommend, small and they look like had been 150 washed . A/C unit noise, very noise, and no wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found this hotel because we did not have a person to watch our dog and wanted a quick getaway. The hotel is cute and decorated really nice. The rooms were spacious and clean. The walls are pretty thin in the rooms so if your dog barks a lot might not work. We got called back to check on ours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We know pets are a part of the family, so we don't want them left behind! You deserve a nice relaxing stay the whole time you're here -- please come back and see us again soon! Best, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This was our first time staying at the Canalside Inn and although it was a pleasant, quiet location, it was a little further from town than we prefer. However, that is basically a personal preference...the Inn itself is set back from Rehoboth Avenue so it is quiet and the rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable with above average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We're happy to see your first stay with us was enjoyable overall, but we want to make sure you have the perfect stay you deserve. Thanks for the feedback here -- we're always looking for ways to improve and this will help us move forward. We can't wait to have you back soon so we can give you the great... More 

Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The Canalside Inn was a good deal for us in the off season. Nice and quiet with low rates. This inn accepts small pets in some rooms and has a resident cat, so allergy suffers might book elsewhere. We aren't "pet people" but we weren't bothered by them. We had a king room that was nice. It had access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We want to be a little home away from home for you, Kathy! You should be able to relax and enjoy a getaway whenever you decide to come to Rehoboth Beach, so we'll be here for your next trip! Hope to see you again soon, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

MAGNOLIA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Do not do business with Canelside Inn. We have stayed here 3 years in a row, celebrating our anniversary. The rooms were always nice, updated, and generally comfortable. My problem stems from a billing error they refuse to correct or even work with. For a place I had recommended to many others (four other couples personally have stayed there with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

As soon as we got in to Kennelside Inn, the carpet was stained and the bathroom not fully painted. In the middle of night, 3 dogs barking at 11:30pm from three different rooms!!!!!!! Meanwhile, our dog was quiet and never said a peep the entire stay. At 12:30am, the guests downstairs had their 2 minute tryst with loud moaning. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We wish you'd been able to enjoy your stay with us more -- if our guests are disappointed, then so are we. Although we ask everyone who stays with us, especially pet owners, to be courteous and considerate of other guests, at the end of the day we can't maintain complete control of the noise level. That said, our front... More 

Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Quiet neighborhood on the canal, walking distance to shops, resteraunts and beach. Very small room, but comfortable and clean. Says queen bed, but felt smaller than my queen at home. Pet friendly which along with prices was why I chose it. Nice communal area in basement, also small pool and hot tub that were not yet open. Employee at front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanalsideInn, Owner at Canalside Inn, responded to this review

We know vacations just aren't the same with out your furry family members, Kathy! Thanks for the feedback here -- we'll use this moving forward. Hope to have you back soon, Rick and Steve, Owners More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We stayed one night with our dog. Our room (and I think every room) had an interior corridor and exterior entrance to the shared balcony/deck. The exterior door was perfect for us, as we could come and go with our pup without walking through the hallways and lobby every time. (It's not a problem to use the interior corridors with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Loved the Canalside Inn! Very clean, inviting, charming, and affordable... Owner was very nice and welcoming as he personally guided us to our room. It was a very cold evening when my husband and I arrived and we were able to use the hot tub located on a quiet, relaxing outdoor deck. The room looked like it was the size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halethorpe, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Honestly can not find one area where this place could improve. The staff, the rooms, the service, the location... the list goes on and on how amazing Canalside Inn is. This will be the first and only place I will be looking to stay for future trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay