We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meris Gardens

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
33309 Kent Ave, Next to Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Offers & Announcements
$225 (USD)
Meris Gardens
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    18
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Starting with the positive, Sue, the manager is wonderfully attentive and accommodating. From the time we made the reservation to the time we checked out, she was great. Now the problems. For the amount you pay, the value was not there. The rooms are very small. The bathrooms are especially cheaply done, with electrical sockets and exhaust fans falling out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for responding with your opinions regarding your stay. Yes, I can't agree enough that Sue is the best!! I am disappointed to read that your opinion of the rooms and food was so low. We are sort of a hybrid B&B in that we are not a full service food supplier but we do put out a variety of... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

If in bethany beach or ocean city..STAY HERE. The service is phenomanal and the manager Sue is a sweetheart. Rooms are clean and tidy, they can feel a little damp due to the location and structure of it, but, overall no complaints. Understand, however, this is a bed and breakfast and NOT a hotel, so don't expect the exact same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Deshanna, thank you so much for writing your honest feedback! Your review really helps share insight about what we are as a bed & breakfast. I know Sue just loved having you and your girlfriends. She said it was truly a delight planning with you prior and then getting to host you all. We hope you think of us the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quaint, cozy and quiet setting! The perfect little hide away with welcoming staff! Nestled in the heart of Bethany and a little jaunt to the beach. Parking is good and bikes are available. Access to local eateries and and relaxed family atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on our little home away from home. We so appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! All the best. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for the weekend and had a lovely time at Meris Gardens. We took advantage of the bikes available to borrow to ride down to the boardwalk to go to the beach, which was fun. Would have been nice to be able to stroll down to the beach but it's a very short bike ride. Rooms were nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela S, Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, thank you so much for your honest feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the bikes! With us being centrally located we make sure to have them for guests to easily transport anywhere in town. We hope you think of us again for your next stay at the beach! Warmest wishes and many thanks. More 

Enola, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We went to Bethany Beach for - yes - the beach! What a pleasure to find ourselves equally enchanted with the cheery yet tranquil ambiance of Meris Gardens! The quaint yellow and Caribbean-blue complex tucked behind a white picket fence shelters you amidst towering trees and lush greenery. Numerous porches and patios nurture tranquil moments. Impromtu socializing comes easily around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review!! I did hear that your poor dog got "stuck" and was so glad to hear that the recue went well. Seems funny now, but maybe not so much then!! Hope to see you again soon. Thanks. More 

Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I participated in the Ocean to Bay Bike tour which starts and finishes in downtown Bethany Beach, DE. Meris Gardens is only .8 of a mile from the start so it was really convenient. The room was very nice and the included continental breakfast was very healthy. Meris Gardens fit our needs but the innkeeper "Sue" made our stay delightful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed Meris Gardens, and Bethany Beach. Bethany is such a great town and very peaceful this time of year. Thanks for the kind words about Sue. She is great. Please come back and visit soon. We are in the midst of even more upgrades, both inside and out. Mike More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I am writing this review with a heavy heart. I normally would never give anyone such a poor review especially since I did not even get the opportunity to stay here. I was scheduled to come and stay 2 nights with my husband my 12 year old son and our 2 new dogs. Very excited especially since they welcomed dogs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read of the bad experience you had with us. I am very surprised to see that you had a bad service call, as you can see from virtually every other review, we have a great reputation with regard to servicing our customers. I do think it bit surprising to have a review written about a... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for my husband's birthday weekend. As everyone else has said, Sue was AMAZING - she really made Meris Gardens feel like home! She was busy with a race in town that weekend, but still took time to get to know all her guests and meet their needs! We brought two dogs, one large and one small, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Having stayed at this motel last year soon after it had changed hands, I can attest to its transformation from an OK motel to a facility that offers very special accommodations. We needed a place to stay for only a few days, and appreciated its pet-friendly policy. It is reasonably priced,and the location is convenient as well as very pleasant--a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. We loved hosting you. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. As the person who got your smore goodies, I am delighted you enjoyed. Please come again... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Meris Gardens-Bethany B&B for the Labor Day weekend. Sue the Manger of the property was extremely polite, and helped with recommendations for restaurants ect. The actual property itself is very close to the beach, but also in a secluded wooden area so its quiet. The rooms were very nice and very well kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. Sue remembers you well, Sara! We loved hosting you and you pup. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. We are delighted you enjoyed. Please come again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities