We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    108
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
107
80
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of July. Got a discount through AAA, rates were pricey but standard for the season and area. From reading other reviews, I expected that this was a well-managed hotel and was not disappointed. The room was very clean, had no issues. Everything was modern and well-maintained. The hotel had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to visit with family and were there 4 nights. It is an older hotel with inexpensive decor and basically no frills. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with very comfortable beds,pillows and linen. Breakfast is included. It is about 2 blocks from the beach and has an adequate pool, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, Frances B, for reviewing your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We value your comments and feedback! I will more actively engage our maintenance team with regards to pool cleanliness supervision. Since many families like to hit the pool after the beach, and don't shower off beforehand, we often find ourselves vacuuming out sand several more times... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, the hotel property is nice. The rooms are recently remodeled and the hotel is comfortable. We only stayed for 2 nights as a quick getaway, which was enough. Any longer than that, and the stay would not be comfortable. The pool was very dirty and the pumps not running when we visited. It was like swimming in a pond.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, Kristie T, for your review. We are grateful to have had you as our guest and I apologize if we had any shortcomings with service during your stay. We strive for excellence in all we do and I'm disappointed to hear we may have fallen short of our goal. I researched your name but was unable to associate... More 

Wilmington, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over the 4th of July and were on a first floor room. It was a handicapped room which was not necessary for us. The room was clean however, since the hotel was built on a swamp, the room was very damp. We even had to turn on the heat to dry out the room. Imagine the heat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, Drew H, for taking the time to provide us your feedback! I appreciate you bringing your concern about dampness to our attention so we can monitor this. Between the information you provided and your name, I should be able to isolate which room you occupied. This could be an issue with the PTAC unit in that room and... More 

New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 4th of July weekend. Hotel is super clean with comfy beds! Easy walk to town. Cannot comment on beach access as we have relatives that have access to private beach. Every staff member we encountered was extremely helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again and highly recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, mm126NY! We appreciate the feedback you've provided and so happy to hear you'll come see us the next time your lodging needs find you in Bethany. Safe travels until we see you again! Best Regards, Chris Berg More 

Northville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a good experience staying here. The staff were all great and the room was clean and in good shape. My only complaint is that there is not a good system in place to get all of the sand off of you from the beach. With the hotel being walking distance from the sandy beach, I expected an outdoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback! I'm grateful you took the time to share your experience. It's interesting you bring up the wash area - I just last week contracted with a local sign company to create some window clings for us to indicate to guests where the wash area is. I agree with you, however, it would be... More 

Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Location had easy access to the beach, the boardwalk and local restaurants.The hotel was very clean with a staff that could not do enough to make you feel at home. Certainly not the fanciest nor the newest, but a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your experience, larry10520! I'm especially glad to hear the staff as able to provide you with that home away from home feeling. That's important to us! Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Chris Berg More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We spent 2 nights in one of the 1st floor jacuzzi suites, well worth the few extra bucks. The hotel is a clean and very well managed place with a hot breakfast bar. The desk clerks were very helpful as well. Only a five minute walk to the beach. It was definitely a good stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, Philip B, for sharing your experience with us! We're always happy to hear we've met our guests expectations and we look forward to servicing your stay the next time you visit the Bethany Beach area. Enjoy your summer season! With thanks, Chris Berg More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Traditionally I have always perferred Hilton hotels, but the last 5 years Holiday Inn Express has become a consistant standard and I would say almost equal to the Hamption Inn brand. Decided on a "name brand" hotel in the Beathany area do to the fact we are new to the East coast and many of the hotels in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, goodislife2, for pointing out the Holiday Inn Express brand's work to improve their consistency and brand promise. The responsibility to provide our guests an exceptional experience is a guarantee we take great pride in! I appreciate the very thorough feedback you've provided us, and I will investigate signage indicating the availability of a wash station, as well as... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I will start by saying that I usually book at Marriott hotels; however, we had a lacrosse tournament and most of our team stayed here. The location was nice - a short 7 minute walk to the beach (beach is beautiful) and a 1/2 mile walk to the Bethany boardwalk with lots of shops and local restaurants. The hotel staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris B, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review

Thank you, Patricia P, for taking the time to submit your experience on TripAdvisor! You've provided great information to other would-be guests, helping them make an informed decision on their choices in the Bethany Beach area. For that we are grateful! We strive to provide a great experience and I'm proud our team was able to exceed your expectations. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#12 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay