We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Bear hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 Pulaski Highway, Bear, DE 19701
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bear
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
WeeLuv2Travel2 Pennsylvania
  • Reviews (147)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
62
33
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
301 hotel reviews
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heading from PA to the DC area so this was a good place to stop overnight. Check in fine although the receptionists tattoo was a little disturbing, I must be getting old. Room very nice and comfortable although WiFi not great. Breakfast very limited so not sure why this is a BW plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A total surprise, our room was a two room suite. Not required, and not expected for the rate, but it was really nice to have the room to spread out and do our own thing. We are going to stay in this hotel home, even though it means driving a bit further than we would like to, because we liked... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Bear for your stay. I am delighted that our team was able to make your stay a pleasure. We strive to have all our guest feel as comfortable as possible. Thank you again, and I will look forward to seeing you in the future. More

Moyock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room size was the best part of this hotel..... No air flow in the hotel. Beds were good, breakfast had no fruit didn't refill items that ran out. Hotel is old and dirty. Needs a GOOD cleaning. If you have to stay here like we did then prepare.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

Please except our apology with your experience at our hotel. Our upmost priority is to meet our guest expectations and we failed to do so. Our entire hotel went through extensive renovations in 2012 and we continue to up keep on our establishment. More

New Castle, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here numerous times never had a room smell so bad. I booked a king room with a whirlpool tub, room smelled like wet dog so bad that my wife had me go buy air freshener just so we could stay in room to sleep

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel however. We encourage our guest to make any issues known to the front desk during their stay. We value your opinions and will address the issues you have experienced during your stay. We hope that you give us... More

Frederick
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
52 hotel reviews
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked here to stay for one night from a concert in Atlantic City, N.J. This was by far the most reasonable decent hotel for this Saturday night that I found. Base on great previous reviews I made our reservation. We have stayed in many a Best Western and were not disappointed. I requested a never smoked in room, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel however. We value your opinions and will address the issues you have experienced during your stay. We hope that you give us another opportunity to accommodate your needs during your next stay in the area. More

Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent a single night and did not spend a lot of time in the room, but overall it was a nice place. The room was clean with the exception of a particularly filthy upholstered bench. It also smelled of cigarettes despite being a non-smoking room, but that seems to be the norm for hotels that allow smoking. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This room was very nice. It came with a few mini fridge and a microwave oven room was very clean although the air condition was a little loud. The breakfest, which was included, was fantastic even though the hotel was book completely with women softball team. All the hot food dishes were replenished constantly. Which included scrambled eggs, bacon, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

Our team here at the Best Western Plus would like to thank you for the kind words that were express about our hotel. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards and hope to see you again in the future. More

South Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband decided to visit grandkids in Delaware since we live in NJ it's not far appro 2/12 hr drive I was off a few days mid-week from work my step son and his wife previusly bought a new house and need help with the boys age 3 & 20 months while him and wife do errands for the move... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg PA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. We have tried other hotels in the area but we always come back to here. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat and clean. We always find something good to eat at the breakfast bar. Its also close to major highways.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca T, Front Desk Associate at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your glowing review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Newark/Christina Inn. We are happy to hear that you continue to come back to our hotel. Our Bear Team will be delighted and inspired that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. Warm Regards, The Bear Best Western Plus Team More

Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for a local lacrosse tournament. Very convenient to Kirkwood Sports Complex. Don't be deterred by the looks of the location - nothing fancy and a Winnebago/truck graveyard-looking place next door. The hotel is cozy and there were people gathered socializing in the lobby. It's nice to have a pool and jacuzzi, though we didn't use them. Other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca T, Front Desk Associate at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend. Our hotel is the closest to the Kirkwood Soccer Complex, making it very convenient for guests traveling to that location. We look forward to accommodating you and your other team mates during the next tournament in this area. Warm Regards, Best Western Plus Bear Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn

Address: 875 Pulaski Highway, Bear, DE 19701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
75

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer