We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
561 N. Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    26
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
26
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Bridgeport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were always all very nice and courteous especially Joseph who always went out of his way for the 3 days that I stayed here to help me in any way he could including finding me a room when every hotel room in the town was booked. The crab cake sandwhich is the resturant was wonderful and Bobbie was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn about a month ago. I'm constantly traveling but never forgot the wonderful experience I received there! And so from just that visit I just really want to say how much I really appreciate excellent customer service thank you Holiday Inn staff you guys ROCK !! special shoot out to Sonya... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah O, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lester L, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed the excellent customer service our staff provided you during your stay. I will be sure to pass your review to the entire staff and management. Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you again and we wish you safe travels! More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was expecting to lounge by the pool while the husband worked. Didn't happen, the pool was very dirty. The grass around the property was overgrown also. No mini fridge or microwave in the room. The treadmill in the exercise room was broken. My remote didn't work nor did the phone, (both fixed after calling the front desk). Went to order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lisa M, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations due to the level of cleanliness around the pool facility, unattended grounds, inadequate room amenities, and broken treadmill... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight to drop our daughter off at the University for a summer program. Clean quiet room, comfy bed and convenient to everything. wished I had asked for extra towels - none near pool entrance so we used our room towels and hoped they would dry for showers. **Only disappointment is I need to book again to pick up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend and the hotel front desk night staff was the absolute best! Deb L, Sonya, and Kelly were very welcoming and talked to you like they knew you for years! We will be using the hotel again in the future! Thank you to the staff for making our trip even more unforgettable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Krystle H, Thank you for the amazing review and for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown! We are so delighted to know we were able to make your trip that much more unforgettable. Deb L, Sonya, and Kelly will greatly appreciate your recognition of their great customer service and I will be sure to... More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

My husband and I are great fans of Holiday Inns, however, this hotel is way passed its sell by date. Whilst reception was very friendly and helpful at check in, and later when we needed help working the shower, this hotel is old, tired and reminiscent of Stalinist Russia, with long dark hallways. We got upgraded to a suite at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mickigirl1310, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. I trust you have experienced this higher level of service at our hotels and with our office in the past, and know... More 

Crofton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Joseph at the front desk was great. Extremely personable and professional. i stay at this hotel often for business, and have had many people wait on me. He was the first to mention rewards, and surveys to me. He was also the first to remember my name hours later. I have worked for 23 years in Retail, it was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Heather G, On behalf of Joseph and the entire staff, we would like to thank you for your kind words and recognition as excellent customer service is exactly what we strive for here at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown! Thank you so much for staying at our property and for sharing your experience. We are all looking forward to... More 

Bordentown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

When we checked in Joseph was so helpful and courteous. He also gave us an extra box of tissues, just in case. However, the housekeeping staff did not do such a great job. When we got back to the room on Sunday night there was still hair in the tub and some schmutz on the floor that i wiped up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Donna P, Thank you for your recent stay at our property! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Joseph's customer service and we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. Your review has been passed to the appropriate departments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again next time you're... More 

Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I thought the hallways were kind of dark when we checked in, so was a little leery but the room was clean, updated and very comfortable. Dover Downs Casino which is why we were in Dover was just down the street so location rated very good because it was so close and convenient. Would definitely stay again. Pleasant check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lebeann, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our convenient location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in the Dover, De area. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Great stay !!!!!!!!!!! ................. Front desk clerk, Joseph was professional and well mannered. I was extremely please with the service and the accommodations .......................Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay