We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, DE

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1024 Old Churchmans Road, Newark, DE 19713
Special Offer
Book early and Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Country Inn & Stes to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, DE
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, DE
Add Photo

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    37
    22
    19
    15
See reviews for
55
27
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed here from the time they opened and it has just gone to the dogs! This trip - NO AC in room for 4 days - I complained daily and was repeatedly told it would be fixed. The towels were thin and shabby, lousy pillows & horrible customer service! We will never be returning here! So disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, DE, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites I apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. After personally speaking with you during your stay, I am very sorry you were unable to accept another room at any time during your stay to avoid such an uncomfortable situation due to your belongings. All... More 

Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed in the Country Inn & Suites in State College, PA and this hotel was almost exactly the same. Room 313 with 2 Queen beds is comfortable, cool, quiet and conveniently located. The check-in was quick. We did not stay for the free breakfast but it looked well stocked and adequate. Easy check-out. The bathroom was the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a business traveller, an outlet near the work desk is most important. No matter how good the hotel, or room accommodations, I should not have to search and find a plug well behind the refrigerator, not easily to access. No plug to be found, not even at the lamp on the table. Pix attached. I won't return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and breakfast was awesome!!! Peaceful and relaxing......only complaint? No pool,or hot tub........but sometimes you can't have everything. I would definitely come back again if in the area!

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked two nights 9 months ago on points to attend University of Delaware graduation. A heat wave engulfed us upon entering the room. We immediately went to the front desk and was told there were no other rooms. We had to run an errand and returned to the front desk and asked if everyone had checked into the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, DE, responded to this review

David, Thanks for your review. Our most sincere apologies. We treat every concern with the utmost seriousness. We did alert the authorities to the unwanted individual you mentioned, and our staff kept an eye on his activities. Our exterior lights come on with sunset and are light sensitive. My apologies that another room was not available- typically this is the... More 

Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had the occasion to stay at this hotel while my friend was being cared for at Christina Hospital. It was a very stressful time and we were exhausted. I booked a room with a king bed. When I entered the room I noticed it was quite warm so I put the air on high and went to visit with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay