We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven

Hotel website
Hotel deals
490 Saw Mill Road, West Haven, CT 06516
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    53
    41
    29
    19
See reviews for
64
31
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (208)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for three days during a business travel. The hotel is not in New Haven as the name of the hotel suggests, but is in West Haven (approx. 22 USD for travel by taxi from New Haven). Having used the Best Western hotel chain in multiple countries in Europe, found the experience at Best Western West Haven below average. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself and the room was decent enough. I wasn't real creeped-out. The reviews I read said the staff were very friendly and pleasant and overall I will agree but the lady who oversees the breakfast in the morning was not so nice. She made you feel like you were in her house and it was an annoyance to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Augusta, Maine
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first impression we had wasn't great; it's kind of dark where one turns in, there is a large abandoned and sort of creepy building next door,and the pavement driving in was in awful shape. But the hotel itself was pretty good. The pool was closed for renovations the first night but was open the second. The room except for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Badgerjim, We appreciate your kind words concerning our hotel. Your review is greatly appreciated . We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comment in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests experience . We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area and let us... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is clean and smoke free, they are always updating the rooms. There is plenty of places to eat around this hotel, including my favorite Texas Roadhouse! I would recommend to anyone. I have been using this hotel for two years now and the staff here has always been friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lou R. Thank you for your nice review and we are glad to know we are your favorite place while travelling in the New Haven-West haven area. We appreciate your nice review and look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

GARRISONVILLE, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

overall very pleasant stay very convenient location pleasant staff have been staying @ this hotel for 15 years due to my performance at a West Haven Club in the evening. easy access several restaurants etc in close proximity would definitely reccomend this hotel to associates and intend to stay at this location in the future

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Michael H. We are happy to make your stay here at the Best Western Executive Hotel a happy and peaceful one for the past 15 years. Thank you for such a nice review. We are looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

Upper Marlboro, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was located next to elevators which was very convienent. Elevator sound could only be in the bathroom close to the elevator shaft. This was very quiet hotel and sound proofing was excellent for a room so close to the elevator shaft. Those sounds were not heard in the sleeping area which allowed a nice 4 nights sleep .The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Benson B., Thank you for your nice review of our hotel, Best Western Executive Hotel- New Haven-West Haven. Your review and business are appreciated , We are glad to have provided you with a great stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Haven-West haven area. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel located adjacent to highway so I would recommend getting a room away from freeway side as the sound proofing is terrible. When getting settled into our room we noticed that there was trash in both room trash cans, other then that room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast items included pancakes, eggs, muffins, cereals, muffins, juices, etc. It appears... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Travelling Dad I appreciate your review about your experience with us and I apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced with your stay with us. Please give us another chance, The renovations are done and the Indoor pool is open . Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Breakfast quality was poor. Bread was rotten. Coffe was not great either. Hotel is near highway but we were on the opposite side and it was quiet. Room are clean. Amenities are good quality also. Pool was not functioning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Michael B. I do appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were so disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize. Please give us another chance and I can assure you we do everything we can to ensure your next... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was very surprised at this place the first time we stayed here last June! The rooms are immaculate,hotel is close to highway, mall, restaurants and diners! Quite a few restaurants offer free delivery!Across the street there is Walmart, Denny's, and BBQ place. Very convienient! Stay often. Cannot say enough good about the staff! They are very friendly and accommodating and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Asilmarieneil, Thank you for your nice review of our hotel the Best Western Executive Hotel New Haven-West Haven Your review and business are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was really happy because I stayed again in this hotel because new carpet and still renovating the Front side of the hotel. Very happy and courteous staff and the Lady Manager is still there and welcoming me. This hotel is really improving a lot. I hope the other building will be sold because it 's really making the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Jacinto C, We are glad to have provided you again with a great week stay . Thank you again for another great review. We hope to see you again in your next trip. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question