We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Dewey Beach hotels

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Save Saved
You added Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House to your Saves list
1 Read Avenue, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly The Surf Club)
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Dewey Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dewey Beach
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    5
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks like it's been renovated, but really, it's been awhile. It has seen better says and a pleasant staff certainly does their best. It's a good location and a good price. The terrace where guests barbecue is often messy late in the evening, which is certainly nobody's fault but the slobs who thought it was Koa. It sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G, Public Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

As always we appreciate guest input to help us improve guest experience. We had recently undergone an exterior renovation with discussions of an interior remodel in the next few years. I am glad to hear that our staff was pleasant during your recent stay with us, as we truly work very hard in that department. I apologize on the behalf... More

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here on May 9th for one night. I have stayed here several times over the last 15 years and other than the facade of the building, this place has pretty much stayed the same. The rooms are a bit dated and have a very 1980's build quality, but they are very clean and the Murphy bed is surprisingly comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to thank you for your input and continued patronage. I am glad to hear that your most recent stay with us was a pleasant one, and hope to see you again in the coming years. I greatly appreciate your compliments regarding cleanliness of our units and how friendly staff is, we do truly... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have been coming here for the past 15 years. We try to get down at least twice in the Spring and summer and always spend Thanksgiving here. The rooms are great, best ones are 106,107, and 108. They have recently updated the windows and are in the process of updating the interior. Great pool, great hot tub, and it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John G, Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

I would like to start off by thanking you for your feedback, especially a favorable one like you have provided. It is my mission to see to it that you continue to stay with us for at least another 15 years and have even more positive stays with us. I look forward to having you as valued our guests for... More

Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Always clean. In the past I stayed here often. It has always been clean . The location is fantastic. On the beach and 3 blocks from the bay. I have always loved the concept. There is a small kitchen area supplied with utensils and pots and pans. There are books, free movies and fresh popcorn to eat while watching. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John G, Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

I would like to start off by thanking you for your feedback. Feedback from the guests is the only way to truly get a sense of what is and isn't working at a property and management level. I take guest concerns very seriously and sincerely apologize for some of the deficiencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. Items... More

silver spring,md
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been coming to the beach for many years and finally found this wonderful place. The past few years we stayed at the BEst Western, which was very noisy and no place to make sandwiches. Also far from the beach. We found this place and just loved it. Staff was very nice and friendly, helpful. THey give you beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been staying at the Surf Club since it was actually the Royal Surf Motel 25(?) years ago? You can't beat the size of the rooms at the Surf Club. While the rooms may lack balconies you get the xtra space inside the rooms! Personally I would recommend the large ocean view room over the ocean front or the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We usually get to the surf club a few times a year. We go because we love Dewey Beach, the location is perfect and the view is great! The rooms are clean but in need of a little updating. We usually stay in one of ocean front rooms, but they were renovating (the front facade i think) when we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delanco, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok, This was our first trip to Dewey Beach, Delaware for a relaxing vacation. Unfortunately, relaxing was one thing this vacation was not. Right now the Surf Club is under going some MAJOR renovations (which will probably look great when it is done) but right now it is noisy and the workers knock on the door or try to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chckhmmr, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We do apoligize for the painting contractor trying to enter your room. We did give them a list of rooms that had guests and your room was on that list. Even so, this should not happen. Also I believe they booked with a 3rd party vendor and did not call the hotel directly, as we tell any potential guests that... More

Ledgewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been a loyal customer for the last 18 summers at the surf club in Dewey beach. In the last few years I have been continually disappointed in the Surf Club and it's management staff. The rooms have not been updated in the entire time, but although it wasn't the cleanest place i have stayed, or the most comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chckhmmr, Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We have made an effort at The Surf Club to keep it family friendly. With that being said we now have night security to make sure noise is kept to a minimum between 11 at night till 8AM. Also the balconies must be kept clear due to fire code regulations and are for regress and egress only. The entire property... More

Wilmington, DE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for an annual girls' weekend in Dewey Beach. The location of this property could not have been better, as far as proximity to all of the popular restaurants and bars! Being right on the beach with an ocean view was the icing on the cake! Check-in was quick and Jay at the front desk was friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Avenue, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dewey Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
A TripAdvisor Member
5 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer