We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meris Gardens

Hotel website
33309 Kent Ave, Outskirts of Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Special Rate
$99 April Monday-Thursday
Meris Gardens
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
23
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I participated in the Ocean to Bay Bike tour which starts and finishes in downtown Bethany Beach, DE. Meris Gardens is only .8 of a mile from the start so it was really convenient. The room was very nice and the included continental breakfast was very healthy. Meris Gardens fit our needs but the innkeeper "Sue" made our stay delightful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed Meris Gardens, and Bethany Beach. Bethany is such a great town and very peaceful this time of year. Thanks for the kind words about Sue. She is great. Please come back and visit soon. We are in the midst of even more upgrades, both inside and out. Mike More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I am writing this review with a heavy heart. I normally would never give anyone such a poor review especially since I did not even get the opportunity to stay here. I was scheduled to come and stay 2 nights with my husband my 12 year old son and our 2 new dogs. Very excited especially since they welcomed dogs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read of the bad experience you had with us. I am very surprised to see that you had a bad service call, as you can see from virtually every other review, we have a great reputation with regard to servicing our customers. I do think it bit surprising to have a review written about a... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for my husband's birthday weekend. As everyone else has said, Sue was AMAZING - she really made Meris Gardens feel like home! She was busy with a race in town that weekend, but still took time to get to know all her guests and meet their needs! We brought two dogs, one large and one small, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Having stayed at this motel last year soon after it had changed hands, I can attest to its transformation from an OK motel to a facility that offers very special accommodations. We needed a place to stay for only a few days, and appreciated its pet-friendly policy. It is reasonably priced,and the location is convenient as well as very pleasant--a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. We loved hosting you. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. As the person who got your smore goodies, I am delighted you enjoyed. Please come again... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Meris Gardens-Bethany B&B for the Labor Day weekend. Sue the Manger of the property was extremely polite, and helped with recommendations for restaurants ect. The actual property itself is very close to the beach, but also in a secluded wooden area so its quiet. The rooms were very nice and very well kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. Sue remembers you well, Sara! We loved hosting you and you pup. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. We are delighted you enjoyed. Please come again... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

First time in a motel and first time visiting Bethany...overall the total summer experience!! Our room was spacious and clean. We walked to the beach with our 3 and 7 year old! And, service was on point with all the reviews...exceptional! Thank you for a memorable trip. We'll visit next summer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, bringing your family to stay with us. We loved hosting you. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. Please book your week for next Summer early so we can be... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

FIRST I must say that this "pet friendly" B&B was my refuge for a long needed weekend away from the urban life. The place was a surprising delight with a nice size room and the grounds so tranquil. It brought back memories of traveling with parents back in the day. Sue the property manager made you feel at home and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patti-Peek, Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Sara Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. We loved hosting you and Sue remembers you well. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. A house is not a home without our pups! Please... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few weekends ago and it was so pleasant! We had no expectations but were looking for something relatively quiet and convenient and Meris Gardens seemed to fit the bill. The layout was absolutely perfect for a beach hotel and was very "homey." The management was truly unbelievable and the manager, Sue, could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patti-Peek, Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, staying with us. We loved hosting you both. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. Isn't the corn-hole game fun?! Please come this Fall/Winter for a get away! Patti More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Meris Gardens the first week of August 2014 for a lovers getaway. We were delighted with the room and the grounds. The lodge and breakfast were a great perk for getting us on our way quickly. Going to and from the beach and dinner on bikes they provided made this an authentic trip at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the fabulous review and, most importantly, bringing your lovely girlfriend to stay with us. We loved hosting you both. We are so proud of the great work Sue does and it means a lot to have you appreciate the nuances of our hidden get-away in Bethany. It is our pleasure to have helped you upon your... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Your GM, Sue is a pleasant woman and I don't want to take anything away from the wonderful reviews about her. However, your place IS filthy with cobwebs, broken furniture and dirty carpet remnants (since you don't call it carpeting). There was other reviews that said the same as I did from a year ago, so thank you for your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question