We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel - The Belle

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1612 North DuPont Highway, New Castle, DE 19720
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

...but not great either. Not a bad location as long as you don't mind sleeping behind the cemetery where the hotel is located. Rooms are at least clean and a decent size and the staff is very friendly. I must say, they also serve up pretty good, homemade food and the restaurant. I was actually surprised at how fresh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ebony S
New York City
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were clean and quiet, even on the side of the building with the highway. The staff was helpful with whatever we needed. Breakfast was varied and replenished as needed. The public areas were clean and welcoming. All in all, this hotel was a very nice place for a stop over.

Helpful?
Thank pjsubway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I had to stay at New Castle for 3 days and needed a place to stay. Booked it online with ease. The hotel is located as soon as you exit 295. It's right beside a cemetery, but you wouldn't even notice it. The hotel's furniture and design is quite old with dark colored carpeting and gold framed... More 

Helpful?
Thank limalexandria
BelleGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review

On behalf of the Clarion hotel and its staff we would to thank you for taking part in our survey. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Once again thank you. Wendy Washington Front Office Manager More 

West Suffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

Recently stayed at this hotel. It's right off the highway, and all hotel personnel were very polite and friendly. Price was extremely reasonable, room was clean and well appointed with microwave, fridge, and comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
BelleGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments you recently gave us during your survey. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Smells like a basement, the wifi won't work in the room, we couldn't shower because the shower door fell off and didn't get any sort of apology. Breakfast is ok but the eggs are gross. There's a Fairfield Inn across the street, stay there. We got in at 2:00 am and just need a place to sleep, so it worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele J
BelleGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review

I apologize to you for the uncomfortable stay you had with us, we strive to make every guest stay as comfortable as possible, looking at your comments we fail to meet your expectation of the hotel, for that I am truly sorry. I was not made aware of any complaints you had, so that we could have rectify your concerns... More 

Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

After a 12 hour day of driving and work it was nice to stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and professional, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had many options to choose from and it's free.

Helpful?
Thank Segemape
BelleGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review

On behalf of the Clarion hotel and its staff we would like to thank you for taking our online survey, and the wonderful comments you had to say regarding your stay at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Wendy Washington More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Attending an event at the hotel so we stayed a couple of nights. First off the non-smoking room we were assigned reeked with smoke so we switched to another room. I thought most hotels banned smoking, but not Clarion apparently. The king room was spacious but the bathroom spacing was designed strangely with an oversize shower stall and a small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PDX-Traveler-Guy
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

On a trip to New Hampshire with my wife, to break the trip in half and take a break from the highway, we decided to overnight in New Castle, Delaware. Being a Clarion Choice Rewards Program member and having had good experiences in the past at their properties, I chose Clarion - The Belle. The pros... Extremely nice people. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug P
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

I stayed two nights at this hotel, The room was very spacious and the king size bed was to large, I felt like an ant in it, but it was so comfortable, cool and relaxing with the wifi and wide screen TV and other amenities in the room for convenience. The breakfast buffet was very nice and I enjoyed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walt M
BelleGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review

On behalf of the Clarion Hotel and its staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to do our online survey. We appreciate the kind words you gave us during your survey witch you talk about every deparment here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in November. Thank you Wendy Washington Front Office Manager More 

Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times because it is close to our relatives' home. It's probably the best option in the area. The rooms are pretty large, the wifi is free (I think) and it seems to work pretty well. The rooms are fairly clean. It takes forever to check-in even with a guaranteed rez so do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alohamary
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 13 in New Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Castle
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#2 of 23 in Newark
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
8.4 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay