We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    96
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
74
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
See the most recent reviews
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This property has undergone an extensive interior update since our last stay and now looks dramatically more inviting. It's always been a great place to stay when visiting Bethany Beach...with friendly staff (Fred, you're awesome!) and close proximity to the shore, restaurants, shops and boardwalk.   We've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past couple of years and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fred T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

The Holiday Inn Express went under major renovation's and we are more than delighted our guests have noticed all the great changes. It has always been my pleasure to make our wonderful guests feel like they are at home. I try my very best to tend to our guest. We look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn... More 

VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My girlfriend and teenage daughter were looking for a quieter place to stay than down the road in Ocean City, MD over the Labor Day weekend. We had previously stayed at this hotel and I am happy to say it is still a great pick. Pros - walking distance to the beach, nice outdoor pool, clean room, nice flat screen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My family and are were very pleased with our stay. We had to cancel our trip to Myrtle Beach due to the hurricane, so we decided on Bethany Beach at the last minute. We stayed just a few days (8/30 to 9/1) and wanted to stay longer but unfortunately our schedule would not permit it. Fred assisted me with our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed there right after the Hurricane, found no damage to hotel or beach. Hotel was OK for a 3 star hotel, don't expect much! Easy walk to the beach and everyone who worked at the hotel was very nice. They could be a bit more knowledgable about things around--I asked about a place to eat, sent me to Grotto's Pizza... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night after our beach rental was done as we wanted to add an extra night in Bethany. We have always seen the hotel, but never stayed there. Very nice room with mini fridge and micro. Nice desk area if you need to work. Overall no issues whatsoever. My suggestion is that since this is close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

We are very lucky to have such a wonderful location in the heart of Bethany Beach, it does make visiting all of Bethany’s great sites and restaurants very easy. We are glad that you took advantage of our amenities and we greatly appreciate your kind compliments. We hope your next stay with us is longer. Thank you for your review.... More 

Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

My son and I booked a room at this hotel for a short trip to the beach. It was fine for a stay of a day or two but nothing special. The rooms are of reasonable size and we appreciated the small refrigerator and microwave. The room air conditioner was very loud -- I had brought ear plugs with me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
garden state travellers
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was a good choice since it was betw. Rehoboth and OC. It was nice having the beach walking distance (about 2 blocks from hotel). And this beach is much quieter compared to RB and OC since there's no boardwalk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bethany Beach from August 12th to the 17th. We had a King Size Jacuzzi Room the entirety of the trip. We'd gladly do it again and we were very happy with our stay. Before I get to the pros and cons, here's some general notes: Bethany Beach is a semi-dry town -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stay at quite a few hotels on business and pleasure every year and certainly look forward to getting to the beach.... Cons: Internet was down the whole stay No cinnamon rolls on the free breakfast -- station for them was there but no rolls in sight (come on now this is your signature breakfast item) Breakfast area is poorly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had a bad experience here. The internet was down due to issues with Verizon. (Who were also on strike). But to say that the hotel did not care was not at all the case. We offered any guests who needed internet access use of the computers in our offices. These were hard wired to... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This stay was average to below average for a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was full, so I think the fact that the hotel is within walking distance of the beach is the major driver for people to stay there in the summer. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the beach, but I think that the downside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
correan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Our sincerest and deepest apologies for your stay not living up to your expectations. We cannot begin to describe the disappointment we feel for failing to provide you with excellent service and comfortable accommodations that we are known for. The entire team at the Holiday Inn Express Bethany is dedicated to ensure that each guest experiences nothing but the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question