We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Newark hotels

TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Eagle Run Road, Newark, DE 19702 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Newark)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com TownePlace.com
and 6 more sites!
64%
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
WalterBWI Baltimore, MD
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
17
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was nice, clean, comfortable. Breakfast was fine. Short drive to restaurants. Would definitely stay again next time in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. I hope to see you again. Regards, Debbie More

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main gist of my review below: We were overcharged for a small room with very few benefits and a very rude staff. We stayed here for 33 days so here is a detailed review of the hotel. Let me start this off by saying before this hotel stay, I exclusively would stay in Towneplace Suites when I traveled for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, In response to all three of your Guest Surveys, I felt it was necessary to address all your concerns as they are not an accurate portrayal of our hotel and the service we provide. Breakfast: Breakfast is served during the weekdays from 6:30-9 AM, 7-10 AM weekends. We’ve never had any complaints about the timing. We have always... More

Waynesboro, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and must say what a great hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was a plus for me as well as the options. My room was neat and clean ,made me feel like home

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Thank You, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again. Regards, Debbie More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have to say my stay was quite pleasant staying at this hotel. My room was nice, spacious, and quiet. Being a meticulous person, I always worry about the cleanliness of places, but I have to admit, I was very happy with my room. I asked the staff about nearby restaurants and they were very friendly and helpful and honest,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at TownePlace Suites. I am so glad you had a great time. I hope to see you again. Regards, Debbie More

Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked this hotel without doing my usual pre-trip TripAdvisor homework. We planned a trip to the Chistiana Mall which is very, very close by, and being rushed, I only saw the Marriott name. When we drove up, I had deja-vu, and not in a good way. This was the very hotel that we stayed at a couple of years ago... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at TPS here in Newark,DE. We have never had issues with the safety of the parking lot as it shows with your trip .We have cameras that monitor the property and inside the hotel to ensure the safety and well-being of all our Guests and Staff. The breakfast is supposed to be... More

Cape Charles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel more than 200 nights over the past 5 years. The property is clean, adequately maintained, but no doubt staffed by the most disinterested crew that we have ever encountered. Trust me, we speak from experience as we are Platinum Premier for Life under Marriott's Reward Program, averaging 225+ hotel nights each year. David is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for staying with us here at TownePlace Suites. I do apologize that you felt our entire staff was not up to your liking.I will look into your concerns and take the appropriate actions. Have a wonderful day. Regards, Debbie More

Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I needed reasonably priced accommodations for a 6 month job assignment in southwest New Jersey. I checked Hampton, Super 8, Courtyard and several lower rated hotels in NJ and couldn't find anything under $109/night. So widened my search circle into Delaware and found TownePlace Suites just west of the Delaware river for $79/night. I wanted to be on the east... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest, We are pleased to have you stay with us and glad you are enjoying your stay. The staff at TPS strives to make their Guests feel welcome and at home during those extended stays away from home. If we may be of assistance to make your stay even more comfortable please dont hesitate to let us know.... More

Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was an unplanned stop on our way to N.Y. The hotel is right off exit 3 (not sure if it is A or B), and right across the road from several dining options. Although the lobby area was just OK, the room was awesome. A kitchen area with a full refrig., cooktop, pots, dishes.....well you get the idea. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forney, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When you think of Marriott, you normally think of quality. This place was not that. The room they gave me had exposed electrical conduit, multiple remote controls for the TV with paper notes on both giving directions. No power outlets available for laptop, and closet door was broken. I informed the front desk the next morning of these things and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
10Debbie, Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at TownePlace Suites. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I have looked into your concerns and have taken the appropriate action. We work very hard to have all our guests enjoy them selves. Have a great day. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel is very clean, the rooms are kept up extremely well and the staff very professional; however, certain breakfast items served in the hotel lobby are to be avoided - most notably, the "hash" which had an odd peculiar smell and taste. My

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel
Towneplace Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Towneplace Suites Newark
Address: 410 Eagle Run Road, Newark, DE 19702 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Newark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark to your Saves list