We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Oaks Family Campground

35567 Big Oak Lane, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Big Oaks Family Campground
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    11
    18
    10
See reviews for
53
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

This is a great campground for young families who intend to spend time at Rehoboth Beach. It's located less than three miles from the beach making it easy to travel back and forth. Onsite they have modern shower facilities, a pool and a nice playground - home to a huge bunny who lives there! The camp sites are located close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again! More 

Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The owner seems to have an excuse for everything, but believe me when I say that you would be better suited to stay ANYWHERE else but here. They are extremely rude, have a 'take it or leave it' attitude, and are very belligerent. Rude to myself and my guests, unkempt grounds, and just overall a very unwelcome atmosphere. Worst campground... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

The review makes it unclear as to what the issue was, but my guess is that they came when we were full, and had a few areas left that are not our best. We don't twist anybody's arm, we just say this is all we have left, if you want it, it's yours, if not, no problem. More 

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Big Oaks Campground My kids had a blast, the pool was clean as well as the campground. No loud music nobody driving fast, very laid back and relaxing. It may cost more then some of the other campgrounds in the area but it's worth it. ***** See you this summer Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review! It is so nice to hear that our hard work is noticed and appreciated and that your family enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again this summer! More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Very discouraged after we have been camping there for 3-4 yrs with our large party. Once our son turned 18, they told us he cannot be in the same tent as his 16yr old brother. They wanted us to purchase another site, have him in a tent by himself and then the rest of us stay in one tent (2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

We have a one camping unit per site policy. We will bend that rule for a single family of 2 adults and children under 18 years, so that the parents can have privacy from their children. Most campgrounds charge adult fees for kids 14 and over. We consider them children until they turn 18. At that point, they are considered... More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Upon arriving, felt very uncomfortable with so many confederate flags in view. Staff were not friendly, realizing because prob we were black. Bathrooms and showers were filthy. Bedrooms were too small.we were so uncomfortable we even left a day earlier. Upon leaving, we were not given any hospitality. We weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay. One night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Our cabins are larger than most that we have camped in elsewhere,and we are complimented on our bathrooms all the time, but camping isn't for everybody. More 

Severn, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here about 4 or 5 times in tent sites. We haven't really had any problems. A lot of kids running around, be seeing as its a family campground, that's to be expected. It's a nice short drive to Rehoboth beach. It does have a pool, so that's a nice plus, but there are usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoy our campground and are glad to have you as a return camper! Thank you for your business. More 

Ephata, Pa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have been coming to Big Oaks for the past three years with our family. We have always been happy with our stay there until this year. I called the day before our trip to see if there were any tent sites. We were told thatthere were ten but they couldnt reserve them. So we went the next day and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

We physically show the overflow areas before you sign in or pay. You have the option to stay or try to find something else. We find that most people are thankful that we try to find them a place to stay, and literally beg us to find a space just big enough to pitch their tent because they don’t want... More 

phila PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We come here all the time. Location, location, location... Shopping for the girls, outdoors for the boys:) The place is a short walk away from Midway shopping center, where you can catch a free bus to other parts of the mall. The beach is about 15 minutes away or you can bike there in 45 minutes. Very scenic route. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to stay with us. We are blessed to live so close to so many great things, and to be able to share them with you. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Selinsgrove
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When I paid the down payment, the price was set at 575$ for a week in a cabin but when we got there the price had changed and we had to pay all of the difference. The cabin sleeps 6 people but there are many hidden costs. We would have left but I had already paid the down payment and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

We take reservations up to a year ahead, and have to base the deposit on the price at the time. The cabin weekly rate increased by $25.00. Our pricing is based on 2 adults and 2 children under 18yrs., and one car. Any additional persons or cars incur an additional fee. We chose to purchase cabins that accommodate more people... More 

Philladelphia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The trip was ok but you were very very close to the people next door. There was no space, or privacy. Inside the office was incredibly racist. Pretty much nothing but stuff about supporting the south.Stuff like "The south shall rise again" Overall I would not recommend.But I would recommend to go to "Tall Pines" campground.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review

You were here during the busiest time of the year, when we are running at our absolute fullest. Nothing in the office is racist, nor do we discriminate against anybody. We have, and welcome, campers of all kinds. The items in the office related to the South have nothing to do with race. They are historical, as the owner is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities