We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Hotel website
Hotel deals
630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

Hotel was nice staff is very unpleasant, the hostess in the restaurant omg no hospitality ... I don't normally write but this is just me saying do better because crappy service can really ruin someone trip, don't know if it's because they were older folks or what

Helpful?
Thank terisa123
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear terisa123, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to note that you liked the hotel facility. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. It is truly regrettable to hear that you were disappointed with the level of service that you received from the staff.... More 

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel a few times now. The staff is usually pretty nice and helpful. Our room usually comes with a mini-fridge which is very nice. The bedroom is large and clean, the bed is very comfortable; the bathroom is a bit small but clean. It's always a nice stay.

Helpful?
Thank AmazingPitaPan
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza and I appreciate that you have taken the time to complete a review. I am happy that your room was clean and that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We always strive to provide exceptional service with a great room. I look forward... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The entire hotel smelled awful !! Ballroom, public restrooms, hallways, elevators, and rooms. All carpet in entire hotel needs to bee replaced. Staff unhelpful. The Banquet food was inedible, and the breakfast food wasn't any better.

Helpful?
Thank 331abdulz
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear 331abdulz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining experience you had and for falling short of your expectations regarding our facilities and staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide... More 

Travelers are raving about these Claymont hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

First night go in around 9 and had dinner in hotel restaurant. Service was terrible. One waiter who didn't have it togther. Rarely seen had to ask bartender for help. Place was not that crowded proabaly 20% capacity. Waited approximately 45 minutes for dinner to be served. Next morning back for breakfast more of the same. Typical hotel buffet breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Joseph C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining and breakfast experience you had and for falling short of your expectations regarding our front desk staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as... More 

Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Hotel itself was clean. Staff at front desk when checking in were a little unpleasant. The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast. Eggs were grose and the pancakes made me feel sick. Nothing great about it.

Helpful?
Thank SDoble64
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello Pitman NJ, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy some of the aspects of your visit; these items will be shared with the team so they can learn from them. Being relatively close to the hotel, we hope you try us again in the... More 

Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
253 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here one night while visiting the area. Room was large and comfortable. Bed very comfortable Bathroom small , plenty hot water and good water pressure. Quite as well. My main complaint was the breakfast. It is not worth 15:00/person. I have had better at low cost hotels. You can not even get your own coffee. They need to change... More 

Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you staying with us and for providing feedback regarding your experience. I will absolutely share your thoughts with the Chef and F&B team about your breakfast input. We do provide a station where guests can obtain coffee and tea, but it appears we did a poor job of ensuring it is evident. We are happy you enjoyed most... More 

Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We stayed here multiple nights for a skating competition and I had the opportunity to see a few different types of rooms when visiting friends. While the beds were comfortable, the rest of our room left a lot to be desired. There was at least an eighth of an inch of dust on the windowsill, a huge sticky stain in... More 

Helpful?
Thank judoha
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire team, I apologize for your experience. Though we recognize opportunities we have to improve overall and in particular areas, there are also items you experienced that we know better on how to deliver. We are also sorry about the person you describe as not being able to assist with... More 

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

If you like stained carpet, scratched furniture, long-waits for balky elevators, door locks that may or may not work, this is for you! Conveniently near I95 and the PA-Delaware border. Apparently some serious security problems reported online from 2014 have been fixed by new managers, but the place DESPERATELY needs major refreshment of its public areas and at least some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillylad
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Phillylad, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts with us. We are working diligently on transforming the hotel after taking over in late 2014, and we appreciate that you have noticed some of the positive changes (security improvements, personnel). We recognize that there is more to do and continue to work on it. We are in... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here passing through to MD and has a great stay! The rooms are large and clean. The bed is soft and comfortable. We checked in before 3 and was able to relax the rest of the evening after driving all day. We even ate at the Embers restaurant downstairs. Rested very comfortably!

Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the kind words regarding your experience. I'm proud of the team here, and also proud of the offerings - including our restaurant Embers - that add to the guest experience. We are just a couple weeks away from launching our new menu, so we hope you have the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We had a double queen size bedroom and it was the usual standard size of American large chain hotels. The breakfast, that runs until 11 am, was pretty good. We were served coffee at the table and we had self-service food, ranging from continental breakfast to some sweets and a pretty large selection of cereals.

Helpful?
Thank valeria_vally
John L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Hello Valeria, Thank you for your review and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I will share your feedback with the team. Though our breakfast buffet is very good to begin with, we are currently planning some enhancements to ensure it is an even better experience for our guests. We hope you have the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay