We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Dover

#8 of 20 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1568 North Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dover
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Dover
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
53
55
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Old Chatham, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Hampton Inn - Latrice at the desk at both check-in and check-out was very pleasant and efficient, nice housekeeping staff, room had another chair besides the desk chair to relax (older people do NOT want to sit on the beds!), good breakfast and nice woman there taking care of everything! Plus, Dover Downs and Casino very closeby. Very good... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not bad for Hampton Inn. Sits away from the main road, so all rooms are quiet. Most rooms do not have microwaves. They only have a few microwaves for the entire hotel. You can request one, but it’s not guaranteed. Nothing special, but fine for a few nights. Good breakfast buffet. Join the rewards program, as it adds up quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bugs crawling all over my room! Hotel sent a lady to scoop up handfuls of bugs. They weren't concerned about possible bugs in my suitcase. This was a health concern. GYM was Spartan with many things broken. Room was average except the bugs.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I am sorry that you experienced issues with ants however I can assure you that this has been addressed both in house as well as with our pest control vendor. Spring time and rain bring them out in our area and I do know that they can be a... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They advertize free wifi, but it's a slow connection and limited to 3 devices per room - even if you have a family room for 4. You can imagine how well that works. The room is spacy but worn down. We do not recommend this place for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. I do apologize that you had a bad experience with the wifi and assure you that we will have it checked out. I do hope that you... More 

bear, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel staff was very friendly, the location was great, near alot of places to eat, Dover Downs (Casino) right up the street 5mins away. we ate at this seafood restaurant located near the hotel, food was awesome (forgot the name). room was nice and cleam, quiet, breakfast was good. would recommend

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We look forward to seeing you again. In case... More 

Middleburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a favorite of ours for a stopover on our way home from our annual golf trip to Myrtle Beach in March. The hotel is close to Dover Downs, is reasonably proceed and is a perfect place to relax.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We always look forward to your return visits. Again... More 

Philadelphia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We previously stayed at this location and had some minor issues. I can happily say that management has addressed the two problems. We just stayed again and the rooms were very clean. We requested a smoking room and this time it smelled very fresh. The service was great, breakfast was good and the location is excellent for our travel purpose.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. Thank you for your kind words and we look... More 

Round Hill, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The room was nice and in-line with what I expect from a Hampton Inn. The closet was what I call a wardrobe vice built-in and there is nothing wrong with that. If there was a microwave I did not see it but I also only considered that as we were leaving because I had no need to use one. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. I do see that you had some issues with the HVAC unit and I do apologize and assure you that this issue is being addressed. Please let us know if there... More 

Washington DC, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

A friend and I stay at this Hampton Inn because it was close to Dover Downs Casino in DE. This was I first time visisting the casino. But because both of us are Hampton fans from our past experences. We wanted to stay with Hampton Inn, little did we both know that this location does not operate like the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. From your survey I see that there is room for improvement and I assure you that my team and I will work hard to make necessary improvements. Please accept my sincere... More 

Oxford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I stayed here for business one night and have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before, but the rooms were super clean and new.. I am not sure if they were just remodeled or not, but very nice for a cheaper hotel… The service was really nice and the gym was really nice… large for most hotels…. The beds are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamptondover, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We always appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our hotel for you our valued guest. Please accept my sincere apology in regard to breakfast and I assure you that I have spoke to my team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question